We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very peaceful and homely experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Severina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Severina
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very peaceful and homely experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for 5 nights and the experience was perfect for us. We longed for a peaceful holiday away from the hustle bustles of city life. This hotel met and exceeded that expectation. It's close to the main road and shops, yet you won't be bothered by sounds of traffic. The beach is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel.
The staff was extremely well behaved and services are excellent. We had ordered a pot of tea in our room and it was served a little late (after 20 mins); the person delivering the tea apologized for the delay and it was not added to our bill. One day the management had organized a get together where all guests were served free snacks and drinks. We met the owner, GM, DGM and other guests. Overall it was an extremely pleasing experience and we would definitely stay there again next time we visit Goa. Highly recommending this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandrani_Dutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmDMelo, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Chandrani_Dutta,

Thank you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Casa Severina. It was wonderful to read your review.

At Casa Severina, our foremost aim is to ensure that our guests are enjoying their stay with us and we are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the facilities that we had offer at the Resort.

All your kind & valuable comments are greatly appreciated & I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Malcolm D' Melo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    192
    29
    6
    6
See reviews for
56
352
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I stayed here for a week when visiting Calangute. Checked in at aam (due to flight times) without any problems. Was shown to one of the special boutique rooms which are just to the side of the main hotel. Room was excellent - clean and comfortable with icy air con on demand. Only gripe was that the neighbours' cockerel was a very early riser, and wanted everyone to know it. I didn't complain though in case it ended up in the cooking pot!

The hotel is just slightly off the main drag so it is relatively quiet and provides an ideal retreat from the cacophony of noise provided by the main road. It's a 5 minute walk away from the beach.

The hotel has a large garden and an outdoor restaurant (ate there once and it was excellent and very reasonably priced.)

Drinks from the mini-bar and the hotel bar were actually cheaper than the beach shacks.

I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The Special Boutique rooms are situated just outside the main hotel building and come with a porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilbodotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmDMelo, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Bilbodotcom,

Thank you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Casa Severina. It was refreshing to read your review.

Following the advice & feedback of some of our guests (which we take very seriously) we had renovated the Standard boutique rooms to bring the standards at par with our other guest rooms. Although categorised as the standard rooms, the rooms are no less luxurious than the others albeit smaller.
The advantages are:
1. Interconnecting option available.
2. Away from main building.
3. Lower cost.
4. These are the only rooms with twin bed option.
5. Porch area for a sit out.

We have priced all our menus at extremely competitive prices to encourage our guests to dine with us as we follow stringent hygiene standards.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the facilities that we had offer at the Resort.

All your kind & valuable comments are greatly appreciated & I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Malcolm D' Melo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Spent 2 weeks at Casa Severina. Checked out on 5th Feb. We stayed in Rm9 on the first floor. It is one of the Deluxe rooms at the front of the hotel. The room looks over the gardens and has a large balcony. We were looked after exceptionally well by all the staff o are professionally led by Mr Johnson. The standard and quality of the service is well above what you woukd expect to pay for. We generally ate outside the hotel but on the occasions when we had dinner at the hotel, the quality and service were very good. We also used the laundry service on several occasions and were impressed with the standard and the price. The rooms are large, well decorated with a/c, ceiling fan and a well stocked mini bar. It's a very private and small hotel with a good mix of guests. The size of the hotel allows the staff to get to know you and they always greet you with a friendly and genuine smile. I can't praise the staff enough. In particular I will single out the most charming bar man and the ever helpful reception staff. Mr Johnson should be very proud of his staff. You get a lot more than you pay for here A 5 star service for a 3 star price. Very comfortable beds. Nice breakfas. Good quaity pool. Free beach towels and bikes. Airport collection and drop off for 1100 rupees e/w. The hotel website is very true to the reality. We have stayed at another nearby hotel in the past. There is no comparison. We will be back in Calengute again and will stay with Casa Severina. Thank you for looking after us so well..PJ...

Room Tip: Upgrade to Deluxe room.It's worth the extra few rupees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmDMelo, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear PJ Hogan,

Thank you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Casa Severina. It was wonderful to read your very detailed review.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the facilities that we had offer at the Resort.

All your kind & valuable comments are greatly appreciated & I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Malcolm D' Melo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I come to Goa at least once a year and visit a number of towns each time, this hotel is one we will revisit though, the service is splendid and make such a difference to the stay. I stay a couple of nights in a 5 star hotel as we spend so much time travelling and this hotel has very few rooms yet plenty of room and a great heated pool and excellent food. It is very close to the town and beach but in a quiet spot somehow. I loved the bar area, some friends came to visit us one evening and we sat in the gardens drinking cocktails - everyone was most impressed. The mini bar prices are as cheap as any supermarket (which is unusual and refreshing) and the food is also very reasonable yet first class, the chefs and staff are polite yet friendly, not off-hand as one finds in so many upmarket hotels. The breakfast rivalled the Lemon Tree and the (Deluxe) room we had was fantastic, a big room, super bed and bathroom with a sit out area overlooking the Gardens where we had tea in the morning and drinks in the evening. They sorted out our onward transport (without a silly hefty surcharge) and really made us feel at home, they mean their motto - Come as guests, leave as Family..
I have recommended it unreservedly to many friends and will return as soon as we go back to Goa, just waiting for the silly visa rule of having to be out of India for 2 months...

Room Tip: For the small extra cost, the deluxe rooms are a must, If you tell the driver it is just off the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We finished our recent visit to Goa with 8 days in the Casa Severina a small 17 roomed boutique Hotel. From arrival we were treated extremely well and all staff were helpful and friendly including the girls on reception who made some calls on my behalf to Dr's and Pharmacies.
We stayed in a Junior Suite overlooking the pool and found the room to be completely suitable for our needs. It had a mini bar which we did use but found the prices to be quite comparable to elsewhere and not hugely inflated as is the norm. We spent a couple of days around the pool as a break from the beach and rather than being bothered by staff all the time, if you wanted anything there is a phone where you can call up the resturant staff.
This fish pond in the middle of the hotel is very calming and fasinating to watch especially when the staff gave us the fish food and were allowed to feed some nights.
We ate breakfast in the hotel every day and also had both lunch and and evening meal in the resturant and all meals were very nice.
I would return to this hotel and recommend others to go as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmDMelo, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear FMR 40,

Thank you for your observations and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Casa Severina. We were most happy to be of service.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the facilities that we had offer at the Resort.

All your kind & valuable comments are greatly appreciated & I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Malcolm D' Melo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.2 km away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#11 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 km away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#5 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.0 km away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#4 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel ibis Styles Goa Calangute
0.8 km away
Azzure By Spree Hotels
Azzure By Spree Hotels
#10 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.6 km away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Severina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Severina

Property: Casa Severina
Address: Senhor Francisco Road, near St. Anthony's Chapel | Gauravaddo-Calangute-Goa, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#11 Family Hotel in Calangute
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,258 - ₹ 9,826
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Severina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Severina is an architectural Endeavour, conforming to the orthodoxy yet refreshing & surreal... An attempt to re-incarnate a lost glory of vernacular heritage, ethos, culture & architecture... that’s Casa Severina for you, a charming boutique retreat in Goa. This Hacienda with all its luxurious trappings is located in Calangute.This unique property is situated on a quiet street away from the clamor... The Casa is not a hotel, it is a gracious residence …an experience.Like a family house... guests are received here as a part of the family.True Goan Art de vive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Booking.com, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Casa Severina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Severina Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing