We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Aware”
Review of Osborne Resort Goa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Osborne Resort Goa
Ranked #39 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Be Aware”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Basic hotel but that's Goa for you. It was in a good position for local shops and a short walk to local shops, restaurants and the beach. The room was basic but as it was just a base for sleeping it sufficed my needs. Breakfast consisted of 'toast' and preserves. Tea and Coffee was served in Urns made from powder and to say the least tasted like pepper and sardines. Avoid and bring your own teabags. Although it seemed popular with the Northeners which sums it up. Poached eggs/ omelette's were also available. The Bar staff were completely inattentive and didn't make any attempt to make us feel welcome. Peter the barman was different, very friendly and also greeted us by our first names and shook our hands when he came on duty. A credit to the Osborne. The big downside was the cacophony of noise in the morning Namely barking dogs, a cockerel and the kitchen setting up for breakfast from the early hours. Earplugs or vast amounts of alcohol will help you sleep. Overall it didn't affect my enjoyment of my holiday but will not return in the future. Visit the very helpful lady in the shop outside for money exchange etc she gives a better rate. Also the sleepy fruit and veg man on the corner, a happy chappy who may be wearing a loud yellow Hawaiian shirt. A very nice man so buy so fruit from him and make his day. Enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    182
    111
    49
    43
See reviews for
77
216
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Workaholics
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This was out first time to Goa and chose the hotel because a friend had stayed there. The hotel is set in a quiet area ( well it is apart from the hotel entertainment, cockerals, barking dogs and Russians arguing alot)
The hotel is set in three blocks, not all together, each with its own pool. Our room was on the top floor, not for the unfit!. The first room that we were given was not great, small bedroom, bathroom and kitchen ( I use the term loosely, it had a sink, a fridge and a metal wardrobe). After seeing a friends room we asked to move, reception were unable to move us that day but we could move rooms late on our second day. On coming back from the beach the second day we went to reception to change rooms but our maid had already done it all for us, how nice was that.
More about the room. Our new room had a large bedroom, the wardrobe was in the room this time, bathroom and living room. The rooms were basic but I have stayed in worse in Greece. The beds do not have sprung mattreses and are very thin, for those with a bad back this may not be for you. We asked for an extra mattress to be put on each bed, reception were no help with this at all but a little note to the maid, two oranges and 40 ruppees got the extra mattresses required.......
The maids are male but are respectful at all times. Cleaning is done to a basic standard but we never came back to find the room unclean. We left 20 - 30 rupees per day as a tip and we were always looked after. My husband spilled butter chicken sauce down a favourite tee shirt one day, we left it with the maid and it came back clean two days later, cost 25 rupees, happy days!
Plenty of hot water, exept when there is a power cut. We had a few power cuts but to be fair they do not last for long
The room has a fridge that is stocked with soft drinks and beer. Normally you would expect to be overcharged for drinks but not here. The exchange rate in January 2012 was hovering between 76 and 77 rupees to the £1, a coke from the fridge was 25 rupees, I do not drink beer but I think that was 45 rupees and water was 20 rupees. Realy cheap I am sure you will agree. The fridge is restocked every couple of days, the maids will catch you for payment about once per week. We were shocked that the previous occupant of the room had not paid the bill, it is hardly expensive is it?
Downside to the room was that they have connecting doors which are not very thick, you can hear conversations with the room next door. The windows are in a shocking state and do not close properly. The hotel entertainment is not great and can be very noisy. The layout of the blocks means that the noise from the bars is amplified, I was glad that I took earplugs with me. The towels are not great, I have thrown better ones away. The room does not have a safe, you can hire a locker in a room next to reception but this is only open 8-8, hire of locker is about £10
The hotel is bed and breakfast, coffee, tea, fruit juice and toast. You can order other things like poached egg on toast etc at a small charge. The staff are friendly and it is pleasant to sit outside and eat breakfast in the morning sunshine. Along with the stay you will be given vouchers to attend several buffet dinners, we went along to one and the food was lovely, plenty of choice etc. You just have to book with reception and go along with your voucher. We used the hotel for breakfast and only one buffet dinner. Drinks in the hotel are not overpriced, I drank Bacardi Breezers and were only 90 rupees per bottle, nothing was expensive
If you want to change money, travellers cheques during your stay don't use the hotel, there is a littel shop just outside reception Frank Stores, use there. The lady who runs the shop will change money for you, take your passprt along the first time, she will take a copy, you do not have to take it again. Her exchange rate is fair, she also sells adaptors, cigarrettes, anti mosquito coils etc
If you get an upset tummy, there is a chemist just round the corner from the hotel opposite babbuttes restaurant and store. The pharmasist is very helpful and nothing costs much at all. I need some antibiotics while I was there, 20 tablets cost me 190 rupees. Upset tummy tables cost 48 rupees for 10 and they really work quickly. I do not plan to take any with me next time, I am going to just buy them there they are alot cheaper than buying them in Boots here
I would say this is not for the traveller who likes luxury but for us it was a good base for a first visit to the country. We are going back next December but have arranged a local hotel direct with the owner and our own flights with Qatar Air
If you have any questions please feel free to ask me. We found a few nice places to eat, all really good prices

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a small living room, these are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Workaholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Arrived here as a party of 4 February 17 in the early hours, very basic room, mini bar smelt rancid and only the room boys could make our hot water work with the aid of a screwdriver. After 2 days without hot water we returned to towels that the manky hotel dog had clearly slept on. The rep moved us the next day to the opposite block where we were woken daily bu a concerto of dogs barking, taxi drivers shouting morning greetings but 'best' of all a cockerel constant from 4.30am.
Flies prevalent in the eating area which was cleaned down once in a fortnight and, I don't want to describe the morning toast & egg scene that I witnessed from my friends room - but worthy of a mention, if you plan to eat there-don't!
Room boys more interested in pound coins than cleaning,I never expected Caribbean standard but, this was rank.
Bar staff on the reception staff were surly and frankly dishonest when writing bills, the other side was a different matter, Peter the manager was great

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxtall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calangute hotels

england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

To anyone thinking of staying at the osborne hotel,we have just returned from a 2 week stay at the osborne phase 2 resort ,room C10 ,which we found had a spyhole in the door directly facing the bed in the room,on our 9th night at 12.20am while getting ready for bed, we caught one of the bar staff spying through the hole,after speaking to the room boy the next day he informed us that it was common knowledge that there was a spyhole in room C10 and that everyone knew about it.We complained to james the manager for what use it did,and asked to be changed to another room we filled in a complaints form which james the manager refused to sign.We would like to hear of anyone else who has experienced the same problem,

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank roxy6england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

At first the room seemed simple, no TV! However we spent little time in our room, theres so much to see and do. We did take a potrable DVD player which came in handy. A fridge in room was a good addition. Pleasently surprised that three buffet dinners were included each week free. Good race night, and lovely Christmas Eve gala dinner, so much food to choose from. A good location, and we would go back, but still trying to find someone nearer to Calangute main town. Not too far to walk to town or beach though, and there are lots of shops just two mins away.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluechinchilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.5 km away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#29 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 km away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#13 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.0 km away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#88 of 110 in Calangute
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#38 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.3 km away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#35 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.0 km away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#98 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Resort Goa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Resort Goa

Property: Osborne Resort Goa
Address: Near St. Anthony's Chapel Gauravaddo | Opp Kamat Holiday Home, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,163 - ₹ 2,843
Hotel Class:2 star — Osborne Resort Goa 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Yatra and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osborne Resort Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Calangute
Osborne Hotel Goa
Osborne Resort Goa Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing