We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“AVOID” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nizmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nizmar Resort
Ranked #74 of 107 Hotels in Calangute
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AVOID”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We Agree with others on this one we were also down with food poisining, 7 couples that we new of all came down the the food poisining
it is not fit for europeans,used as a conference room for the indians, who were noisy and some had disgusting habits spitting and clearing there nose in the pool,
could not beleive what we had come to, we had been to the nizmar before and it was pleasant then,
we had read the reviews but you always think that some folk are over the top, so to be honest did not take much notice,but please be warned and avoid this one,

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grumpywhosgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    58
    35
    22
    37
See reviews for
32
81
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed at Nizmar resort for 3 days and found this to be an average hotel. Though the rooms are quite spacious if you book a deluxe suit but the property is an old one. We had our rooms pre-booked through internet but still the hotel reception took around 30-45 mins to validate the booking. One should specifically ask for rooms facing the pool as the other locations aren't good. Room service is not good here and even the food is average. Note that there is no lift to take you to 3rd floor in case your room is there.

Nearest beach from this place is Calungate which is little under 1 km. You can easily find restaurants, shops, bike rentals, etc. in this area. The day tours to North / South Goa are costlier if you book through the hotel. You can find travel and tours shops enarby which can do the same tour booking at a lower cost.

Room Tip: Pool facing, deluxe suit, ground or first floor (no lifts)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mast07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

My husband and I just got back from a 4 days long stay at the Nizmar Resort ifrom 26th to 29th January. We choose the Nizmar Resort because we wanted to stay at a star hotel (at least good if not best). But our review about this hotel goes like this:

Pathetic Hotel.. including their rooms, room service, check in (waited for one and half hours), rude employees (including their manager).. overall worst hotel to stay

Room Tip: Please don't opt for this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nandini_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I am never critical and always make the most of my holidays, but after ignoring previous reviews as they are often too picky, I stayed for a month at the Nizmar Resort and immediately regretted it! On arrival, we were told to sit and wait as the 6 people behind reception were dealing with 8 angry customers. We waited an hour, and took another hour 3/4 hour to book in. We were given room 206. The fridge was unstocked and filthy, the tv was 'plugged' in with just the wires, the lamp was hanging off the base with no bulb and no plug, the toilet was leaking badly but we, being us, thought "oh well, lets make the most of it". Unfortunately, it got from bad to worse. The hotel is now used as a conference facility where groups of people came from India. They were usually rowdy (until 2 in the morning sometimes) banging and slamming doors, screaming in the corridor and would not listen when you asked them (politely) to be quiet. The staff didnt want to know, they seemed scared! The pool was clean but the complete row of top tiles were broken and most of the time the filters were not working.

Ignore the pics of this hotel, they must have been taken when the hotel was first built. The outisde is worse than shabby. Our balcony was disgusting with hardly any paintwork left and rusty but worst of all, it looked out onto common ground behind a building that obviously had no toilet and men, women and children alike used the ground as an open public toilet and were rude if you happened to be sitting on the balcony when they wanted to do their business (this didnt stop them). The reception staff and management were ignorant, sometimes rude and useless. Most didnt speak English (or pretended not too, I cant make my mind up). There are so many things that fail this hotel.

Hours after the first breakfast (which I didnt eat), my husband got food poisoning and it was extremely serious. Hours after my first meal there (a week into the holiday), I got food poisoning, both cases lasting a week. Every other British couple there also got food poisoning lasting a week. The breakfast was chronic anyway!

The only things I will say is that the bed was clean and comfortable and the room was large. There were no cockroaches as even they had vacated the premises!

I implore anyone reading this to not just dismiss the review, I honestly am really laid back and have been to Goa many times and loved the charm of basic hotels. a lot of people who were there during our month had also been to the Nizmar before and had loved it and cannot BELIEVE how bad it has gotten.

Room Tip: Do not stay at the rear of the property on the right hand side or by the pool as it is really noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kajube36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Base level Hotel (I cannot rate any STARS for Nizmar).
Pool was good & clean.
Rooms are average. Corridors & Balcony are old & rusty.
Breakfast was Good.
Service is bit SLOW.
HOSPITALITY Level is very basic to poor.
No lifts (each block is 4 floor)

Room Tip: No lifts (each block is 4 floor). Those who cannot or dont want to climb stairs can opt for lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank my_tripgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.8 km away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#34 of 107 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Dona Terezinha
Hotel Dona Terezinha
#84 of 107 in Calangute
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.7 km away
Horizon
Horizon
#28 of 107 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Nazri Resort Hotel
Nazri Resort Hotel
#6 of 25 in Baga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Riverside
Hotel Riverside
#20 of 25 in Baga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.6 km away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#13 of 107 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nizmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nizmar Resort

Property: Nizmar Resort
Address: Naika Vaddo Calangute, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,500 - ₹ 10,000
Hotel Class:3 star — Nizmar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Also Known As:
Nizmar Resort Calangute
Nizmar Hotel Calangute
Nizmar Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing