We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good for families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Ranked #106 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
KL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I went with low expectations having read some of the reviews here, but was pleasantly surprised to have my expectations exceeded. We are 3 adults and 1 infant, and booked the 1-bedroom apartment. We arrived at 3pm (check-in time) and didn't even have to show our Agoda reservation, they already had us on their system. Since we booked via Agoda, we didn't get their preferential rate, so without prompting, they upgraded us to a 2-bedroom (both rooms ensuite!) apartment. We found our room without much difficulty, and found it spotlessly clean. Even when I moved the Tv cabinet to make more crawl space for the baby, the floor underneath the cabinet was relatively clean. Decor is certainly not 5-star, but you're not paying 5-star prices either. Most important for us was that there was ample space for baby to play on the floor, the beds were comfortable, we had a kitchen to wash baby's things (no cutlery or crockery though), and the pools were very baby- and kid-friendly. Another reviewer negatively commented on the shallow pools, but that means that a non-swimmer adult can jump in and save a drowning child/infant, so that's a plus for me. There are lots of shops nearby so we could easily get necessities. Buffet breakfast was large and varied, but certainly not 5-star. Again, I'd like to point out that you're not paying 5-star prices here. We paid US$100 for a 2-bedroom 2-bath hotel room with pool and buffet breakfast for 3 persons. Can't beat that for value, and certainly made the holiday very easy with baby and baby gear in tow.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdselamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear SDSELAMAT,

Thank you for choosing Mahkota Hotel Melaka during your recent trip to Malacca. Appreciate your positive feedback and will share your comments with the respective department heads.
We are looking forward in welcoming you in the near future.

Regards,

The Management and Staff of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    116
    159
    105
    126
See reviews for
285
59
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

On my first trip to Malacca my family and I stayed at Mahkota Hotel. The check-in queue at the reception was long as it was a Saturday. The one bedroom apartment had a beautiful view and it was comfortable, clean & spacious. The amenities in the apartment were in good condition and it came with a large living/dining area. We went for a swim at the hotel’s twin pools and it was rather crowded on weekends. We had breakfast at the coffeehouse, great spread of local & western favourites, service was average. Check-out at 12 was slow too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pyh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear pyh63,


Thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel during your recent trip to Malacca.
We value your time taken to evaluate and share your experience with us. Relates to your comments, we are glad to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, especially the one bedroom apartment and swimming pool. We will share your positive feedback with our department heads.
June was our peak period. In view of the Singapore & Malaysia school holidays, there’s thus long queue at check-in counter(s) and breakfast at coffeehouse. Please accept our apology.
We hope that you will consider us for your next trip to Malacca.

Thank you and have a pleasant day!


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Its been 6 or 7 years since I stayed here, and they haven't done anything to change or improve it over that time. The net result is that it's looking tired and worn out and a bit shabby.
The exterior looks impressive, the pools are good, the breakfast is acceptable... but the rooms need a makeover. The location is good, walking distance to the mall.
All of the other comments from other reviewers are correct.
This is probably my last stay here, I will probably check out the Holiday Inn next door on my next trip... and you probably should too.

Room Tip: Is there a good room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Peter M,


We appreciate your time taken to evaluate and share your experience with us.

With relates to your feedback about the hotel rooms, we are in the process of upgrading all our apartment units. I.E.: changed of curtains, upgrading of all the furniture, changing of bathroom accessories, and door-lock. As to date, we have completed Block 5, 6, 7 & 8; and target to complete by year end. We will be renovating all our hotel room soon.

We hope that it you will consider to stay with us again during your next visit in Malacca.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

The hotel is conveniently located near malls and shopping areas. However the traffic can be bad during long public holidays making any journey out and back to hotel miserable. Guests have choices of single room to 3 room apartments. The rooms are a bit rundown and really need some refreshing touch, especially so the bathrooms. It is advisable to be early for breakfast at the coffee house as it tends to be full, especially during weekends and public holidays.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ajghazali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear ajghazali,


Thank you for your time taken to evaluate and share your comments with us.
For your information, we have recently upgraded the apartment: e.g.: changed of new cushions, curtains, toilet accessories and installations of new door locks – to key card system. Furthermore, we are also in the process of renovating the Hotel Main Block.
Once again, we thank you and hope you would consider staying with us again.

Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

The hotle from the outview is pretty impressive , the resort type , nice building but on the room that we stay in although was spacious it was old and abit rundown , staff was friendly but some not so depends on who you meet . Wifi there is a charges when we ask the counter staff about it so do check first hand . Check out time was gd as they acceded to our request or late check out at 1pm. Breakfast was normal , just the usual simple spread of the usual things , bread eggs and some malay dishes, Overall its average by me

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunderrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Thunderrave,

Thank you for taking your time to evaluate and share your experience with us.

We have recently upgraded the apartment units with new cushions, curtains, toilet accessories and installed the new door locks.
Relating to your feedback about our hotel's WIFI charges, we have placed notices and information in our rooms. However, we would like to apologize some of the inconvenience you have faced during your stay with us. We will definitely share your positive feedback with our department heads.
We thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel during your recent trip to Malacca. We hope that we will still be your choice of hotel the next time you visit.

Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
9.9 km away
Everly Resort
Everly Resort
#126 of 165 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.7 km away
Bayview Hotel Melaka
Bayview Hotel Melaka
#98 of 165 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.6 km away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#24 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
0.6 km away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#16 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.8 km away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#33 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Property: Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Address: No. 16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,659 - ₹ 4,296
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing