We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience..!! i'll visit again.!”
Review of Santiago Residency

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calangute
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Santiago Residency
Ranked #82 of 210 Calangute B&B and Inns
Nashik, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Experience..!! i'll visit again.!”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Me and my husband recently stayed at Santiago Residency. The overall experience is really nice. I had done pre-booking so i dint face any problem regarding that. Room was big and attached with a private balcony. There were basic amenities in the room as like A/C , Freeze, TV etc.. Bathroom was clean.

There was a nice swimming pool and we could see that from our balcony.. it was really refreshing experience..
Mr. Taranjit Singh, The owner of the hotel, very friendly and helpful person.
I have forgot my husband's Pan Card over there. . When i reached my place, i was scared .. because a very important document is misplaced . . Then i called Mr. Taranjit Singh, he told me that he will definitely send it to me.. and by tomorrow or the day after tomorrow i will get that..
Really thanks to Mr. Taranjit Singh...


The Calangute and Baga Beaches are on 5 minutes distance only. You can hire a vehicle for sightseeing. This hotel also provide you vehicle on rent for sightseeing.

My total experience was very nice..

I will definitely stay in this hotel whenever i'll visit Goa..!!!!

Room Tip: Choose pool View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priyanka422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    34
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

it was a short trip to Goa with some office colleagues, few of them had really tight budget and then one of team member found this hotel on Facebook (yes they don’t have a website...just one FB page)

we called Hotel got really low rates as compared to most of hotels in baga area of Goa. we transferred 50% of total agreed money into their bank account and kept fingers crossed.

The hotel is almost impossible to find if you don’t know its near subway on baga Calangute road. even after turning from Subway, your hunt doesn’t stop, the hotel is in so narrow lane that even a car cant go there thus you have to walk a bit.

The guys at reception refused to get inside or even see the rooms till the time we make payment of balance 50% amount. well thankfully we were carrying cash (they don’t accept cards).and yes he even insisted that we should keep our original ID proof as security with them.

well Rooms!!! they were not ready at all there were no bed sheets on bed, no towel, no pillow cover. We almost had to beg the reception guy to get everything in place.

well they don’t give you AC remote, so if you are feeling cold call reception, he will come with remote and adjust it, the hotel menu is very small (one page), don’t order anything including tea.

what’s good thing about this hotel is, it’s very close to Baga beach, so if you are among those who need hotel just to take a quick nap and shower, take this hotel and have blast on Goa beaches.

keep the expectation levels far below and you won’t regret in fact you will feel good for saving huge money on room rent.

Room Tip: keep fingers crossed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rashri27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantiagoResidency, Owner at Santiago Residency, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We thank our guest for the kind review. Just to explain on the few points that our esteemed guest has mentioned on his review. First being about our Facebook page. We Think today business is more productive on social networking sites, FB being the most popular, like most entrepreneurs we too have an FB page which gives regular news and updates about our hotel. This page also has the hotel pictures so it gives a fair idea to the guest about the type of rooms and facilities we offer.
The esteemed guest mentioned that they got low rates and therefore booked our hotel. The hotel is located between calangute - baga which is one of the hottest destinations in Goa. We can increase our rates but we would prefer to sell the rooms at economical rates so that our guests can enjoy their holiday in goa at reasonable and affordable rates.
Our guest mentioned that he was asked to deposit 50% of the amount. Most hotel s all over the world now ask for 100% of the amount to be deposited. On our guests request we accepted only 50% of the tariff as against our normal booking procedure.
The next point the guest mentioned was the location of the hotel. When any guest calls to book rooms, we clearly mention that the hotel is not located on the main calangute-baga road . We give the reference point as Subway cause its quite near from there and easy to reach the hotel more like a shortcut. If any guests come with their vehicles we guide them through the other route. We have always sent our helper to subway to guide our guest to the hotel.
The next problem arose when the few from their group dint like the hotel and wanted to cancel the booking. Like all hotels we too have a cancellation policy and we could not refund the amount deposited. The guests were also aware that the balance amount was supposed to be paid before check in like most hotels. So we don’t know why they so much problem with that.
We have clearly mentioned in our emails that our check in time is 11 am. The guest arrived at 8am so definitely the rooms were not ready and the fresh laundry wasn’t available. We understand that they would be tires after their long journey so on their request the rooms was given after only cleaning as they said that the linen could be given later.
Ours is a budget hotel and we have never made any claims of it being anything else. We provide the best service we can as per our capacity. Most of our guests have understood what they are paying for and have been very happy with the services received. We know its very easy to write reviews on a hotel but we think guest also need to consider what they are paying for and follow the rules and regulations of the hotel .
We are here to make your holidays memorable and we will strive to always do that but we also need your cooperation. We thank all our readers and guests who have taken time out to read this review and rest we leave on to them to decide. THANK YOU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I had stayed with my family & friend in between 13june11 to 19 june11.I booked two rooms through clear Trip,At the time of checkinn they had taken my original ID cards as id proof and said they will retured it at the time of check out. They had not filled any registration cards which has surprised me & normally hotels take photo copy of Id proof. My stay was ok rooms facilty was very basic. But the only problem I had faced that they had not returned ny ID cards at time of my check out I also forgot to collect it. while returning back to Delhi I had called to Mr Karan & infomed him that I had forgot to collect my ID , He promissed that he will courier it to address. but I had not recieved it , i reminded him many times but he said he had sent it through post which i had not recieved till now.later they stopped responding to my mails.I think this is not the right way if they are taking any ID proof they should take a photo copy of it & also they dont keep any records of their guest stay, they dont maintain any registration formalities.
Riaz

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank riazul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Rooms werent ready upon check in.food is extremely bad in room service...chicken masala gravy was total watery no masala.a/c not working.No customer service or retaining skills.all in all if u want to ruin ur vacation n spend most f da time waiting for services ur days wil end n ul leave frustrated...if you wana waste your money,though small amount stay at Santiago.cos there are millions other low budget hotels dat will still give you an awesum experience.these guys charge less n prove deyve done a favour on their guests.horrible.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HFerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantiagoResidency, Owner at Santiago Residency, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Dear Readers,

Our Dear Guest had an accident, thing to be worried huh and fell short of cash, they were not in position to pay the bike guy who demanded them to pay for rental as bike would be in garage for 3 days for repairs. we were approached to settle the matter, since we had good rapport with the bike guys he agreed to waive off the rental for 3 days which was INR 600 per day (total INR 1800). Then our esteemed guest departed from the hotel as they had early morning train (mandovi exp to catch) leaving there 2 friends who said they would continue the stay. Total Bike repair was INR 7700 of which we paid INR 2700 to the guy, without knowing our esteemed guests as to whether they will put the money in the account after going to Mumbai. We called up the guest informed them about the INR 2700 paid through our end. However after that the bike guy noticed there was damage to behind indicators as well, so he asked for another INR 300 to be paid. So we paid the total of INR 3000 in front of the friends of our guests who departed. Then we tried to call the guest but if anyone has been to goa they will know that there is always a network problem once the train leaves THIVIM station so we were not able to get in touch with them. We paid the money in front of the guest's friend so expected them to tell their friends the total. Guess that didnt happen. after an hour their friend decided to leave, we didn't charge them anything extra though we had already blocked the rooms. This was another example of how bad our service is we should have actually charged them. Then we were trying to chase our esteemed guest for the payment, so there were all sorts of excuses coming in . . . and we send them repeated reminders on MAILS and SMS telling them about the payment. Finally after 3 months someone thought of making the payment but said they will only make payment of INR 2700, we informed them that the total paid was INR 3000, there was couple of messages exchanged and then we said its fine you can deposit INR 2700.
For all the effort we put in to help the guest , we got is this review as an reward...

We are not saying that we are perfect but certainly what we try to do is have a human approach to every problem rather than business approach.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This was the third time I visited Goa with my friends in 4 years and hell yes I would like to come here over and over again. So is the charm of this place. Ok, so here I am to write a review of a hotel which made our stay so very pleasant that we actually extended our stay for another 3 days to a total of 7 nights and 8 days :) We were a group of 7 friends, yet again to measure the geographical diameter of Goa from North to South. So the day we arrived we met Mr Taranjit Singh Kohli who was the only reason why our stay at this hotel became so very lovely and pleasant. He is an extremely friendly, humble, genuine and an adorable perfect pure gentleman. He was like an elder brother to all of us. Be it any advice on the new places to check out anywhere in Goa or a nice place to dine and wine or about renting any bikes in Goa, he will always guide you to the right places which you will never regret. The hospitality was so heartening that sometimes we felt awkward to disturb him as he was readily available/reachable 24x7. In IT industry terms he was our SPC (single point of contact).. The rooms were spacious, clean and well maintained. The bathroom had both hot and cold water and it was very tidy. The food was affordable but if you don't like the taste then Mr. Kohli can always guide to to the perfect place depending upon your choice. A well maintained swimming pool with the right quantity of chlorine made it a great place for us to chill out.. The hotel is located at 7-8 mins walking distance from the Baga beach yet it is strategically placed in a quite serene environment.
Just came back to Bangalore but the planning for the next trip has already started and whenever it turns out, we are going to book this place again and again for all the future trips. This was a home-away from home experience.. I would highly recommend this place to everyone thinking of visiting to goa.. Stay there for yourself to believe my words..You will not regret it.
Thank you Mr Taranjit Singh Kohli for all your support and hospitality. Expect us Anytime soon :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Addicted_Piyush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.1 km away
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
#23 of 110 in Calangute
390 reviews
9.2 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Keys Ronil Resort
Keys Ronil Resort
#4 of 24 in Baga
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sun Park Resort
Sun Park Resort
#62 of 110 in Calangute
54 reviews
1.5 km away
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
#3 of 110 in Calangute
738 reviews
0.7 km away
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
#19 of 110 in Calangute
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiago Residency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiago Residency

Property: Santiago Residency
Address: Santiago Residency Baga Road | Near Subway, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Santiago Residency Hotel Calangute
Santiago Residency Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing