We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bird Watching excellence- delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beira Mar Alfran Resort
Reviewed 4 March 2016

I stayed here with my partner and although the majority of people staying here seemed to be on a package tour, we were independent traveler's and came here especially as we knew of it as a good bird watching destination.
The staff were lovely, really helpful and polite.
The grounds were immaculate, (very well tendered plants and gardens) the pool/s (there are two swimming pools) were excellent.
Ok, so don't expect 4 star luxury, you wont be getting posh rooms with room service. However, our room, was perfectly adequate, basic but large and clean. We had a fridge and aircon. The room was cleaned every day.
When they found out we were bird watchers, they upgraded our room for the last couple of days, to have a balcony view over the fields, for no extra charge. Obviously, don't expect that, ... availability etc, but they did do it for us, such a kind gesture and we were very appreciative.
We would get up early in the morning, sit on our balcony and watch the Kingfishers, woodpecker, paradise flycatcher, Wooly necked stork, Parrots, Shikra, Black- winged Kite, to name but a few! It really was an excellent experience.
Yes the inclusive breakfast is a little basic, but it is plentiful, as much toast and jam as you want and there is a Tea ern so you can help yourself to as much Tea, coffee, hot water as you may want.
There is a choice of open air or under cover restaurant for the evening. Again, immaculate, good food, polite and friendly staff. Mosquito coils placed under the tables and fairy lights look pretty.
The resort of Baga, is a bit hectic but the hotel although very central, is set back just enough, to make it a little piece of calm!
They have safety deposit boxes behind the reception, so you can keep your valuables safe, and you don't have to worry at all about them.
I would go back there in a shot! I am missing it already!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have balconies overlooking the fields and are the best for birdwatching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank LucindaSupremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2016

I've stayed a this hotel before, but can honestly say my visit this time was dreadful. Our room was supposed to be Deluxe, apart from a flat screen tv that's where it ends, the towels were disgusting, they should be ashamed to give them to guests, I had to request new ones, we also bought our own. Breakfast was toast, tea/coffee help yourself, but it was in a plastic little cup, food was ok, but took forever to arrive, that's if you could get the attention of a waiter. I can honestly say "we won't be staying here again"

Room Tip: Don't go by hotel pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dawn582016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Rooms are very basic and not particularly clean, there is a reasonable pool and a nice area to sit and have a drink or a meal. Staff range from friendly to totally disinterested, it's pot luck who you get.

We had our evening meal here a couple of times the first time was ok the second time was poor and 5 of the 6 of us were ill the next day, I can't say with certainty that the meal was the cause but we didn't eat there again just in case.

There are lots of restaurants nearby catering for all tastes as well as taxis and shops.

The Beira Mar has quite a reputation as a hot spot for bird watching due to it's location at the edge of a wet land, it's still worth a visit but sadly the wetland is slowly being reclaimed for building and farming so it's no where near as good as it used to be.

Room Tip: Unless you are prepared for very basis amenities try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JackoMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Another great trip to the Beira Mar. Quick check in to get your holiday on the way. Staff brilliant as always. Entertainment provided on some nights. Food always good. Close to all the restaurants & the beach. Taxi's just outside the hotel are great valve.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
6  Thank SmoggieBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

travelled to india for over 20 years so I know the general level of their hotels. arrived at 4:00 am. room was filthy, bedding a nasty shade of grey, corridors muddy.
was shown another room but same condition.
asked jewel in the crown to move us, which they did at extra cost.
Big question for me is, why do jewel in the crown continue to put people in this hole. I have lost trust in them and will not use them again

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ianbingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.4 km away
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
#27 of 120 in Calangute
402 reviews
0.1 km away
Nazri Resort Hotel
Nazri Resort Hotel
#8 of 25 in Baga
783 reviews
1.6 km away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#101 of 120 in Calangute
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Gabriels Guest House
Gabriels Guest House
#109 of 221 in Calangute
173 reviews
2.0 km away
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
#7 of 120 in Calangute
775 reviews
0.9 km away
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
#21 of 120 in Calangute
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beira Mar Alfran Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beira Mar Alfran Resort

Address: Baga Road, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 256 Speciality Lodging in Calangute
Price Range: ₹ 1,303 - ₹ 8,272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beira Mar Alfran Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Beira Mar Alfran Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beira Mar Alfran Hotel Calangute
Beira Mar Alfran Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing