We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The most relaxing guesthouse in all of Malaysia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emily Travellers' Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emily Travellers' Home
Ranked #10 of 203 Melaka B&B and Inns
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The most relaxing guesthouse in all of Malaysia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

Emily's is the most relaxing guesthouse you can find in all of Malaysia. The guesthouse has a beautiful garden with a bunny hopping around, a pond with fish swiming in it and the most chill-out common area we've seen in all of asia. The staff is super friendly and you'll feel at home the minute you'll step in. The rooms are very basic but clean and the beds are comfortable. The shared bathrooms are clean and there are showers that feel, as if you where standing in the middle of a rainforest - absolutely beautiful. Unfortunately there's no WiFi or internect corner at the guesthouse and even electricity plugs are scarce: but that will just help you, get a little more relaxed... The guesthouse is a little off the tourist center, but just 5 minutes walk will get you to the colonial center, another 5 minutes to chinatown. The bus from the main but terminal stops conveniently directly in front of the guesthouse.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    15
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
29
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hiroshima, Japan
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

I stayed here for a few nights. Sure, the facilities are basic, but they are clean and quite adequate. The doors remain locked which means you and your valuables are safe. The hosts are very friendly and make you feel at home. I had a wonderful time there. If you want luxury, then, sure, pay a lot of money, but if you are looking for friendly, clean budget accommodation, then this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manfa1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

I just swant to make justice to all traveleers, misled by Lonely Planet book...this is a very very basic place, no warm water, no power in the rooms, very rustic...the guy working there is friendly and very honest (no big sales talk)...at the end we found cheaper and "nicer" (hardly nice for melaka) places much closer to the activities...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nocturne27p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

It took an age to find Emily’s, but once found it was nice. Very cheap, so great for backpackers, and a nice relaxed atmosphere and a lovely tropical garden to relax in. Quite a bit of noise from the street, during the night -- so if you are a light sleeper then perhaps it is not for you. The rooms were sparse and the sheets a bit threadbare, but the bedrooms, bathrooms and other areas were kept clean and were perfectly serviceable. Importantly, I found the two brothers who run Emily’s to be laid back, welcoming, knowledgeable, trustworthy and helpful.

Overall, I would recommend it to back packers and those wanting somewhere cheap to stay -- having been years since I back packed, it was a nice place to begin reintroduction to this form of travelling!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TravellingT_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

Having spent an hour looking for the place we gave up and booked in somewhere else. The next day we were determined to find it and wondered why we even bothered!

On arrival we rang the bell as all doors were closed and locked and was met by a rather sleepy host who basically refused to show us a room and said we should come back with our bags the next day . In all 5 months of traveling through SE Asia, never have we been refused to be shown a room!

There was no way we were going to check out of our current place and trek from one side of the town to the other, just to be shown a room! So they lost what could have been potential business, as we stayed where we were!

He told us that the phone number in the book was wrong, and having looked them up on the net and seeing that there map location was wrong, and the fact that the tourist information centre in town there had never even heard of them when we enquired, I am wondering if they actually want to build a good reputation and business at all! Get your act together Emily's!!!

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Likkle-Travller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#11 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
0.3 km away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 km away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#26 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#16 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 km away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
0.2 km away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#13 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emily Travellers' Home? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily Travellers' Home

Property: Emily Travellers' Home
Address: 71 Jalan Parameswara, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 203 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price range (per night): ₹ 956 - ₹ 1,161
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Melaka City is a sanctuary called Emily Travellers' Home. An old heritage building with rustic charm & a relaxed ambience. Within the walls of Emily, sits a quaint oasis - enchanted garden with streaming water welcoming you to a tranquil feeling. Amongst the lush flora & fauna creating that positive energy, peacefulness & privacy - a great simple place for weary travellers to rest & energise. With our warm & humble hospitality experience you can't help but feeling simply like "home away from home". At Emily Travellers' Home, you COME AS A GUEST, LEAVE AS A FRIEND. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emily Travellers` Home Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing