We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Room Dated, Food not great, still Good Value for Money though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #14 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My hubby and I stayed here in March 2017 and really enjoyed our stay. We returned to stay in the Club Room in November and was a little disappointed: the toilet in the room didn't flush very well, the water from the tap was brown (with sediments) when I first turned it on (the water appears clear after that though) and the standard of food provided in the lounge seemed to have dropped.
Having said that, the hotel is located in a convenient location, we enjoyed free WiFi and watching the free movies. Overall it is still good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and sharing your experiences on our hotel's facilities and services during your recent stay. I am pleased that your recent stay experience met with your satisfaction albeit the slight shortfall.

I sincerely apologize for the unsatisfactory services delivered which were not reflective of our usual standards. I have immediately addressed your comments with the Department Heads concerned for immediate corrective actions.

I thank you again for your review and as mentioned, I take every guest’s feedback seriously with the intention of correcting and improving where we have fallen short.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely.
Dato’ Syed A Rahman Alkaff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

The room has a nice view of Malacca town, old buildings and houses.
The balcony is the best place to chill and good a photo view spot.
General room amenities was provided and the room comes together with bath tub.
Location is good, walking distance to most places; dine and shopping mall.
Will not hesitate to stay here again.
The hotel team was also very helpful and friendly; always wearing their smile especially the concierge/bellboy clan.
Thank you!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Our sincerest appreciation for your feedback during your recent stay and I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are indeed encourage by your comments.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.

Yours sincerely.
Dato’ Syed A Rahman Alkaff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights (28-30 Oct). Nice hotel and great staff. Kudos to the staff who made special arrangement to have 2 connecting rooms so that family can gather during the night. Well located to shopping malls and shops.
Many nice restaurants within walking distance. Will stay here again

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank LarryWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Our sincerest appreciation for your feedback during your recent stay and I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are indeed encourage by your comments.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.

Yours sincerely.
Dato’ Syed A Rahman Alkaff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel is well located but that aside, it's an old hotel and not well maintained. We booked 3 Executive rooms and found the carpets in the room dirty with a musty smell in 2 of the rooms. 1 of the rooms had no hot water and we had to switch rooms after unpacking all our stuff late in the night. 1 room had brown water flowing from the tap. In the morning we were woken up by blaring announcement from the pa system at the school next door. All in not be very good stay for the really high price we paid. Much better cheaper and newer hotels nearby such as Novotel or Hilton double tree. Won't be returning till they upgrade. Staff were good though.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank terencesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I have taken a serious view with regards to your experiences at our hotel and I sincerely apologize for the unsatisfactory services delivered which were not reflective of our usual standards. I would also be grateful if you could write to me at rahman@mel.equatorial.com to share with me further on your experiences.

I thank you again for your review and as mentioned, I take every guest’s feedback seriously with the intention of correcting and improving where we have fallen short.
We truly value your patronage and I look forward to hearing from you.


Yours sincerely.
Dato’ Syed A Rahman Alkaff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

I have stayed few times at this hotel and my favorites hotel when I when to Malacca. Their staff is very professional and polite. Good service and when I told them I'm coming for special occasion they will try to accommodate their best services. Thumbs up and highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FaizulRuslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Our sincerest appreciation for your feedback during your recent stay and I am glad that you have enjoyed your visit and we are thrilled to have you staying with us again.

We are indeed encourage by your comments.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely.
Dato’ Syed A Rahman Alkaff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,475 reviews
0.8 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,484 reviews
1.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 168 in Melaka
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#16 of 168 in Melaka
873 reviews
1.2 km away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 168 in Melaka
1,461 reviews
0.3 km away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 168 in Melaka
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Jalan Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: ₹ 3,163 - ₹ 5,810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing