We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 STAR QUALITY AT 2 STAR PRICES.”
Review of Ocean Palms Goa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Palms Goa
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
merseyside
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“4 STAR QUALITY AT 2 STAR PRICES.”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Hidden away at the end of a small road, just opposite Holiday Road in Calangute, you will find the Ocean Palms Resort Hotel. The hotel has just completed its first season, and I hope I have the good fortune to be able to stay there again as it was a real joy, and a breath of fresh air amongst the old 2 star establishments we all know and have stayed in time and again.
The Ocean Palms styles itself as a 4 star hotel, and knowing Goa standards we were a bit wary of expecting too much, but all our fears were put away when we arrived at this lovely hotel.
The hotel is new, well set out, and very well run. Reception is staffed 24/7 and the staff are very warm and friendly, as are most Goans, nothing is too much trouble.
Upon arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink, and checked in by the reception staff. Our bags had been carried from the bus and delivered straight to our room, so all we had to do take the lift up to our 1st floor room and relax.
There are two styles of rooms at the hotel. We opted for a "basic double" instead of the "suite", and as we were booked through Cosmos, via Monarch Direct, we expected the usual "bog-standard room and toilet" found in many other hotels we have used in the past.
I must say that I was shocked at what we found. The room was absolutely magnificent.
Although we did not have a pool view, or much else to look at, the room was much more than we anticipated, and considering what we paid, we were very happy indeed. The room had floor to ceiling windows on two sides, as it was a corner room, which let the sunshine flood the room with light. This was kept to a cool temperature by the air-conditioning unit, which could freeze a polar bear. There was a fridge in the room with freezer for ice, tea and coffee making facilities, electronic safe-deposit box, iron and ironing board, king-size bed, 42 inch Plasma HDMI tv, and the furnishings were top notch. The room also had bed-side lamps, dressing table lights, and variable mood lighting. The bathroom was very spacious, as was the bedroom, and was fitted out with Italian-style fixtures and fittings. In all, the room deserved its four-star status, as did the rest of the hotel. I looked at the "suite rooms", most of which face the pool and have large balconies and living rooms, I must say that for an extra Tenner-a-night it would have been well worth the upgrade. However, we were very happy with the room we had.
The rooms are cleaned daily, and new bed-linen and towels are available each day if you choose. Room service is provided, at no extra charge, and the standard of the food is very high. Breakfast, which is also included in the room price, is varied and plentiful and caters for the European and Indian palate. The bar and restaurant are spotlessly clean, well staffed, and well managed. This hotel is a real jewel in the crown for Calangute and leaves the others in its wake.
Do yourself a favour and book a suite here, it will cost £20 / night for two of you, the add-ons offered by the other hotels are all included in the room price here, you will save buckets of cash and have a wonderful stay. My only gripe? The pool is a bit too small for me, but we were at the beach all day, so it made no difference.
Try booking direct with the hotel through the web-site, you will get a much better deal, and now that Qatar Airways are flying from Manchester to Goa, via Doha, at very good rates you can have luxury all the way at no extra cost to the normal package deal.

JUST A FEW WORDS OF WARNING:

Street Muggings are on the increase in Calangute and Candolim, and are at an average of 2 - 3 per day. The reps will tell you to beware, but my advice to the ladies is dont carry shoulder bags, or bags with long straps. The thieves race past on motorbikes and hook the bags off your shoulder, sometimes dragging you along the street in doing so, we know because it happened to us. No injuries, or theft, this time but it is very un-nerving when it happens, and its over in seconds. For the young ones, also be warned about sex attacks. These go largely unreported for some strange reason, but are reported on local news on tv, there were a couple reported whilst we were there. If you use a bit of common-sense all should be ok, dont let it put you off.

I am booking my next trip to Goa direct with Ocean Palms, and flying Qatar Airways, and I am counting the "sleeps" until we go back.

Room Tip: Book a Suite, or upgrade as soon as you get there. It should cost an extra tenner per night for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steviebentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanPalmsGoa, Manager at Ocean Palms Goa, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Sir,

Team Ocean Palms thanks you for your valuable comments. We very happy to learn that you appreciated our Product and Services provided. It also stimulates us to do even better on your next visit.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

Anil Singh Rathore
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    216
    45
    13
    21
See reviews for
177
251
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

After a horrible flight with Monarch I was pleased to land get through security at Dabolim and into a taxi. I would recomend getting a taxi rather than the organised transfers as it is much quicker. It only cost 800 rupee approx £10. We arrived at the Oasis palms early approx 9am to be told that there was not room available which was fine as check in is from 2pm however we were told to return in an hour and a room would be ready. We went for a walk to familiarise with our surroundings and came back an hour later. The receptionist informed us that we could change our room the next day if we wanted. The room allocated was fin clean large and bright with a nice bathroom. However there was no balcony. We returned to reception to inform that the room was fine however if there was a room with a balcony available we would prefer that one. We were told to return the next day which we did to be told leave all your belongings in the room and they would be moved to the new room. This was the beginning of the fantastic service received over the two weeks we stayed. The new room was fantastic (233) It was large with a seperate seating area and a nice big balcony overlooking the pool.
The pool was fantastic. It is spotless and quiet there was no fighting for beds which was refreshing.
The hotel breakfasts were great loads of choice there is a large selection of indian breakfast however if this is not for you there is an egg station where you can order eggs any way you want them. Toast and cereal are also available daily.
Drinks are a little more expensive within the hotel compared to the bars. Also the price advertised is not what you pay as a number of taxes are added. However compared to UK prices they are still good value. We used to go to the off licence down the road and purchase drinks that we would have on the balcony before dinner. We couldnt believe the prices compared to the UK.
I visited the spa during my stay this was a nice relaxing experience and good value it is only small however I had no problem booking a treatment as it it was v quiet.
The hotel is approx 5 min walk to the beach just walk to the bottom of holiday street and you are there. There are also some fantastic places to eat down here le jardin, a fantastic thai and Golden eye to name a few. Goldeneye was a particular favourite offering fantastic value and service. The staff were amazing!
We didnt spend much time at this end of town during the day as the beach is not v clean we used to walk 20 mins down the beach to Baga where the beach was much nicer and we are loyal to the Big banana beach shack.
We spent 2 days in the south of goa visiting Palolem, Agonda and Pathem these beaches are beautiful and well worth the visit a taxi cost 3800 rupee (approx £46) for 2 days for four of us.
We usually opt for an all inclusive hotel however I am so happy we chose to go B&B as it provided so much more freedom and this allowed a much more enjoyable holiday.
We will be back to Goa next year.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony as not all rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aj205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

the ocean palms resort in goa is very nice. we found it online via snapdeals.com so we got a good rate. we were in goa on the easter weekend. the weather was terrible, but the review that i'm giving will give you a fair idea about why we survived!!
so the hotel staff is warm and welcoming. the check-in was quick and painless and we had to pay on arrival. the breakfast is inclusive. they have 2 types of rooms, in 2 separate buildings. we did not get to see the rooms in the other building which incidentally was pool facing. parking is sufficient but if the hotel is packed, it would be problematic. but the watchmen are courteous and helpful. bikes are available at 150-200/day. which is pretty damn good!
the rooms are large, spacious, clean sheets, big tv, and a split a/c!! damn good for goa!! the bathroom is good except for the wc, it reacts a bit late and its more silent. so u dont know where everything has gone unless you check again :P thats the only sucky part.
breakfast was excellent! get ur eggs boiled or make an omlette! very fresh breads are available! the breakfast area is spic and span and air conditioned. vegetarian options are indian preparations like poha/upma/uttapams etc. not bad i say!!
overall we had an excellent stay and i recommend this place to all travellers. people with low budgets should stick to other hotels cause this hotel at a regular rate is around 3-4000 in off season and maybe more in december-feb!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnuDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I took a leap of faith and booked this hotel based on reviews here on TripAdvisor. Set back from the street in crowded, noisy Calangute, this hotel is an oasis, with clean, quiet rooms, lovely staff and a nice pool.

Only caveat is that TripAdvisor categorizes the hotel as "on the beach". It's not. The beach is about a 7-minute, easy walk. The hotel does not claim to be on the beach - it's just this site for some reason.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaTo320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2012

its a gr8 hotel..very nicely situated near calangute beach.It was a very pleasant stay over here with my friends.They hav all sorts of facilities available out here..its so peaceful n relaxing out here...with gr8 food..n very friendly service personnel!!they hav different live events like karaoke,instrumentals while dining...dat is vry nice!!A very good place to stay in goa... :))

Room Tip: take a room facing the pool...its a pleasant sight!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altamash21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.7 km away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#9 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.9 km away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
1.3 km away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Azzure By Spree Hotels
Azzure By Spree Hotels
#11 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.1 km away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
2.5 km away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#9 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Goa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Goa

Property: Ocean Palms Goa
Address: Opposite Holiday Street | Gauravaddo, Calangute 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#2 Spa Hotel in Calangute
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
#7 Family Hotel in Calangute
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,007 - ₹ 8,401
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Palms Goa 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With global warming being a key concern, significant investments are being made in green technologies to reduce carbon foot prints across the world. Ocean Palms Goa too is a part of the drive. A 4-star eco-friendly resort, it is located in Calangute. Ocean Palms offers an affordable quality to business and leisure travellers alike. Blending the intimacy of home with modern amenities, the facilities at this child friendly resort include well appointed air-conditioned rooms, conferencing facilities, a swimming pool, a lounge bar, multi-cuisine restaurant, spa, and fitness services. The resort is located in a quite area of the main road. So you can enjoy a peaceful stay; at the same time it is hop-skip-and-jump away from popular tourists spots. Ocean Palms gives guest the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Yatra and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Palms Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Goa Hotel Calangute
Ocean Palms Goa Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing