We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely noisy place to stay”
Review of hangout@jonker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
hangout@jonker
Ranked #21 of 220 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 March 2012

As per some of the former reviews, this place have absolutely zero sound proofing. We had a room towards the front of the hotel on the 3rd level, we can hear cars,motorbikes, and blaring music from the street below well to 2am in the morning, even now at 4! And then there were voices from the other rooms,banging doors,rutting from my neighbours...as well as conversations from street level.
Definately not a place I would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travor81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyonya_Lee2, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear Travor81,
Thank you for taking your precious time off to give us your feedback.

Sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay with us due to the noise. We try our best to give a quality service to make up for the unavoidable shortfalls. Hope that you will come again. Thank you for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 101 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

GOOD: Excellent location as it's right in the middle of Jonker Street, walking distance to major tourist spots. Polite and efficient staff. Only guests with access cards can go beyond reception area. Inexpensive for accommodation in Jonker St, clean and basic. Attached bathroom has shower + toilet + towels. Single bed is Malaysian standard size, as opposed to bigger/longer American sizes. Decor is minimal and neat, spot the IKEA items. Open balcony on top floor has awesome view, especially at night.

DIDN'T TRY: Free wi-fi, free breakfast, free books to read.

BAD: Depending on your luck, you may or may not get a good room. We had 2 twin rooms: Room01 was at the corner with window opening to the main street. Room02 was an intermediate. In Room01, expect the loudest street noises ever, as tourists like to congregate and chat at the fountain in front of Jonker Street. Thanks to that, I now know what 2 women from Guangzhou bought from the 2nd shop on the 3rd lane in 5 colours. Trishaws breeze by playing loud disco-pop sort of sounds, even past midnight. The noise doesn't stop until 1am or later and it begins again early in the morning. If you're a light sleeper, haha well good luck.

On the other hand, our friend in Room02 did not have any of these issues and had a wonderful night's rest.

I so very much wanted to like the place. If it wasn't because of my experience with the noise, I would have loved my stay to bits.

Room Tip: Ask for one that's not next to the street, or on the 4th floor. Heard it can get noisy as the op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suanie_net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyonya_Lee2, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear intravenouswit,
Thank you for taking your taking your precious time off to pen down your thoughts.

Apologize for the inconvenience you had with the noise level. We try our best to make up for these shortfalls by giving our highest level of quality service.

Hope to see you again in hangout@jonker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We were desperate for accommodation as we arrived at a particularly busy weekend in Melaka and we'd only booked one night at another hotel and found they could not accommodate us any further that weekend. In going from hotel to hotel, we found the staff here went out of their way to be helpful - we stayed at Hangout one night and they rang around other hotels to assist us in finding accommodation for the other nights we were in Melaka as they were full otherwise. The man at the desk also assisted us with other bookings and even though he was very busy and alone at the main desk several times during our stay, his courtesy and willingness to help did not waiver.
Our room at Hangout@Jonker was comfortable, modern and very clean (including sheets and towels) and well located in the historic quarter. However, being centrally located and during a particularly busy period in Melaka, it was very noisy and we got woken up several times during the night by alarms going off in neighbouring cars and persistent horns.
Supplied breakfast was disappointing...but we could not fault the staff!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have less traffic and street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyonya_Lee2, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear Helen,
Thank you for taking your time off giving us your feedback.

Glad to know that our staffs were at hand to assist you. Sorry for the inconvenience caused due to the noise level.

Hope to see you in hangout@jonker when you visit Malaysia again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I had intended to stay somewhere else in Melaka but got to the address to find it shuttered! A guy in the street directed me to the Hangout and as it was late I figured I'd give it a go.
It was a little more than I wanted to pay but as I was tired I thought I'd stay for one night and find somewhere else the next day.
I stayed in a single room with air-con and en-suite bathroom.
The place was spotlessly clean and the shower was one if the best I've EVER had. Huge monsoon/rain shower head. Lovely fluffy towels too.
The bed was comfy and the whole place has wi-fi. As well as free Internet in the communal area.
Breakfast us included in the rate and it looked like it was pretty much unlimited tea, coffee & toast.
The location is great, in Chinatown just round the corner from Jonker Walk, where the market is at weekends.
If it wasn't for my, limited, budget I'd stay in places like this ALL the time.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Definitely a budget hotel - be a great place to stay with friends I imagine.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jo_thomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyonya_Lee2, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear Jo,
Thank you for your kind thoughts and feedback. Great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in hangout@jonker!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Located right in Chinatown and near the river. The hotel was decorated in a clean,bright and modern style. Clean room, good air con. Decent value on a well located budget hotel. We stayed in a double room. Free wifi and computers, plus free basic breakfast.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank cdntravelgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyonya_Lee2, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear cdntravelgirl007,
Thank you for your kind and thoughtful feedback. Hope to see you soon in hangout@jonker and Malaysia!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 km away
Heeren by the River Hotel
Heeren by the River Hotel
#58 of 220 in Melaka
35 reviews
0.1 km away
Vinz Boutique Hotel
Vinz Boutique Hotel
#74 of 220 in Melaka
38 reviews
0.2 km away
Wayfarer Guest House
Wayfarer Guest House
#4 of 220 in Melaka
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cafe 1511
Cafe 1511
#18 of 220 in Melaka
209 reviews
0.1 km away
No photo provided
45 Jebat Backpackers
#84 of 138 in Melaka
2 reviews
0.1 km away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#1 of 138 in Melaka
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hangout@jonker? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hangout@jonker

Address: No 19 & 21 Lorong Hang Jebat, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: ₹ 2,911 - ₹ 4,204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — hangout@jonker 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hangout@jonker is a treasure to find for savvy travellers looking for a fun yet fuss-free stay while travelling. We were officially opened on 3rd July 2010 in Malacca, Malaysia. The 22-room boutique hotel is located in the Jonker Street area, a popular, must-go destination for tourists visiting Malacca. Designed with our signature "no frills, just fun" concept, our hotel gives travellers just the right amount of attention needed - no unnecessary amenities except for those great cushy beds and squeaky clean bathrooms. And, if you love making new friends on your trip, Hangout Hotels offer the perfect hangout place to meet and share adventure tales with fellow travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your hangout@jonker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangout@Jonker Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing