We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jonker street fair on Saturday night was beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2017

The room was very comfortable and exceptionally clean. The bathroom was clean with plenty of hot water. The beds were good. We did ask for a king size bed and ended up with 2 doubles. The AC was good.
The staff were polite, helpful, both willing and able to communicate well in English. They were knowledgeable and good at giving directions to the visitor highlights in the area. All the sights we wanted to see were within comfortable walking distance.
If climbing stairs is an issue for you, be sure to let that be known in advance. I did not see an elevator but not a problem for us...we like climbing stairs.
We were very pleased and wouldn't stay anywhere else when we go back.

Room Tip: If you want a king size bed, be sure to stress that in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

The location of this Boutique Hotel is perfect. It's at the junction of Jalan Hang Jebat and Jalan Tokong, right at the end of of the night market of Jonker Street. The night market is the 'attraction of Jonker Street'. The stalls are lined end to end from the hotel right up to the Melaka River. It comes alive from 6.00pm and goes on till very late at night. One can get the usual 'touristy goodies' from T-shirts to jackets, from sandals to shoes, from tattoos to cosmetics. From local sweets to dessert (chendols), from chicken rice balls to Western cuisine but most of all the local Baba and Nyonya cakes and snacks.

Jonker Boutique Htel has a cafe on the ground floor that's open to the street. Guests can then order their drinks and bring in the street food to enjoy in the comfort and privacy of the hotel cafe. It's a perfect set-up.

The hotel is limited to 16 rooms so it's very quiet despite the hustle and bustle of the outdoor at night. We had the Grand Deluxe Double, a very spacious room with a 'centre divider' that separate the bed from the sitting area and with a large en-suite bathroom. The only drawback is that it doesn't have lifts. However our luggage were carried up on checking-in and then down when checking out. The hotel has a generous car park space at the back.

Though there is no breakfast available within the hotel premises, breakfast is available at a short walk along Jonker Street. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend any guest that wish to enjoy the hustle and bustle of Junker Street night market. Interestingly, the Melaka River Boat ride (highly recommended), the Clock Tower and other places of interest is just a 15 min walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Noordin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We have good vibes with the hotel. We have stayed there twice! We love the resident cat as well which often hang around at the café in the morning. The hotel has a private parking at the back. Many place of interests are well within walking distance from the hotel. If you drive, try to avoid the peak hours as traffic is especially heavy to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gunn Kar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in end Sept. Check in was ok, staff was polite but not very friendly. Stairs to the room was narrow but that was ok for us. We're small & only brought a hand-carry. Room (108) was spacious & nicely decorated. The wallpaper was peeling a bit in some areas but it's still a nice room. Bed was comfy, air con worked well.

The bathroom was nicely decorated but there was black on the grout in several places. It looked like they had a mold problem, cleaned it up (I hope), then didn't bother to repaint or re-grout. The towel hook is tucked behind the door, on the opposite end from the shower. Not sure why they didn't put it closer to the shower.

The shower could be an issue for some people though. It's LOW. I'm only 1.57 meters (5'2"). That's how low that shower was. My husband is 1.7 meters (5'7") & he said the shower head was just above his head.

I wasn't impressed with the service. Yes, they brought our bag up for us. Yes, there was a welcome drink. But there were no smiles, no interaction with the staff. We'd come in & the staff wouldn't even look up from their chat at the reception desk. One person looked up as we were leaving that first day, & when we smiled & said 'hi', we got a blank look. Never had that happen in a boutique hotel before.

The location is great. Right near the start of the weekend night market, practically next to the food stalls. We're night owls, so the noise didn't bother us.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GNJ93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We wanted to try a baba nyonya hotel and this hotel decor is absolutely awesome. We arrived quite late at midnight but friendly uncle made our checked in easier and fast. Great location at Jonker’s Walk, just walk around, its easy to find eateries and souvenirs. 7eleven also just infront of the hotel.

Room is clean, comfortable, spacious with bathtub & minibar. They also provide gated parking at the back of the hotel with cctv.so you dont have to worry about your car. Its really a nice beautiful baba nyonya hotel that i can absolutely recommend to others.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank neynapathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
2.9 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,541 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 169 in Melaka
1,257 reviews
1.3 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#14 of 169 in Melaka
2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonker Boutique Hotel

Address: 84 Jalan Tokong | Kampung Tiga, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: ₹ 3,176 - ₹ 6,416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jonker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience old world charm with modern amenities and 5 star comfort. 16 plush and spacious en-suite designer rooms in a majestic curved Art-Deco building right on Jonker Walk, with free wi-fi, car-park.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Jonker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing