We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for Conferences and Family Vacations”
Review of Neelams The Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neelams The Grand
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for Conferences and Family Vacations”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Grand was a great hotel. I was there for 5 nights with my family - the first 3 nights were a work conference and the last 2 were family fun.

The first thing we were impressed with was the size of the rooms. We had a ground floor room facing the pool and it was large enough for our family with kids. They slept on the fold on chairs that make beds and it was perfect. The room even had a small balcony were we could sit at night and hang out while the kids slept inside.

The pool was perfect for our family and had a smaller pool just right for the little kids. It was a little ways from the beach but this isn't always a bad thing. For a small fee we could get a taxi to Holiday Road and walked out to a nice beach that was less crowded than in the middle of Calangute Beach.

The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful, especially Sham and Elmira in Reservations.

I've read several people complaining about the room service, but we never had any trouble with this. Our sheets were changed every day and we had fresh towels as well. Also, some people have complained about the food, but honestly what hotel under 4000 Rs a night has incredible food?! If you realize you are getting a great deal on a nice room it is just good to know that breakfast is included and free! I actually enjoyed the guy who made fresh omlettes as he was good and enjoyed his job. The location of the hotel was great too, that within a few minutes you had your pick of many awesome restaurants to choose from.

The conference rooms were great and we had great chai and coffee served during the breaks. The staff treated us well and we hardly even knew they were around. Great service!

All in all, we love the Grand and it was a super bargain. We'll be back if we are in the Goa area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the towers and ask for a pool side one if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggainor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    224
    96
    51
    78
See reviews for
169
221
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Me and my friends stayed there for 2 nights. To be honest hotel has good amenities but the service wasn't that good. Morning breakfast has limited menu, they don't change your bedsheet and piilow cover until you ask them to do etc. Hotel is not very close to beach, its more than 1 KM. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pradeep_Basu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I and my wife stayed there for 2 nights. My room was clean which was been allocated right on the pool side. There are construction work is going on. But it affects only E and F buildings. So if you get room in A, B, C or D building then it’s good. In Breakfast, there are so many Indian items with good taste. Other foods are also good with reasonable price. PARKING facility is not there. Game Zone was not available that time because of redevelopment work was going for this area. Book this hotel via travelguru. You can get more discount than others. It was good experience for us. I recommended this hotel especially for Indian.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the Pool side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAMES_MUMBAI_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Generally i don't write such reviews but this one i had to because of the terrible experience i had while staying at Nee lams The Grand..
a) Room Cleaning - The room cleaning is pathetic.. They don't even change your bed-sheets & towels until you ask them to do. Forget about Bathroom cleaning - This will never happen.
b) Staff - The reception staff barely smiles. Surprised!! yes that's true.. If you talk to them for 5 minutes you will feel as they are doing a favor to you by attending your requests. The most pathetic & terrible Front desk, Travel desk & Reception staff i have ever seen.
c) Pick up & Drop - If your flight is at 9 o clock they will leave you at the airport at 6 o clock. by saying we can drop you latest by 6 o clock only (hotel policy).
d) There was a marriage happening at the hotel over crowded & full of Aunts & Kids. The swimming pool was closed for usage.
e) Breakfast was Ok but not @ par with the cost they charge.
Not at all worth spending thousands of rupees there!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ajay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The hotel exterior was grand looking with a swimming pool, restaurant and adjoining coffee shop. We had booked our rooms via internet and were not asked for room preferences. The rooms at the front of the hotel were quite nice with a good view so we were quite disappointed when we were provided rooms at the back of the hotel with no view to boast of. The rooms were nice and clean though. The major setback of this hotel is its distance from Calangute beach. We were visiting Goa in the monsoons so we had a tough time travelling by the muddy roads with continuous heavy downpour to reach the beach. However the staff were friendly enough and made arrangements for touring North and South Goa and even arranged for a car to take us to the bus station on the day we were leaving. The restaurant food was good but a bit expensive. All in all, a beautiful hotel but with average rooms for the price charged

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamalika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
1.3 km away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#6 of 110 in Calangute
603 reviews
0.5 km away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 110 in Calangute
961 reviews
0.5 km away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Azzure By Spree Hotels
Azzure By Spree Hotels
#11 of 110 in Calangute
556 reviews
1.4 km away
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
#22 of 110 in Calangute
388 reviews
0.1 km away
Neelam Hotels - The Glitz Goa
Neelam Hotels - The Glitz Goa
#35 of 207 in Calangute
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neelams The Grand? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neelams The Grand

Property: Neelams The Grand
Address: Post Office Road, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,420 - ₹ 6,259
Hotel Class:3 star — Neelams The Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand in its true opulent style and grandeur architecture is the blend of perfect hospitality and old world charm. Comprising of 143 contemporarily appointed rooms and suites with large swimming pool, health club, multi cuisine restaurant, coffee shop and largest Sports Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Neelams The Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neelams The Grand Calangute
Neelams The Grand Hotel Calangute
Neelams The Grand Goa/Calangute
Neelams Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing