We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Fab Time”
Review of Osborne Resort Goa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Osborne Resort Goa
Ranked #36 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“What a Fab Time”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Just got back from 2 weeks at the Osborne 31/3/12 to 14/4/12.We had originally been going to the Senhor Angelo but had changed last minute due to bad reviews and we were so glad we did.We arrived mid morning after a very uncomfortable flight with Monarch they have reaiiy gone downhill ,we were squashed ,the food was awful and the toilets stank.However as soon as we got to the hotel we knew we were going to have a great time.
The reception staff were friendly and competant, we were given rooms B2 and B3which were ground floor in phase 2.The rooms were large very clean and lovely and cool as we'd elected to pay the £72 for air con which at this time of year was essential. At first I was a bit disappointed that what we thought was our balcony/terrace door did infact lead out on to a little street with motor bikes parked, but this was never a problem as we could walk out of our front door and we were in the pool bar with many tables, chairs and a waiter on hand to provide for your every need.
All the staff at the Osborne were brilliant our room boys ,the tall one with the book and the small one with the keys, kept our room clean every day with fresh towels and bed linen.Francis the restaurant manager was pleasant and helpful at all times and the bar staff especially Sandy ,Martin and Hilary were just lovely, they seemed to know what we needed before we did and nothing was too much trouble.I drove them mad with my requests for proper tea bags and seperate water(I like my tea really weak) .We had a great laugh with them .
The food at the hotel was also good, we got 2 free buffets per person per week and the quality and choice of food was fantastic, we also had a special Easter buffet on Easter Sunday which also had starters and puddings all for 300rupees(about 4pounds) and all the ladies got a hand made easter egg with sweets in the middle it was a really nice touch(I managed to bring mine home still in one piece it now has pride of place in my cabinet)
One of the best things about the Osborne is its location. It is far enough away from the busy main Calangute road to feel like a peaceful oasis,but near enough to get to many amazing restaurants ,shops and beaches.We befriended Kishor a taxi driver and he took us all over ,came back for us and then took us out later and the most we paid was ten pounds and thats for four.
We went to Ashwen ,Baga,Candolim and Calangute beaches , Baga as our favourite it was cleaner and had nicer shacks like Wetherspoons where we were very well looked after. We also did the spice plantation where our friends bathed and rode an elephant(we had done this last visit),we went to Mapusa market and to Panjim (which we werent too impressed with, ther wasnt a lot to see) My favourite trip was to Khola beach where we stayed overnight in a beautiful tent on the beach.Our friends went to Hampi which dspite the lengthy train journey they said was amazing.We also went dolphin spotting and saw quite a few.
The restaurants around the Osborne were all great places like I95 ,Chef Soueymans,Lazy Days, theSouza Lobo , Babutes (which was just next door) We had some unbelievable meals well worthy of Mitchelin stars, and the prices were unbelievable too.
we had such a good time and couldnt fault the hotel at all,Goa is a wonderful place with wonderful people and we cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cleveleystravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    182
    111
    49
    42
See reviews for
77
216
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at the osborne from the 11th march for two weeks,we flew with thomas cook and found the flight out really good,excellent service on the plane,good films etc to keep you occupied,and the flight only took 8hrs 50mins! The airport in goa can get a bit crazy once u get outside the terminal,lots of locals trying to get take your case to the coach,bit annoying but suppose their only trying to make a living! The transfer to the hotel took about an hour and half,we arrived late at night so didnt get to see much,but the coach was fine,and rep on the coach was lovely! On arrival at the hotel we were given an awful room,it was like a prison cell,no balcony/terrace and no opening windows,there was also a very musty smell to the room,we went straight to reception and asked to move,they were really helpful and said we could move the next day,when the morning came we were told we had to wait another day,on the 3rd day we were moved to a much better room, c9 on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool,we had to pay an upgrade fee of £60 as this room had a/c but we were just glad to get out of the other room! Rooms at the hotel are quite basic,but on the whole we found them good value for money,cleaned everyday,and sheets changed everyday,as long as u keep an open mind and dont expect the ritz you"ll be fine,you are in india after all! There are lockers/safes that u can hire for your stay think they cost around 10 english pounds for 2weeks,and they are in a room just behind reception.We found all the staff at the hotel lovely and they couldnt do enough for you,they really do make the hotel! The hotel itself is in a great location,in a quieter area of calangute and not too far from baga and candolim! Taxis from outside the hotel cost around 100 rps into calangute,150 candolim,and 200 to baga! You must try a tuk tuk while your there we ended up preffering them to normal taxis : ) You get given free meal vouchers for your stay, 3 a week when u check in,we had the buffet a few times and found it lovely,a great choice and always hot and well cooked,it does get quite busy and u have to put your name down at reception the night before! We ate out most nights during our holiday and found some gorgeous places,to name a few i95 just 5mins walk from hotel,chef souymens (not sure on that spelling) thats nearer candolim,east is east in baga,over the flames on main rd into candolim,inferno in candolim,we ate a variety of food and never had any problems,the only bad meal we had was in calangute centre in redonda,i found 3 hairs in my food and it totally put me off,so thats a no go! Theres a few good bars not too far from the hotel,hungry horse,molly malones,babutes,and also some really nice bars in candolim,mango tree,sports bar....but if u want a lively night head into baga lots of bars,great atmosphere,beach shacks are great, never a dull moment! The beach is about a ten min walk from the hotel,we found the best shack to be aggies,they dont let any sellers on there so u get peace and quiet,the service is great and the food excellent my hubby had a few fish curries from there and loved them! We did lots of excursions on our trip,we decided to get a taxi to take us rather than book through the tc rep as it was much,much cheaper, we had a great taxi driver, remmy from just outside the hotel,we did the elephants,waterfalls/monkeys (worth it for the jeep journey alone,not for the faint hearted) croc trip,and the secluded beaches.....mandrem,morjim,and ashwen (again not sure on spelling) our fave beach was mandrem! We also did the sat night markets which we absolutely loved especially ingos,its got a real hippy feel,great music,shopping,drinks and food! Maggies is a bit smaller but just as good! The taxi drivers take u and bring u back,agree a price before u go,and dont be scared to haggle,its like a sport to the indians,they love it! Prices are really cheap in goa,for example we were having a 3 course meal for 2 with a few drinks each for around £16,u can get a budweiser for 40pence,large kingfisher for 90pence,crazy prices! Just to give you a rough idea we did all the trips we wanted to,ate and drank like kings,bought what we wanted off the markets,we didnt scrimp on anything and spent around £850,when we travel to europe we spend double this easy! All in all we had a fantastic trip to goa,and we would stay at the osborne again without hesitation,in fact were hoping to book for nxt year! : )

Room Tip: our first room was terrible think it was dd1,our second room c9 great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank brando75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here in 1998!! Was really basic and the room needed a good clean but the room was privately owned so had nothing to do with osbornes itself. Our room was on the ground floor beside the pool which was perfect as our daughter was 4 at the time. The guys working there were brilliant, they were very friendly and very helpful. We stayed in India for 5 months travelling around so this is a trip down memory lane!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maialeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from our second three week stay at the Osborne and loved it so much that we have booked to return next year with friends and family.
On arrival it felt as though we were arriving home.
We stayed in phase two this year. We prefer phase one but this was closing early this year as Thomas Cook have cut back on the season.
In future we will be travelling with Jewel in the Crown as they have not changed the length of the season.
We would like to thank James, Edwin and the rest of the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.
See you all next year!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Viv720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed last two weeks of March, when the season was winding down. We were orginally given a room in phase 3, dd6, which was on the top floor and had no a/c. the room itself was huge but had a thin plastic door connecting to another room, so it was noisy, and the bathroom was very dingy and small. We decided we needed the a/c so paid the £60 upgrade for the two weeks and moved to another room, BB12, which was much better. the room itsefl was brighter and had a better view. Although all the rooms here are quite basic, it is overall clean and tidy and sheets and towels are changed every day. If a touch of paint was given and a few new fixtures (shower heads, lampshades etc) which would be fairly inexpensive to do the hotel would be greatly improved. However, we werent too concerned about the room as we only used to sleep in! The pool was good, regulary cleaned, and plenty of sunbeds etc. (although the hotel was fairly quiet)
The main selling point i found with this hotel though was the staff. Everyone we encountered, reception, security, barmen, room boys etc.. were all exceptional. Polite, friedly and so willing to please. Made the hotel for me! The free buffets were also good, and we never had a bad meal when we ate there for lunch. Like i said with a few small improvments the hotel could be fantastic!

Room Tip: BB12 was good, phase 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katiemuka33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.5 km away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#27 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 km away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#13 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.0 km away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#87 of 110 in Calangute
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#37 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.3 km away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#33 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.0 km away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#97 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Resort Goa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Resort Goa

Property: Osborne Resort Goa
Address: Near St. Anthony's Chapel Gauravaddo | Opp Kamat Holiday Home, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,166 - ₹ 2,786
Hotel Class:2 star — Osborne Resort Goa 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra, ClearTrip and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osborne Resort Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Calangute
Osborne Hotel Goa
Osborne Resort Goa Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing