We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great as reviewed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not that great as reviewed”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Checked in the hotel during a weekend. Booking was fine and smooth. Check in was also smooth and fast.The room and bathroom design is nice.
Me and my partner stayed at 2nd floor and it was not that good as we need to climb the narrow stairs each time we get back to our room. In the room, I can hear footsteps sound from the upstair and other people talking from another room which I guess they can hear me as well. There are karaoke on the stage in front of the hotel until late night. We were tired after a whole long day and wished we could have a nice sleep after we are back in the room. However there are noise from the outside karaoke which made us couldn't sleep until late midnight. Probably they should improve on their sound proof.
Overall, we did not really had a good experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    286
    61
    12
    5
See reviews for
250
248
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed at Jonker Boutiques Hotel in late February. This is my second time. The hotel environment was homely and the staff helpful & friendly. Surprisingly, the bell boy flatly refused to accept the tip I wanted to give him for helping us bring in the luggage. The Grand Deluxe room was great, clean & comfortable. The room was spacious enough for the three of us staying in. The location was excellent too. Very accessible to restaurants, cafes, shops & attractions. A good place to stay for those who want to experience the the old charm of historical Melaka. Well done and keep it up Jonker Boutique Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timtan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I didn't know what to expect when we arrived in Melaka however once we arrived to the Jonker Boutique Hotel we were pleasantly surprised. It's a wonderful, clean, stylish and charming hotel and the staff were so friendly and so helpful. They gave us restaurant recommendations with such enthusiasm, you knew it was sincere (as opposed to a partnership, etc).

The rooms were fun. More importantly they were clean and spacious. They had international plugs in the rooms so we were able to charge our mobiles without having to dig out the converter. The shower was nice, clean and the amenities were exactly what one needs. The room also had a large big screen tv, air con and a ceiling fan.

Highly recommend this hotel! If we're ever back in Melaka (which I hope we will be as its quite a charming city) we'll stay no where else but the Jonker Hotel. Yes, it was that great. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heathrmaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We were upgraded to the Grand Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds. Room was very spacious and a very clean bathroom. Everything throughout the hotel was very clean. No lifts though, but they are more than willing to bring up your luggages. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. The location is great, right on Jonker Street. Many places to eat and walking distance to the different areas of interest. No breakfast in the hotel though, but there is a small cafe next door which does breakfast. The staff (Amy and Jasmine) were very polite and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WOS8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I had booked a “Grand Deluxe Double Room” for a three day touristic visit.

The room was large, had all the usual amenities, wooden floor (big plus), air condition and ceiling fan. The bathroom had a bathtub and a rather large shower cabin. There was a big flat screen TV with a few English-speaking channels. Everything is impeccably clean and well maintained. Double windows keep out most of the street noise. The street is very calm during night anyway. There is a nearby mosque that once in a while announces prayers, but it lasts only for a few seconds each time.

The only thing missing compared to a chain-style hotel room would be that there was no safe, but I didn’t feel that it was a problem; they have key card locks on the doors (with cool Sci-Fi sound when you unlock!) and the staff appears more than trustworthy.

It is located centrally in Chinatown, with walking distance to the historical parts. Little India is a bit further away, but no more than 15 minutes’ walk - good to know if you want roti for breakfast. ;) Shopping malls are even further away, but that’s not really the reason to go to Melaka anyway.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful (I never remember names). A little anecdote was that while I was checking in, I realised that my phone had dropped out of my pocked in the taxi. Without hesitation, they started calling my phone and kept doing so until the driver responded. He later came by to hand over the phone. The log showed that they had called 19 times before he picked up!

One of the best hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tallman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
2.8 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
619 reviews
0.5 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,192 reviews
1.2 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,324 reviews
0.9 km away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonker Boutique Hotel

Property: Jonker Boutique Hotel
Address: 84 Jalan Tokong | Kampung Tiga, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,090 - ₹ 5,214
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jonker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience old world charm with modern amenities and 5 star comfort. 16 plush and spacious en-suite designer rooms in a majestic curved Art-Deco building right on Jonker Walk, with free wi-fi, car-park.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Jonker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing