We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as good as we had hoped”
Review of Oceanic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oceanic Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Canacona
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The Oceanic at first was a welcome relief as it was a little further away from the main drag, just a short tuk tuk ride away. The staff themselves were very helpful, friendly and welcoming as were Les and Sheila, no problems there at all. The room however was slightly disappointing, we couldn't find a plug point that was screwed to the wall properly and had problems charging the phone and using the hairdryer, plus the tele plug was a bit dodgy and you had to keep wiggling it to make t work, bit scary that when it kept maiking sizzling noises. The toilet's a funny one, works fine, nice and clean but when you flush it it takes ages to turn off, you have to stand there and pull the button back from the wall, takes about 10 minutes. Had a few cold showers but nothing major to overcome. The food was fine and they do a lovely sunday roast, it's very quiet there which makes it relaxing. The pool is mainly shade which is a welcome relief for those that need it but unfortunatly there isn't much room in the sunny spot for the sun lovers. All in all it is a good hotel, staff on hand all of the time which is reassuring. Just a bit too far out of the way from the main road and beach. Good barber shop next door that do lovely shaves and facials - for men and women!!

Room Tip: there's only 6 rooms - 4, 5 & 6 are the better deluxe rooms their plugs work!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Oceanic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

Hotel is just stunning, hotel staff are so friendly and very helpful nothing is too much trouble! We had an amazing holiday and would definitely go back and stay in the same hotel as its close to all beautiful locations and beaches and sights.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue5476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I was one of 11 guests who took over the Oceanic's six rooms this Christmas and New Year. My husband and I were in room 6 which was beautiful and even boasted a hand crafted circular mosaic shower room. I have traveled in India many times and because of the Oceanic, I find myself returning to Palolem time and time again. The hotel itself is really really pretty and feels like an oasis of calm and relaxation after a day on the beach (5 mins away) or time spent shopping. The owners have fantastic taste in furniture and decor and the music played both in the restaurant and up by the pool is always well chosen and helps to create the lovely ambiance. There was nothing that the hotel staff wouldn't do for us from helping our friends with baby sitting to arranging bbq's on the beach and cooking special meals for us. The Hotel is owned by a delightful couple, Les and Sheila, who make everyone feel like they have known them for years (I have actually) and who actively take time to understand who their guests are and what will make each holiday special. The hotel is managed by Savarnand and Urmilla who go above and beyond the call of duty every day. The food is amazing and I'm sure we all gained a few pounds during our stay ;). I would recommend Hotel Oceanic to anyone looking for an easy, relaxing holiday in Goa and would like to thank everyone at Oceanic for looking after us all.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely and unique - I loved the mosaic shower in ours!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This place is amazing. We have just returned from a 2 week xmas/new year holiday and it was the most relaxing holiday i've ever had. Extremely friendly and very helpful staff. The owners Les & Sheila were fantastic, giving us local advice and help when needed and they organised live music for us on xmas day throughout the whole evening.
The food and hygiene were way above my expectations and they make the best Vindaloo in Goa.
The layout of the hotel is beautiful. Lovely pool area with live music, very well groomed gardens creating the perfect atmosphere every night.
We will definitely be going back.
Thank you

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 6 are amazing.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Oceanic hotel and we had an amazing stay. Oceanic staff are extremely nice, polite and trustworthy. We have a one year old daughter and they helped us every day by playing with her and looking after her at nights if we wanted to go out for dinner. Our daughter loved them, particularly Sarvarnand - the manager.

The food was excellent and the ambiance in the hotel grounds is really pleasant. The hotel arranged a yacht cruise and a great dolphin trip, which were really nice. The nearest beach is only a couple of minutes walk away (even if you are pushing a pram). The hotel can arrange a massage by a couple of ayurvedic masseurs, who are very good. Particularly recommend the Indian head massage. Also the local dentist in Palolem is great - cheap and very good.

We had the ground floor room at the front of the hotel, which was clean, huge and lovely, had good access for us in terms of baby paraphernalia and had a big TV with satellite channels. However ground floor meant that the odd bug managed to get in when we weren't watching the door, but this is tropics and bugs are native to this place. The windows are completely mosquito proof and we didn't have to use mossy nets. Hotel provided a baby cot, which was already set up in the room when we arrived (not something you get even in expensive hotels in India).

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone, whether it is on a friends or family trip.

Room Tip: Top floor end room is excellent but for families with small kids recommend ground floor big room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canacona
0.9 km away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
300 reviews
1.6 km away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
0.8 km away
Palolem Inn
Palolem Inn
#5 of 9 in Palolem
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
The Cape Goa
The Cape Goa
#3 of 19 in Canacona
34 reviews
34.6 km away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
398 reviews
1.3 km away
Dropadi Inn
Dropadi Inn
#9 of 9 in Palolem
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Hotel

Address: Palolem-Patnem Beach Road, Canacona 403702, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Canacona
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Canacona
Price Range: ₹ 2,733 - ₹ 7,159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully simple and elegant rooms, surrounded with lush garden, Oceanic is an exclusive boutique hotel an oasis of calm and positive energy. A romantic abode to relax and unwind. It's a short stroll from the lively beach of Patnem and Palolem. At Oceanic we pride ourselves in having a very high standard of cleanliness and hygiene. Our restaurant offers delicious organic food. Our Bar will do best to quench your desires. Our aim is to give our guests the best possible holiday. We are reputed for going out of our way to help our guests; Oceanic is a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oceanic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Hotel Canacona
Oceanic Hotel Goa/Canacona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing