We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property, but lacks on entertainment and activities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Canacona
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good property, but lacks on entertainment and activities”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I do visit Goa during Christmas every year and this time we decided to look for a place away from the usual hustle and bustle of North Goa. Lalit was indeed an ideal location given the circumstances, but lacked few things to make this a perfect vacation for us. The hotel doesn't have anything to do especially in the evening. I would recommend some entertainment shows for kids or even a theater which can host movies. Also the selection of TV channels were dismissive, but I felt it was a good choice, later. Also the staff, especially the temps and apprentices need to be more friendly and approachable. Some of them were masters in doing the disappearing act when asked for something. It really brought down the good impression created by the senior staff of the hotel. Overall the property is beautiful, but needs to add more green especially on the golf track facing the sea.

Room Tip: All rooms are good....large sized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Satish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Namaskar!!

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lalit Golf and Spa Resort Goa!!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Lalit, Goa.

It was a privilege to have you stay with us at The Lalit Golf and Spa Resort. I have shared your feedback with my team.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. The Operation Team of the hotel has taken serious cognizance of this matter and is extremely regretful about it. I wish to assure you that we are taking corrective steps to ensure that incidents may be avoided. You are sure to find marked improvements in your next visit.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Goa.

Warm regards

Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    462
    184
    74
    70
See reviews for
659
383
41
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is one of the beautiful stay in Goa...I came here with my wife to attend a wedding on 26th for 3 days. Service quality is just good as U get Hot tea in the morning in no time. the rooms are quite large and airy. We enjoyed each moment of this stay . Love U all at Team Lalit Goa.....cheers

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumitkhetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Namaskar!!

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lalit Golf and Spa Resort Goa!!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Lalit, Goa.

It was a privilege to have you stay with us at The Lalit Golf and Spa Resort. We are glad to learn that you were happy with the services and facilities of our hotel. I have shared your feedback with my team.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Goa.

Warm regards

Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I was recently there with my family. My sons were visiting India after years. We were very disappointed with the quality of customer care at the Lalit. It a huge property and has excellent potential for being a topper but it sorely misses the mark of a 5 star hotel. The rooms were not clean. The staff don't pay attention to detail. Reception staff were not friendly and welcoming. We had booked 2 sea view suites and got ones facing the pool and very close to the restaurants. It was extremely noisy. We spoke to the manager a Mr. Manish who promised to do something about the rooms but forget doing anything, he didn't have the courtesy to return atleast with an answer. The new year Gala was a fiasco. It was very poorly organised. The only thing that was excellent was the Rejuve spa where the staff were extremely friendly and good at what they did. We then went to Taj Landsend In Mumbai and couldn't help but notice how far behind Lalit was in hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gypsydoc660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I arrived at 3pm at the Lalit Intercontinental for a ONE night stay on the 2nd January, as check in was anytime after 2pm. We were greeted with a shell necklace.

We were pleased with the hotel opulence and first impression of the grounds and reception area.

Hotel guests are a majority of Indian with food and services catering for them.

However we were not so pleased to be told that our room would not be ready until 6pm because the flights to Delhi were delayed due to fog and the Delhi bound guests could not be asked to checkout at MIDDAY as they were the hotel guests - what about us!!? From extensive travel experience any other international 5* hotel would still have those guests check out on time and offer them courteousy rooms to get ready in order to accommodate arriving guests. What an unreasonable excuse, thank goodness their flights weren't cancelled, wonder what the hotel would've done then!!!?? An organised professional 5* hotel would most certainly would have at least upgraded us to an available rooms (we know there were because we checked online) or at least offer some form of credit to compensate.

I was particularly annoyed as I was rather unwell and on intravenous medication, which needed to be administered soon and stored in a fridge. I wasn't in a safe haven as the hotel rating suggests.

We were offered a lower standard room for the 3 hours, this caused much inconvenience as I could not rest completely and it meant my husband had to stick around with me until we were moved instead of going straight to his afternoon scheduled meeting in Paloleum.

The reception manager claimed not to be able to do anything apart from relocate us for a couple of hours, he agreed we would be moved sooner at 5, but after an hour of sitting sound waiting in reception we were eventually allocated a room just after 6pm! Very poor start, it's the first time in 20 odd years we have experienced such a shamble. What a waste of our short stay. My husband managed to ask the reception manager to agree a check out the following day.

Our sea view room was very spacious and nice, with a large walk in shower, bath and quality toiletries. It was clean.

We dined in the restaurant in the afternoon, evening on the beach restaurant and breakfast - service is poor. Desserts are great on the beach restaurant. The staff are very polite and courteous, but the time to be acknowledged to be seated and take orders and for those orders to arrive is terrible for a 5* hotel. Our drinks order took half an hour to arrive after several gentle reminders and our meal took ages to arrive. I put it down to the restaurants being short staffed. I did feel sorry for the waiters and waitresses - they do try hard, having to pick up used crockery as well as take and serve orders. Then at the end of the evening they were sidetracked clearing vacated tables instead of clearing tables with complete meal courses for us diners to proceed with the next. They couldn't fully attend to all the diners. Duties should be segregated and tables allocated to staff to attend to. To their credit, they still maintain a happy and polite composure.

We both had a massage the next day which was fine. Not the best, the masseurs were just following the protocol half heartedly. I put this down to them being very young and inexperienced. Face down on a bench looking at the copper bowl of plastic flowers in water with the electric bench's cables around it.

Had time to relax on the beautiful beach (Cavolessim is nicer) and go in the sea where the beach boys set up our sun loungers and stalls selling fresh fruit and massages around us.

The hotel charged a ridiculously high taxi rate for the airport transfer, my husband asked for a local taxi to be called and the hotel refused and was told by concierge that he had to go walk outside and find one himself! WHAT? (wait it gets worse!) Even THE Taj in Mumbai hails / calls local taxis for its guests if required! We've stayed at many other 5* hotels globally including Central London have ordered taxis where chauffeur charges are extreme, never experienced such a response.

We'd rather pay AND tip a local driver heavily for their personal financial benefit than fund the hotel coffers. We are not cash strapped by any standard, but out of principle we made sure ordered a taxi from the rank right outside the hotel at HALF the cost. Definitely had no doubts about it the way this lot were, even if we had to pay double outside we would've got the taxi after being told to walk outside!

When my husband returned to reception in the taxi to the hotel reception to pick me up and our two small bags, the security guard told him that he is not allowed to load them from here and must go outside the hotel gate to put them in the taxi!!! (Bleep, bleep, bleep!) Disgusting!!

How about when guests arrive, I'm sure they aren't told to drag their bags in from the gate if they arrive in a local taxi?

We experienced a lot more negatives in one overnight stay at this so called 5* hotel than all of our stays combined. Management need to sit up and employ more staff and teach the reception / concierge staff some basics. We really liked the hotel, just a shame about the bad manners.

I prefer Cavolessim for the beaches and service and quaint resort feel over being completely secluded. Baga is better for partying, but not in high season when the place is heaving with 99% indian men tourists. Candolim is nice, not too busy and grown up to cater for all.

Funny thing is despite staff attitudes, I don't rule this hotel out completely even though we were treated with disrespect, just because of the rooms and tranquility. Maybe just for a couple of nights though as there's nothing around. We didn't complain or be confrontational with staff because we were shocked at the antics, but next time I will make sure I raise these matters with management, but really am not sure anything would change. Maybe we will be better off elsewhere in Goa after all.

Room Tip: Can't see the sea from sea view room, only pay extra if price difference is nominal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LONDONMANIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

we stayed here for two nights
service is slow , breakfast ran into lunch meaning the people wanting lunch had to wait.
some staff are helpful others just ignore you
we had room service for dinner as we didnt fancy the wait , this was surprisingly fast and good
location at the southern most tip of the resorts means you are isolated if this is your main stopping place but the beach is worth it

Room Tip: one close to reception as others are a long walk away
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mr05ingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canacona
21.1 km away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,263 reviews
21.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,544 reviews
22.9 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 15 in Benaulim
3,029 reviews
27.0 km away
Caravela Beach Resort
37.7 km away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 39 in Salcette
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa

Property: The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
Address: Raj Baga, Canacona 403702, India (Formerly InterContinental the Lalit Goa Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canacona
#1 Spa Hotel in Canacona
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,840 - ₹ 34,204
Hotel Class:5 star — The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lalit Golf & Spa Resort Goa is an all suite resort nestled on 85 acres along the pristine Goan coastline. The resort, cradled by the majestic Sahyadari range along the confluence of the Talpone River, offers breathtaking view of the Arabian Sea. With a kilometre-long exclusive beachfront, it is truly one of the most exquisite beach resorts in Goa. Amidst grand Baroque-Portuguese style architecture, meticulously landscaped gardens, international standard Double 'T' 9-hole Links golf course and Rejuve - the signature spa, enjoy the luxury of oceanfront privacy and seclusion in true Lalit style. Upon arrival, the resort welcomes you into the grand lobby with rustic chandeliers, antique long-handled ceiling fans and a grand staircase overlooking a hand-painted tile mosaic of Sao Rafael, the very first Portuguese ship to land in Goa under the helm of Vasco Da Gama. The resort offers 202 Garden View suites, 36 Sea View Suites, 14 Luxury Suites, 3 Presidential Suites and 10 luxurious villas. Other facilities include unique fine dining restaurants, water sports, Swimming Pool, Kids Pool, Sports complex - Tennis, Squash, Table Tennis, Archery, Volleyball, Beach Football, Beach Cricket, ATV, Beach Cricket, supervised kid's area with a variety of activities for children. The resort is also equipped with seven banquet halls/meeting rooms, ideal for all types of corporate events, conference facility, meeting facility, weddings ceremonies and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, TravelGuru, Yatra, ClearTrip and HotelQuickly so you can book your The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit Golf And Spa Resort Goa
The Lalit Golf & Spa Resort Goa Hotel Canacona
Intercontinental The Lalit Goa Hotel
Canacona Inter-Continental
Intercontinental Canacona
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa Canacona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing