We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beira Mar Alfran Resort
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Had a lovely room allocated nor paddy fields. Clean & simple with fridge only suitable for water or beer as very rusty. Wonderful view of the bird life and the bull! Room cleaned when you want leaving key with reception. Lovely food as always cooked freshly when ordered. Staff very helpful and friendly to returning clients. Christmas & New Year buffets quite good for number catered for. Pools maintained well & very clean. Taxis outside hotel reasonable as well as good access to local beaches bags/calangute.
Entertainment a little repetitive & need updating!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RaymundoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2017

Just returned from 8 nights here. Firstly the hotel is in a great location, it is set back from the main road so no noise issues, and is a 5 min walk to Titos Lane, 10 min walk to the Beach. Our room was at the back of the hotel with amazing views of the fields and wildlife such as birds, buffalo etc

The hotel itself was very basic, our room was kept spotless, and I just made sure that every morning I put my key in to reception and asked them to clean the room which they did, always fresh towels. The hotel buildings could do with a good lick of paint as they look dirty, the grounds are ok but again could do with a little more care and attention. Breakfast extremely basic, just tea/coffee and toast, however a menu was available for everything else and prices were similar to resort prices and shack prices. There are 2 outdoor pools, one hardly used and no sun loungers or other furniture, the other over looking the field next to restaurant, sun loungers provided and a great spot. There are 2 outdoor restaurants, and a bar. I ate there once for breakfast and lunch and both were excellent

Overall this hotel is very basic, but clean, and great location and amazingly cheap!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back with views over the fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Evertongary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Arrived in the early hours so difficult to see much, was only aware of very uneven ground on approach to rooms. My room was large and not unpleasant with twin beds,TV, telephone, a rather loud fridge and other assorted furniture with an additional door to a small, private verandah leading to one of the two outdoor swimming pools. The pools were spotless and cleaned daily, because the pool near my room was in the shade for most of the day, the water was very cool but then as the average daily temperature was in excess of 35C during my stay this was not unpleasant. The room was cleaned and bedding changed daily if requested, however the laundry is washed and dried in the open which means it has a grey look and is not ironed, which means it does not have the laundered look of European bedding. Similarly the roomboys are waging a losing battle against the sand which blows under the room doors leaving the floors gritty
The breakfast provided was unlimited toast or rolls and jam,with tea and coffee. If you wanted, eggs, etc.were available.for a small charge..Most people stayed at the Beira Mar on a B & B basis but lunches and dinners were available and I and my fellow travellers ate there most nights. We had some delicious meals at very reasonable prices and non of us had an upset stomach throughout our 17 night stay.
The Beira Mar is very popular with birdwatchers and some had been returning for 20 years. It is mainly used by English, Russian and Indian tourists and offers easy access to the main street of Bagga which is a real culture shock to a new visitor to Goa such as myself and truthfully I wasn't sure if I was going to enjoy my holiday in the first few days but the magic of Goa and its people, especially the friendly staff of the Beira Mar, won me over and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so ground or first floor rooms at back are best. A/c only in a few rooms but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank modover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

It was a good job my tetanus was up to date as the fridge was held together by rust.
The mould in the bathroom made for a lovely decorative feature and added some much needed colour to the below basic rooms.
We asked for our room to be cleaned whilst we went on a 4 day trip and left our keys with reception. We returned to find the room hadn't been touched (this was now 10 days after we checked in with no clean towels or bedding). However we were delighted to find a family of cockroaches had moved into the bedroom area and a colony of ants into the bathroom.
Fortunately they found the time to clean it later that day.

As for safety. The electrics are second to none. The electric water heater exploded just after I got out of the shower.
When we went to reception they wasn't overly concerned about it and said they would fix it.

They did 24 hours later (we were provided with a much nicer room to shower in).

The noise from the Russians could be a little loud at times but managed to solve that issue by speaking with them over shots of vodka :)

I had a fantastic holiday but was rarely at the hotel but it was nice to know the security guard found me sexy! (He told me after I asked where I could get some water from after being extremely ill with sunstroke for 7 hours) Still got it after vomit

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank missmosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

The plus for this hotel is that it is in a very good location for tietos lane and baga beach. Unfortunately the hotel itself was questionable. Arrived in the room, and part of the bed was covered with small dead flies that had to be brushed off the bed. Even though the bed itself was ok, bedding and cushions felt dirty. The bathroom again felt dirty and the hot water needed to be fixed, which granted was, when we complained about it.
The room had an awful musty smell which made it feel even dirtier with a noisy fridge that I wouldn't have ever used.
I expect basic accommodation for the price of this two star but was disappointed. Didn't feel safe here, as getting back was through car parks with uneven surface and dark.
Yes it's a budget hotel, gives a roof over your head if needed and you have no choice of any hotel near by. Stayed here for two nights, and I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: December 2016
4  Thank FindStayReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.4 km away
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
#27 of 119 in Calangute
401 reviews
0.1 km away
Nazri Resort Hotel
Nazri Resort Hotel
#8 of 23 in Baga
782 reviews
0.0 km away
Gabriels Guest House
Gabriels Guest House
#116 of 221 in Calangute
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
#7 of 119 in Calangute
775 reviews
0.2 km away
Keys Select Ronil Resort
0.9 km away
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
#21 of 119 in Calangute
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beira Mar Alfran Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beira Mar Alfran Resort

Address: Baga Road, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 255 Speciality Lodging in Calangute
Price Range: ₹ 1,299 - ₹ 8,249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beira Mar Alfran Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra, Agoda, TripOnline SA and TravelGuru so you can book your Beira Mar Alfran Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beira Mar Alfran Hotel Calangute
Beira Mar Alfran Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing