We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the Crown”
Review of Pousada Tauma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Tauma
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A jewel in the Crown”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My husband and I visited Pousada Tauma in November 2011. We came upon it by accident through a google search- at first I admit i was nervous about not staying at one of the, tried and tested big resorts- you know the well know Fort Aguada. But the thought of staying in a hotel with infants running around screaming was unappealing- Enter Pousada...subsequent to our booking we asked a few regular GOA visitos about this boutique hotel and were given the "big thumbs up." Needless to say - it lived up to its reputation of being an oasis in the midst of a otherwise crowded beach area. It was a perfect romantic getaway for us- the rooms were uniques and superbly designed, food was brilliant and the service was the best we have experienced in India - and we usually visit there at least thrice a year! So all-in-all, it would be foolhardy to stay in the big, impersonal, non-unique resorts and not this beautiful jewel in the crown.

Room Tip: I think you cannot go wrong with any of the rooms. They are all strategically located around the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    19
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
130
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This is a stunning boutique hotel in northern Goa. I was in the south for a wedding and needed a bit of a break from my travels and companions so I snuck away to this gem for a few days. Everything about it Pousada Tauma is superb! I did not explore the town and thus can't speak about it but do wish I had found Fab India(excellent shopping). I enjoyed the pool and the beach/restaurant tremendously. It was exactly the calm and relaxing break I needed. The owner, Neville and his team take very good care of you.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dawn-elriosf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Very nice place if you want to relax and enjoy perfect weather!
Neville and his team made our stay very special.
I cam out from my stay fully rested and full of energy! Very much enjoyed yoga class (on demand) and massages!
I cant wait to be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I had been living and working in crazy Mumbai all winter, and my boyfriend flew in from Canada to visit me and celebrate his 30th birthday. I searched online and had narrowed it down to Pousada and two of the bigger named venues. As it was my first holiday booking in India, I was a little nervous of exploring, but when Neville wrote me a letter in response to my inquiry, telling me they would make sure our room had candles and flowers, and that they would have a chocolate cake and really take care of us, I was hooked. Our experience there was unforgettable, from the smiling, conscientious attendance of the staff, to the deep beauty of our villa, the pool, the surroundings, to the food, we have promised ourselves that we will go back there to celebrate our 5th anniversary. If you are looking for a very special, very exquisite get-away, please go here...It is a place to really relax and connect with company, without distraction, without hype. And yes, Neville is one of the top hosts I've ever met, and I've traveled a lot. He really adds a personal, soulful touch to Pousada!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monsteryogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Pousada Tauma is a wonderful place to relax in Goa. The place is beautiful, rooms are nice and the scenery it's incredible: a lovely swiming pool surronded by spectacular tropical trees all around. But what makes it more special is the service guided by Mathew (will assist in whatever way possible, always smiling!), the incredible food (which is Goan) and most of all Nevile, the owner. Very friendly person whith a love of Goa to be shared, very nice talks and a positive attitude. Recommend the place!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pablo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
1.7 km away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#8 of 110 in Calangute
521 reviews
2.5 km away
Acron Waterfront Resort
1.1 km away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#2 of 110 in Calangute
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 64 in Candolim
242 reviews
0.3 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Goa
Hard Rock Hotel Goa
#10 of 110 in Calangute
784 reviews
37.8 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Tauma? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Tauma

Property: Pousada Tauma
Address: Porba Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#2 Family Hotel in Calangute
#5 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price range (per night): ₹ 25,909 - ₹ 28,623
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Tauma 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Tauma is the first 12 suite Boutique Hotel to open in Goa in the 1998.Built from scratch from1995 on a two acre plot,it is known for our traditional Goan hospitality,with plenty of privacy ,lots of open spaces and a lush tropical garden .1)Room rates are inclusive of B'fast ,lunch or dinner, excluding the Tax's.2)We never offer packages and we never discount " one rate for all our guests " Requests our guests not call or emails for discounts,special offers ,packages etc.3)Meals are served keeping in mind that most of our guests enjoy the local regional cuisine, prepared from fresh seasonal produce,meals which are included in the tariff Lunch or Dinner are served in the hotel restaurant Copper Bowl and not at the beach front restaurant.4)We are not located on the beach ,but we have our own beach front restaurant "Pousada by the Beach " 2 km away from the hotel which is open from 11.am.to 7.pm.There is a free shuttle service to the beach and back . Pousada by the Beach has deck area with sunbeds,umbrellas shower and changing rooms.5) Yoga and Ayurvedic treatments are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelGuru so you can book your Pousada Tauma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Tauma Calangute
Pousada Tauma Hotel Calangute
Pousada Tauma Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing