We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very basic, but clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mira Hotel
Ranked #55 of 106 Hotels in Calangute
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very basic, but clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

If you are looking for 4 star luxury, this isn't the hotel for you.
The hotel is very basic, but clean. The rooms are cleaned every day, linen and towels changed every 2-3 days, however if you want fresh linen or towels, you just have to ask.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
The pool area is small, and doesn't get sun all day, although this can be quite a welcome relief. The birds are very loud all day and during th night, however we had a poolside room so the noise at night didn't bother us, some people with rooms over looking the road did complain about it.
Breakfast is not good, the usual twice cooked toast which is more like crackerbread, and tea and coffee. You can buy eggs to order, or porridge, these are both very cheap.
The hotel is well situated and a 2 minute walk from the bars, shops and hustle and bustle of Calungute. And a 10 minute walk from the beach.
I would stay at this hotel again, it's very good value for money.Except the A/C which is 300 rupees a day, there are ceiling fans in all of the rooms if you don't want to pay for it though.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a pool room, you're about 4 steps from the pool, and you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    82
    34
    13
    12
See reviews for
37
91
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

stayed here twice now and got no complaints at all very clean rooms cleaned daily clean towel each day room boys and staff great girls on reception wonderfull

Room Tip: first floor better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keith_val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales, uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Just booked to return to the Mira for the 3rd time, having been going to Goa for the past 11 years the Mira is one of the better "tour Operator" hotels. We ask for a high floor room and always get one, the staff and the room boys are all excellent (tuk tuk). We returned in Novemebr 2011 and it was like going back to a happy family nothing is any trouble.

Now for the people moaning on about the bad side, you must remember India is a third world Country yes there is rubbish, smells and cows walking the high street. Yes they like to put mothballs in the wardrobes, bathroom window sills - I think they help control the mozzies !!.
Breakfast is the same toast you could sandpaper walls with but hey its so cheap to eat here just go elsewere and have a cooked breakfast.

Anthony the old man that grills the toast is always happy and has a smile on his face we order eggs and fresh juice for 2 everyday and it costs about £1.50.

Yes the Famous Thai restaurant has gone from the Mira but there are plenty of good restaurants to choose from.

The rooms are basic but no different to any other budget hotel in Goa, yes you do not get your own fridge but a tv with english channels is free in every room.

So for anyone moaning on about the Mira I can only suggest you have not stayed at many other places in Goa, We will be returning in Nov 2012 for our 3rd year and cannot wait to go back and see our friends both at the hotel and around Goa.

Room Tip: email the hotel in advance with your requests they will always accomodate you if they can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coco-lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Just returned from our stay in the Mira Hotel, its a lovely friendly small hotel, the staff especially Simon & Santos will do anything to help you. The rooms are small, very basic and do have a funny smell to them - but you are in Goa and for the price i wouldnt expect anything else. They were cleaned on a daily basis with the sheets / towels changed on alternate days. Our room 404 was up 4 flights of steps and it was a bit of a killer - there is no lift. The Mira is in a great location to calangute steps and the nightlife on the main road, so this does make it very noisy along the street. When we were there it was the government elections so strictly no alcohol was served after 10.30pm so it did go quieter but i expect when the bars are open until late it would be very very noisy (these elections run until sometime in March 2012 so be warned if you are heading out there soon - Thomas Cook informed us the day before we went).
I would have no hesitation to stay at this hotel again if it come up at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The rooms close to the pool are away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

just back from the mira, most of the reviews on here are about right, the hotel is spotless, most of the staff are really friendly and are happy to help you, the rooms are really basic and were cleaned every day and the shower was great. If your wanting a bit of luxury or peace and quiet the mira is not for you. The crows dogs and car horns will keep you awake most of the night, we couldnt use the wardrobes as they stunk of moth balls and also watch out for the lads on the bar they charged us twice for our bar bill that we'd already paid which did spoil our last night and did them out of there tip. so youre best paying everytime you have a drink to avoid this happening. This was our first time in goa and I would go back but in about 10 years, its not the cleanest of places and the smell is like a land fill mixed with curry as you step off the bus, however once you get used to the smell and dirt and find some of the good places to eat it is quite a nice place, but you make your own decision!!! As a whole we had a fabulous time and met some great people!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
2.0 km away
Lua Nova Hotel
Lua Nova Hotel
#65 of 106 in Calangute
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.2 km away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#37 of 106 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 km away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#79 of 106 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#12 of 106 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.0 km away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#47 of 106 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 km away
Epitacio's Hotel
Epitacio's Hotel
#52 of 106 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Hotel

Property: Mira Hotel
Address: Umta Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 106 Hotels in Calangute
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,048 - ₹ 3,618
Hotel Class:3 star — Mira Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and ClearTrip so you can book your Mira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mira Hotel Calangute
Mira Hotel Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing