We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont eat there” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osborne Resort Goa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Osborne Resort Goa
Ranked #36 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dont eat there”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2008

me and my sister stayed at the osborne hotel,calangute,.the hotel woz nice and clean but unfortunately we both got food poisoning.landing us in bed for 5 days,along wiz 5 other couples,,

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidi_oates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    182
    109
    48
    43
See reviews for
77
215
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2008

WARNING
We stayed at the Osborne recently, on returning to the UK my son received his mobile phone bill and to his horror there were calls and texts made to local numbers totaling £155.00. These calls were made while his phone was in his locked room. We checked with friends who stayed there at the same time (different block) and their phones were also used. Keep yours switched off and locked.
The breakfast and the staff attempting to serve it are a joke.
The hotel wanted £260.00 to upgrade to a room with a TV and air con and they would not move on the price.
The rest of the comments in the other reviews are about right. If you have not booked your holiday yet don't go to the Osborne.

  • Liked — The road to the beach
  • Disliked — The Hotel
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2008

I stayed at the Osborne Jan 2007.

Upon arrival we were greated by the hotel staff who we thought were very friendly. we were allocated our room and asked if we required a/c after a good bit of bartering we got a good price. The room consisted of : Main room, two single beds, two bedside cabinets a soffa and a sideboard cabinet with a telephone on it. A ceiling fan and the a/c. Bathroom, toilet ,shower, wash hand basin. Utillity room. Large wardrobe, sink with long worktop and a couple of shelves underneath. a fridge stocked up with beers and soft drinks and water. All in all basic but enough. You need to take your own kettle and cups etc. adapter plugs are easily available in the shops outside the hotel. There is a balcony with a couple of chairs. The room boys are the most helpfull people I have ever come across. There wasn,t anything they couldn,t help us with. There is in phase 2 where we were a lovely poolside bar cheap prices for every thing.
The Osborne does theme nights every night as far as food is concerned. Every morning a large blackboard display the theme and menu. Now and then there is live music around the pool and bar.
Your room is cleaned every day including clean bedding. if you use the minibar the roomboys leave a chit for the drinks you have had. Just pay the bill as you go out in the morning in the reception. your minibar willbe toppped up if you require more beers us the phone it takes a couple of mins and they are there topping you up. The pool is clean the only thing you need to make sure of is you don,t sit near the lovely plants around the poolside it,s an haven for the mossies. the staff light up lots of repellant burners which do help. there is a telly out by the pool if there is anything you want to watch they,ll put it on. Some of the Brits were there watching Eastenders. I,m not sure if you can hire a tv for your room. I,m not too much of a tv addict see other advisers on that one. There is a lovely little bar out side the hotel who if you want will stay open as long as you want near enoughit,s so cheap we ended up there everynight. when we came back to the hotel. There are plenty of taxis outside the hotel but make sure you get a good price before you get one DON,T be affraid of asking another driver of the cost of where you want to go as you,ll more than likely get a better price and then you tend to use that same driver for the rest of your trip. They are very helpful and at a small price will take you out for the day wait for you and then bring you back. Some of the tours that the tour reps offer you they will do for you at more than half the cost and you get just as much as the others. Going to the beach is just a short walk really about 10-15 mins depending on how fast you walk, but as there are shops on the way you tend to look in them and the next thing 3/4 of an hour later you get to the beach. Overall I found that the Osborne was basic, but for what we paid for, was really good value for money. I always say that were not there for the hotel it,s a place to sleep have a shower and a couple of drinks on the balcony before going out. I found it was fairly safe and in an ideal location you just on the out-skirts of the main drag a little bit down from the main Calangute area. So nighttimes you were not disturbed by late night noise. We,re Going back to the Osborne Jan2009 and can,t wait . Enjoy your hols and hope this review is helpful.


Goangrasshopper.

  • Liked — the friendliness of the hotel staff
  • Disliked — the shower
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank goangrasshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2008

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the Osborne for 2 weeks from the 31st Dec to the 14th Jan based on its rating as N1 on Tripadvisor which it definitely wasn't worthy of. We had both previously visited Calangute and stayed in similar 3 star hotels (NIzmar and Dona Terezina both of wich were equal in standard to the Osborne )
Whilst there was nothing particularly wrong with the hotel, there was also nothing particularly right with it either!
The Osborne is a 2+ star hotel by Goan standards and given our time again we would have paid the extra and booked into a 4 star hotel which would have been more comfortable. The Osborne is definitely a budget option and very basic. It is reasonably clean - but no more than should be expected.
We did experience a problem with a dirty birds nest next to the air con unit of the room which was dealt with slowly and poorly by the hotel staff which was also disappointing.
It is well located for the beach and restaurants (try I95 round the corner and Roma on Holiday Street for excellent alternatives if you fancy a change to Indian cuisine)
Calangute is very busy with british tourists so if you are looking to experience the chilled out side of Goa then we wouldn't recommend Calangute, a visit to the south would definitely be recommended.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — most things
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2008

Return visit to the Osborne after 3yrs, we arrived to find we were staying in phase 1. This is situated right at the back of the hotel and is cut off at 11pm by a locked gate !. The room's are large but very very basic and are in need of a good lick of paint and clean. Staff were nice, but are room boys were knocking on the door at 9am to do the room only to leave the same sheets on the bed two day's running until i took them off and put them on the floor !. This would be a great hotel if it were modernised as the postion is great. We looked around some local guest houses on the way to the beach, to find that they were of a lot better standard and a lot more up to date and just £70pppw.My husband and i will be returning to Goa for the new year this year but we will not be staying at the Osborne.
Good for first time visit to Goa due to position but that's all sadley.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank craig_bax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.6 km away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#26 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.1 km away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#13 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.7 km away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#42 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#35 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.0 km away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#87 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.3 km away
Horizon
Horizon
#28 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Resort Goa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Resort Goa

Property: Osborne Resort Goa
Address: Near St. Anthony's Chapel Gauravaddo | Opp Kamat Holiday Home, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,309 - ₹ 10,279
Hotel Class:2 star — Osborne Resort Goa 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Osborne Resort Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Calangute
Osborne Hotel Goa
Osborne Resort Goa Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing