We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place, Great Staff, Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of hangout@jonker

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
hangout@jonker
Ranked #18 of 202 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Staff, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Not perfect but very very good. We stayed here for 4 nights in April 12 and wish we had booked for longer. Our room was on the 4th floor and apart from the first night when we were disturbed by people banging their room doors we slept very well.
The staff were warm and helpful. Check in & out was quick and painless. The room was clean, bright, had a comfy bed and plenty of hot water for the shower.
The location is superb right on the corner of Jonker St near a huge dragon water feature. Lots of great places to eat.
Breakfast was basic, tea,coffee toast and jam, but there was a microwave and we bought some instant oatmeal and had that as well.
Tea and coffee are provided 24/7 but there is no kettle in the room,
The TV reception and choice of channels was poor, but this was being upgraded while we were there
We plan to go back to Melaka and want to stay at Hangout next time

We had most of our evening meals at The Far East Cafe, We were trying to work our way through the menu,

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pompeii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyonya_Lee2, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Pompeii,
Thank you for taking your precious time off to pen your thoughts about your stay at hangout@jonker.
It was our pleasure to make your stay a memorable one and hope that you will come back and stay with us during your next visit to Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    49
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
34
29
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I totally agree with most of the reviews of this hotel. The location was right in the middle of Jonker Street, very near the night market as well as other sites. Service provided by staff were excellent. They were very friendly and were always helpful in giving direction and answering our questions. Our room was very tiny but we love it as it was very very clean, even the toilet (very important to me) and it felt very cozy. And I agree that the walls were very thin. We keep hearing people banging their doors every time someone enters their room. The walls were so thin that we can practically hear the whole conversation our next room neighbor had. However, even though we were on the second floor and our window was facing the road we didn’t find it too noisy. Once a while we’ll hear the songs blasting from the trishaws but that about all. I would definitely recommend this hotel, if you are looking for something that is right in Jonker Street, within walking distance of all the historical sites and best of all it’s cheap.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank z7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyonya_Lee2, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear z7654,
Thank you for taking your precious time off to give us such a constructive feedback. We try our best to provide the best quality service to make up for the other unavoidable shortfall.
Hope to see you again in hangout@jonker!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Contrary to the previous reviews, the Hangout gave me a good night's rest. I was there on a Saturday night during the school holidays, so this is peak period. The Jonker action was going on at full blast but in my room, I didn't get any of the noise.

We had two rooms on the 4th floor right next to the lookout terrace. Hardly anyone came up. Maybe we were lucky. But it was quiet all the way. The snake oil salesmen were giving their loud and vociferous pitches barely 50m away but once we were in the hotel, we didn't get any of that noise at all.

Security was tight and you needed card access to get past the reception area. The card access function in the lift was redundant - you could go to any level even without inserting the card key. Staff were brisk but efficient. The free wi-fi on level 4 was not working initially and I had to call the front desk. They must have done something because it worked after that, albeit a bit on the slow side.

The rooms were alright in terms of size. One was a quad and the other was a twin and both were functional enough. Not cavernous but adequate for our needs - we're in there just to sleep anyway. Have to say the rain shower was great. When you're out all day in the sweaty Malacca heat, nothing beats coming back to a shower like this. However, the shower area was so tiny my elbows bumped the wall, and I'm not a big person. Bed was a bit harder than what I was used to and I probably would have gotten better sleep with one more pillow, but for the price you pay at this place, I think this was reasonable enough.

We didn't try the breakfast - lots of great food awaits in Malacca, so why stick with bread and jam? The location of the hostel was great - right at the entry to Jonker, easy walk to all the heritage sites and across the river, a slow walk to the shopping area of Dataran Pahlawan and Mahkota mall is possible too. So its very central. I would stay here again - clean, central, good value for money, comfortable, free wifi - what's not to like?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chongbrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyonya_Lee2, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear chongbrood,
Thank you for taking your precious time off to pen off your thoughts. Glad to know that your group enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you soon in hangout@jonker!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

As per some of the former reviews, this place have absolutely zero sound proofing. We had a room towards the front of the hotel on the 3rd level, we can hear cars,motorbikes, and blaring music from the street below well to 2am in the morning, even now at 4! And then there were voices from the other rooms,banging doors,rutting from my neighbours...as well as conversations from street level.
Definately not a place I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travor81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyonya_Lee2, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Travor81,
Thank you for taking your precious time off to give us your feedback.

Sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay with us due to the noise. We try our best to give a quality service to make up for the unavoidable shortfalls. Hope that you will come again. Thank you for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

GOOD: Excellent location as it's right in the middle of Jonker Street, walking distance to major tourist spots. Polite and efficient staff. Only guests with access cards can go beyond reception area. Inexpensive for accommodation in Jonker St, clean and basic. Attached bathroom has shower + toilet + towels. Single bed is Malaysian standard size, as opposed to bigger/longer American sizes. Decor is minimal and neat, spot the IKEA items. Open balcony on top floor has awesome view, especially at night.

DIDN'T TRY: Free wi-fi, free breakfast, free books to read.

BAD: Depending on your luck, you may or may not get a good room. We had 2 twin rooms: Room01 was at the corner with window opening to the main street. Room02 was an intermediate. In Room01, expect the loudest street noises ever, as tourists like to congregate and chat at the fountain in front of Jonker Street. Thanks to that, I now know what 2 women from Guangzhou bought from the 2nd shop on the 3rd lane in 5 colours. Trishaws breeze by playing loud disco-pop sort of sounds, even past midnight. The noise doesn't stop until 1am or later and it begins again early in the morning. If you're a light sleeper, haha well good luck.

On the other hand, our friend in Room02 did not have any of these issues and had a wonderful night's rest.

I so very much wanted to like the place. If it wasn't because of my experience with the noise, I would have loved my stay to bits.

Room Tip: Ask for one that's not next to the street, or on the 4th floor. Heard it can get noisy as the op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suanie_net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyonya_Lee2, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear intravenouswit,
Thank you for taking your taking your precious time off to pen down your thoughts.

Apologize for the inconvenience you had with the noise level. We try our best to make up for these shortfalls by giving our highest level of quality service.

Hope to see you again in hangout@jonker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.2 km away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#39 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.5 km away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.2 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.1 km away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hangout@jonker? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hangout@jonker

Property: hangout@jonker
Address: No 19 & 21 Lorong Hang Jebat, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,561 - ₹ 3,394
Hotel Class:2 star — hangout@jonker 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hangout@jonker is a treasure to find for savvy travellers looking for a fun yet fuss-free stay while travelling. We were officially opened on 3rd July 2010 in Malacca, Malaysia. The 22-room boutique hotel is located in the Jonker Street area, a popular, must-go destination for tourists visiting Malacca. Designed with our signature "no frills, just fun" concept, our hotel gives travellers just the right amount of attention needed - no unnecessary amenities except for those great cushy beds and squeaky clean bathrooms. And, if you love making new friends on your trip, Hangout Hotels offer the perfect hangout place to meet and share adventure tales with fellow travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your hangout@jonker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangout@Jonker Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing