We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calangute
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Baga Beach Hotel
Ranked #75 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed 2 January 2011

This hotel is not in the beach as the name says, but it is not too far as well.
In fact me and my wife loved the fact that this hotel is so close to the market and all the eateries, at the same time it is not very far from beach (500 mts approx.)

Rooms are average and hotel staff was courteous.
Didn't utilize the room service as we were out most of the time and would return to room only to crash. After all who wants to stay the whole day inside a room in GOA !!

Decent place, recommended for travelers not wanting to spend too much money on luxury but at the same time get to stay in prime location.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geepee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2010

close to beach , resturants and clubs in goa. the sea food is worth trying. please visit the near by resturants for good sea food and live music

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank entdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2008

We booked this hotel from Australia, on a recommendation from the travel wholesaler our travel agent deals with. This place was advertised as La Baga Beach Resort. We had planned our 4 nights in Goa as the halfway point of our journey around India and were planning to relax in a resort! We couldn't believe it when our taxi pulled up at this dump, but yes, on an advertising board outside the hotel, it said La Baga Beach Resort. It had no resemblance to a resort. It was just a ugly looking concrete block, with no gardens at all. The pool was on the rooftop, which was a concrete desert with no shade. The pool was murky - you couldn't see the bottom. You certainly didn't want to sit and relax there. There was a lift in the hotel,which was a plus. The room was clean and there was a fridge and a television, and a ceiling fan and working airconditioner. There was a small balcony with room for 2 chairs, but looking over buildings, no sea in sight. The bathroom was tiny - the shower was next to the door, and flooded the whole floor, as there was no recess. Beds were rock hard. We asked for another mattress to be put on top of the existing mattresses, but it didn't make much difference. Pillows were tiny and lumpy. We couldn't get hot water, and ended up using the shower in another room on the first night. (we didn't want to move to this room, as it was much smaller). We had difficulties with getting hot water for the rest of our stay of 4 nights. Breakfast was ok. We were told that the continental breakfast was included in our price, and that we weren't entitled to the Indian buffet breakfast. The continental breakfast was eggs and toast and jam and tea/coffee, and was reasonable. Then on the last morning, we were told that we weren't entitled to the continental breakfast, and we had to have the buffet! They provided a locker as a safety deposit box, but the next time we wanted to access it, they wanted to charge us 50rp. We refused to pay, saying that we weren't told this at the time. It took 10 minutes to walk down a hot ,dirty, dusty, smelly path, through scrubby vegetation, strewn with rubbish, to get to the beach. We told the manager that this was not a resort, and she said that the name was La Baga Beach Hotel, not resort. We said that "resort" was on the noticeboard outside the hotel and our booking voucher from our travel agent had "resort" on it. We complained about the crummy swimming pool, and said that a "resort" usually has a pool where you could relax, have something to drink or eat, under shade. She said that they do have parties there, and had one on New Year's Eve. We said - what, once a year? She said that because people come to Goa to party, the hotel doesn't need to provide good facilities! We ended up spending two afternoons in another hotel, the Neelams Grand, which had a nice pool, and where we could relax, have a swim and a drink. We paid 100rp to do this, and it was worth it. To be fair, the La Baga staff were quite friendly and obliging, e.g. when the hot water wasn't working, they brought us a bucket of hot water. Not sure what we were supposed to do with it, as there was no bath - perhaps we were supposed to pour it over our heads.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mishoo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2008

We've stayed in this hotel from 27th till 07th Jan. 2008. We haven't found any reviews of this hotel in Internet, so it was really scary to
go there...When we arrived at Goa, we were shocked by poverty and montains of garbage on the streets, but on the second day we got accustomed to that and holidays became the best we've ever had. We had
a room with 3 m. high ceiling, balcony looking to the yard on the 2nd floor, so the view was beautful. There's a swimming pool on the top floor, but nobody ever swam there, except us, so we had a feeling that
the hotel is working only for us. Service is great at least due to the
fact that the staff found my make up eye pencil, which I lost from the
balcony of our room, sharpened it and gave it back to me, when I already forgot about this. All our questions and enquiries were fulfilled in 5 min. The road to the beach is 7 min by foot, but it's an amazing trip. During this you'll see parrots, squirrels on the trees, banian tree, coco-nut on palm treet, mangoosts, bats and other animals. The beach is good, but we stayed a bit to the right from the main entrance, as there were too many indian guys sticking to us with their articles. NY night was also very homy and friendly, we so fire-show in the beach from the top floor of our hotel, where the NY party took place. In general, if you're a kind of tourist, who doesn't care about the size of bathroom, balcony and age of furniture and stay in the hotel only at night, it's the best place to stay at. You'll never regret...I'd like to thank to staff ot the hotel for everything :)

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KristinaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Windsor Bay
Hotel Windsor Bay
#44 of 116 in Calangute
154 reviews
0.2 km away
Calangute Annex
Calangute Annex
#82 of 116 in Calangute
65 reviews
0.3 km away
Lambana Resort
Lambana Resort
#38 of 116 in Calangute
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sodder's Svelton Manor
Sodder's Svelton Manor
#77 of 217 in Calangute
16 reviews
0.1 km away
No photo provided
Sai Sharan Guest House
#32 of 217 in Calangute
3 reviews
0.7 km away
Little India Beach Cottages
Little India Beach Cottages
#3 of 249 in Calangute
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baga Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baga Beach Hotel

Address: Baga Main Road, Kobra Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Price Range: ₹ 3,257 - ₹ 9,771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Baga Beach Hotel is a cozy property situated just a stone's throw away from the world famous Calangute Beach of Goa. Equally vibrant Baga and Anjuna Beaches are in close vicinity. Hotel has: Total of 27 well appointed, air conditioned rooms; 18 of them have an attached sit-out area, perfect for basking in the setting evening sun, or for a languid afternoon nap. Rooftop swimming pool is a delight in itself. A panoramic view of the surrounding village hustle and bustle, and a seascape of the nearby Arabian Sea are its highlights. Fully equipped gym and sauna. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Baga Beach Hotel Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing