We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (775)
Filter reviews
775 results
Traveller rating
384
305
67
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
305
67
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight marketno liftprivate parkingstreet marketperfect locationcendolwelcome drinkchicken rice ballceiling fanair conwithin walking distancefamily roomroom was spaciousbasic amenitiespleasant stayshort staykaraoke
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 775 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

The location of this Boutique Hotel is perfect. It's at the junction of Jalan Hang Jebat and Jalan Tokong, right at the end of of the night market of Jonker Street. The night market is the 'attraction of Jonker Street'. The stalls are lined end to end from the hotel right up to the Melaka River. It comes alive from 6.00pm and goes on till very late at night. One can get the usual 'touristy goodies' from T-shirts to jackets, from sandals to shoes, from tattoos to cosmetics. From local sweets to dessert (chendols), from chicken rice balls to Western cuisine but most of all the local Baba and Nyonya cakes and snacks.

Jonker Boutique Htel has a cafe on the ground floor that's open to the street. Guests can then order their drinks and bring in the street food to enjoy in the comfort and privacy of the hotel cafe. It's a perfect set-up.

The hotel is limited to 16 rooms so it's very quiet despite the hustle and bustle of the outdoor at night. We had the Grand Deluxe Double, a very spacious room with a 'centre divider' that separate the bed from the sitting area and with a large en-suite bathroom. The only drawback is that it doesn't have lifts. However our luggage were carried up on checking-in and then down when checking out. The hotel has a generous car park space at the back.

Though there is no breakfast available within the hotel premises, breakfast is available at a short walk along Jonker Street. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend any guest that wish to enjoy the hustle and bustle of Junker Street night market. Interestingly, the Melaka River Boat ride (highly recommended), the Clock Tower and other places of interest is just a 15 min walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms would be best.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Noordin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We have good vibes with the hotel. We have stayed there twice! We love the resident cat as well which often hang around at the café in the morning. The hotel has a private parking at the back. Many place of interests are well within walking distance from the hotel. If you drive, try to avoid the peak hours as traffic is especially heavy to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GunnKarO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in end Sept. Check in was ok, staff was polite but not very friendly. Stairs to the room was narrow but that was ok for us. We're small & only brought a hand-carry. Room (108) was spacious & nicely decorated. The wallpaper was peeling a bit in some areas but it's still a nice room. Bed was comfy, air con worked well.

The bathroom was nicely decorated but there was black on the grout in several places. It looked like they had a mold problem, cleaned it up (I hope), then didn't bother to repaint or re-grout. The towel hook is tucked behind the door, on the opposite end from the shower. Not sure why they didn't put it closer to the shower.

The shower could be an issue for some people though. It's LOW. I'm only 1.57 meters (5'2"). That's how low that shower was. My husband is 1.7 meters (5'7") & he said the shower head was just above his head.

I wasn't impressed with the service. Yes, they brought our bag up for us. Yes, there was a welcome drink. But there were no smiles, no interaction with the staff. We'd come in & the staff wouldn't even look up from their chat at the reception desk. One person looked up as we were leaving that first day, & when we smiled & said 'hi', we got a blank look. Never had that happen in a boutique hotel before.

The location is great. Right near the start of the weekend night market, practically next to the food stalls. We're night owls, so the noise didn't bother us.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GNJ93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We wanted to try a baba nyonya hotel and this hotel decor is absolutely awesome. We arrived quite late at midnight but friendly uncle made our checked in easier and fast. Great location at Jonker’s Walk, just walk around, its easy to find eateries and souvenirs. 7eleven also just infront of the hotel.

Room is clean, comfortable, spacious with bathtub & minibar. They also provide gated parking at the back of the hotel with cctv.so you dont have to worry about your car. Its really a nice beautiful baba nyonya hotel that i can absolutely recommend to others.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank neynapathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Honker boutique hotel is a Chinese style deco. It's very antique. Room was so specious for 4 of us. N love the toilet so much.. So big clean. Just the air-con not so strong.. It will not b my last time to visit there.. Weekend there's a night market below.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Suraya1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews