We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel and excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is a gem. The hotel is an excellent location and the rooms are clean, modern and tidy and the service from the staff excellent. You can walk everywhere (if you enjoy walking), we came during the week so everything was really quiet, however, it was nice to see sights and visit food places when there were fewer tourists about.

I must say when we checked in after a long flight and road trip, we checked into the superior room which was downstairs, I was somewhat surprised that the room was rather small. It was comfortable and we had all the things we needed in the room. unfortunately this is a old building and we had a very noisy family upstairs, it was extremely difficult ro rest/sleep. I asked if we could move as we needed rest and it was a romantic trip for my husband and I and I didn't fancy staying in a room with noise for the next two nights. I asked to be moved and reception were very understandting. After about 10 minutes we were moved upstairs, this was a bigger room (lovely surprise) it was very quiet and we had a great nights rest. I just want to say a big thank you to the staff/owner because had we stayed in the first room, I think our first visit to Melaka would have been more completely different.

The breakfast was very nice and quite a good selection for a small hotel. Again, the staff were very warm and welcoming and the breakfast area (house across the street) is modern, celan and tidy.

I would stay here again if I visit Melaka on a weekend. My advice would be to get a room on the second floor!

Room Tip: Upstairs room, no noise and rooms are much bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giordanokaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    316
    94
    15
    9
See reviews for
264
503
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This great guesthouse is really in keeping with the surroundings in Melaka. The rooms all have their own character and the deluxe rooms are really with the extra.

I'll definitely come back and recommend it to anyone visiting Melaka.

Room Tip: Try to avoid Room G1 as it has a damp smell, hence 4 out of 5, but the other rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valais, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

LOCATION: Courtyard @ Heeren is located at No. 91 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (also known locally by its old name, Heeren Street). It is conveniently situated in the heart of historic Melaka & most attractions are within easy walking distance.

Just behind Heeren Street is the bustling Jonker Street (also known as Jalan Hang Jebat) famed for its weekend night market. Both streets are lined with antique shops, cosy cafes & busy bistros serving local cuisine & western fare, chic boutiques and quaint little stores offering a plethora of quirky good buys besides the usual touristy trinkets & souvenirs.

The Baba Nyonya Heritage Museum located along Heeren Street is worth a visit if you are interested in traditional Peranakan architecture & furnishings. Another 'must-see' historic building on Heeren Street is Hotel Puri which used to be the home of Mr Tan Kim Seng, a respected Chinese philanthropist in South-East Asia. Be sure to check out its fascinating Swallow Hall where you can see swiftlets nesting on the walls!

In the vicinity are several historic churches, mosques, Chinese and Indian temples, mainly situated along Jalan Tokong (also known locally as Harmony Street as places of worship for Buddhism, Islam and Hinduism co-exist in harmony here). The distinctively red Dutch Square with its Clock Tower, Christ Church & Studthuys are an easy 5-min stroll away on the other side of the Melaka River. The ancient fort of A'Famosa @ the foot of St.Paul's Hill & St.Paul's Church which sits on the hilltop are about 20 mins away on foot.

ROOM: We stayed in a spacious Deluxe Room on the upper floor. It was reasonably clean though the floor tiles had numerous obvious stains that were not removed throughout our stay which kinda made us wonder if they ever cleaned the floor...

The room had a modern but Peranakan-influenced decor & was furnished with the following: a double bed; multichannel flatscreen TV; air-conditioner; a narrow desk with chair & wall mirror; bottled water and tea- & coffee-making facilities. There is no wardrobe but there is a clothes-rail with several hangers provided in the bathroom. Strangely enough, a small fridge which serves as 'mini-bar' is also placed in the bathroom, under the vanity counter.

The room had a pungent smell which we suspected was a result of poor ventilation coupled with the insect/mosquito repellent liberally used throughout the property. However, the smell seemed to dissipate and was not so noticeable after having the air-con on for a while...

The room has a rather odd layout with no windows thus it can get quite dark & stuffy. Limited daylight comes in through the partial wooden partition which also acts as a sliding 'door' for the bathroom but such a design offers no privacy for whoever is using the toilet or shower.

BED: The bed was fairly comfortable with clean sheets, blanket & pillows.

BATHROOM: The bathroom was clean but oddly designed. It was furnished with a long vanity counter with wash basin; a narrow swivelling mirror on the side; toilet & a separate shower stall. Adequate clean towels were provided & replaced with fresh ones daily. Amenities provided were comprehensive: shower gel; shampoo; shower caps; hand soap; toothbrushes; comb; cotton buds; mini sewing kit; etc. The shower-head had strong water pressure & there was a good supply of hot water (heater needs to be turned on for at least 15 mins prior to taking a shower).

As mentioned before, there is only a partial partition in the room which offers very limited privacy as the wooden slats are positioned fairly wide apart so you can see right through to the other side. The shower stall is enclosed in partially frosted glass with upper portion being transparent. The toilet is behind a frosted glass wall but the sliding 'door' has widely spaced wooden slats & can't be locked. Hence, you may need to ask the other occupant to leave the room while you use the facilities else he/she will be able to see, hear and smell all that goes on in this open-concept bathroom...

F&B: Our room rate was inclusive of daily breakfast which is served in the Cafe @ Courtyard located across the road in a different building separate from the main property. The breakfast buffet offers a generous spread with good variety of both Asian & Western items: toasted bread; assorted cereals; eggs prepared a-la-minute in your preferred style; stir-fried vegetables; rice or noodles; mixed tropical fruits; etc. For beverages, they provide the usual coffee, tea & fruit juices.

The Cafe @ Courtyard is only open for breakfast service & the hotel has no other F&B outlet. However, this being Melaka, foods & drinks are easily available on nearly every street & alley and come in a wide variety to suit every palate.

For local delicacies, you may wish to try Uncle Keong's @ Jalan Tokong or Jonker 88 @ Jalan Hang Jebat (Jonker Street). Geographer Cafe @ the junction of Jonker Street & Jalan Lekir is a good place to chill out to live music while having a couple of long cool drinks. Cafe Orang Belanda near the end of Heeren Street serves Dutch-influenced fare while Eleven Bistro along Jalan Lekir serves Portuguese cuisine. For coffee lovers, don't miss Calanthe Art Cafe along Jalan Hang Kasturi; they serve a wide variety of coffee (brewed, blended & flavoured) and also delicious Nyonya laksa & scrumptious lemon cheesecake!

Before leaving Melaka, be sure to visit San Shu Gong @ the end of Jonker Street (just look out for a red hanging dragon swirling in front of a tall red building). Here you can find a huge selection of local produce & traditional snacks like banana/sweet potato/yam chips, coconut/durian/pineapple tarts and peanut/yam cream crackers.

SERVICE: Room Reservation, Check-In & Out all proceeded smoothly. Do note that full payment of room charges is expected upon Check-In. The service staff here are mainly Malaysians and are generally warm & helpful. The multilingual frontline staff can converse in both English and Bahasa Melayu & some of them speak Cantonese or Mandarin too.

Mr Amar @ Front Desk left a particularly good impression for being most obliging & thoughtful; always greeting us by name on sight & never failed to offer us a drink of refreshing cold water whenever we returned from wandering about in the intense tropical heat. Mr Amar handled our reservation and prior to our Arrival, emailed to ask for our ETA so that our room would be ready for us when we Check-In. On the day of Departure, he kindly stored our luggage after Check-Out so that we could continue with our sightseeing for a few more hours without having to lug the heavy bags around. His genuine hospitality really made us feel welcome here.

FACILITIES: Being a small boutique hotel, Courtyard @ Heeren does not have facilities like business centre, gym, spa or swimming pool. You won't be missing these if like most visitors to Melaka, you are here for only a few days...

SUMMARY: Melaka offers its visitors plenty of accommodation options to suit every budget: backpackers' hostels, guest houses, boutique hotels converted from historic buildings as well as modern towering hotels.

As a mid-range boutique hotel, Courtyard @ Heeren is a good choice if you wish to experience staying in a historic Peranakan mansion with authentic furnishings yet equipped with modern comforts like air-con & hot showers.

If deciding between Courtyard @ Heeren & Hotel Puri, i would recommend staying at Courtyard for its nicer rooms & cordial service. You can always pop by Hotel Puri to check out its ornately decorated foyer, History Room & Swallow Hall as these common areas are open to the public.

Room Tip: Each room has slightly different design & layout, ask for more info when making your reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeChat_EnVacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I have stayed here on 2 separate visits as it is reasonably priced, friendly and very clean. It is set out like an old nonya house and is charming, quiet and comfortable.
Breakfast is included but not really brilliant but the rest of it more than makes up for this
One thing that some people might find weird is the bathroom which is very appealing but not all that private. It is screened from the room but you can make out the outline of your friend/partner behind it. I didn't have a problem with it but it is worth looking at before you book that particular room
The staff are very helpful and friendly and it is handy to everything

Room Tip: what you see is what you get on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This hotel has won awards for design and it's obvious why. The reception area has a more traditional character, with some antique furniture and interesting objects in glass cases, and a little pool. The bedroom's design was quite impressive in the use and combination of different materials that showed off their unique texture -- the original rough stone wall exposed as if in a frame, wood, glass -- and the geometrical shapes of the furnishings fit very well with these different materials. The bathroom, as expected already from many many posts which I had previously read, was the more unusual part of the experience. There is no door to speak of, as the so-called door is just some wood slats which does not serve any useful function (e.g. give privacy), except that from outside, it all looks nice when "closed" as it formed part of a wall of wood slats. There is no closet for clothes to speak of. There is just a slim wooden shelf where you can put a few tiny pieces of clothing, and a couple of hooks with 2 hangers -- utterly useless. The complimentary toiletries are not worth mentioning -- which is a bit of a letdown for the price and the designer tag, unlike most boutique hotels which make it a point to have a nice touch by providing nice natural-based shampoo/soaps. The room, overall, while lacking windows, did not feel claustrophobic as the glass wall in the bathroom area let in some light from the skylight. The room itself and the bathroom had an interesting minimalist design -- all good and perfect for a glossy magazine shot, but does nothing at all for the comfort of the guest. The room was spacious, and had the usual facilities or things in them -- all of them looked good and really stylish, but heck, they were not comfortable to use or even useful at all. Aside from the closet which is really annoying, there is the single hard-backed small chair, the too-low bed. Breakfast was just okay, though most of the food on offer were fried/oily stuff. Could use better bread and coffee. Service in the breakfast area though was good -- staff were nice and attentive. I cannot say the same for the receptionists though, especially the guy (the one who looked a bit indian). I always found it disconcerting whenever we came in, and he is the one behind this big desk, not greeting or smiling, with one or two other staff standing near him. They would keep on looking, not saying anything, and seeming to keep an eye on my every action, just like shopkeepers or guards who are more suspicious rather than welcoming of any person coming into the shop. Of course with my camera, I would have wanted to take interesting photos of the nice stuff in those cases, but with them standing guard like that, I felt more like an intruder than a hotel guest, all I could manage were spotty shots.

I was glad, nevertheless, to have stayed in this place and see for myself what the fuss was all about, but next time in Melaka, I will need a place that thinks about my comfort and needs. Nothing wrong at all about the hotel, except for training needed for front desk staff, but perhaps it was for trying too hard to project this photo-perfect image that the place comes across as cold, and lacking in character or charm. The hotel bends itself over backwards to be a showcase of design, unfortunately, along the way, the comfort of its guests was forgotten, and the utility and function of some essential things overlooked.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CygniCygni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.0 km away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
2.6 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 166 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.9 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#11 of 166 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Property: Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Address: 91 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,016 - ₹ 5,966
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing