We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average service, great rates, great location”
Review of Raman Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calangute
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Raman Cottages
Ranked #57 of 112 Hotels in Calangute
new delhi
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average service, great rates, great location”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We were a group of 5, with one of us being a returning visitor. Food and room was ok, service tended on being spotty, but they did all that they were told.
The location is nice, though slightly hard to find, but it's right on the beach, on calangute,that is, which is the most popular beaches

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewDelhiSaurabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    27
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

It is loacted at the Baga road and it is also walking distance to Baga beach. It is a beautiful hotel. It is an ideal place for youngsters to stay at.
The rooms and bathrooms were very spacious. My room overlooked the swimming pool. So were drinking by the pool at midnight. The staff was very helpful and friendly. What ever we asked for, they provided us.
They do not have a free pick up and drop service from the airport.
The shack like restaurant of the hotel is right on the beach where you can play your own music and have a great time.
It is value for money, especially in the off season time when I visited the hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atishay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Raman's is a wonderfully quaint and well maintained place bang in the centre of baga beach , one of goa's most crowded beaches. it has lovely rooms and wonderful friendly staff . its got a small pool. over all aesthetics of the place is lovely .what i like a lot is the spacing of the cottages from each other to enure privacy. you come out of one , and there are trees and sand right outside and it ensures perfect privacy. its quiet and comfortable. the restaurant is closer to the beach. and on the beach they provide sun beds for quests which is perfect because then in goa you dont have to go looking for sun beds oat other shacks. they have a lovely massage corner. a kitchen that functions from 7am -10 pm which is very very homelike..after staying there for a while it was wonderful for me to go into the kitchen myself and hang around with the cooks and see my food cooked. hygiene is good. overall , i think this is my most favorite place to stay in goa to stay at where i can relax, and be looked after by nice people in a great setting , and all in middle of the main stretch where the minute i walk out , there is the hustle bustle and the fun madness associated with goa as well..

Room Tip: the cottages are bigger than the rooms and each cottage is single and spaced out from the other . an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nidhirungta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

It's a great little place nestled between the very busy calangute and equally busy baga. Its a much quiter beach front property and very basic rooms and lovely cottages. The shack on the beach serves breakfast and meals and one can enjoy the sunset from there. A lovely pool. The owner lives on the property and takes special care of almost everything. Not very commercial/ no room service /no phones etc. Do not except servive/plush rooms / etc etc its very basic and thats the whole experience . Loved it.

Room Tip: Beach side rooms have a little sit out which is almost private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indie_traveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

When our taxi guy said Calangute, we weren't prepared to see what we were going to! Calangute isn't the best beach if you want some privacy. But we were stunned to see Raman Cottages as soon as we set foot on its pebbled entrance. One look and we said this is where we want to stay.

Small cottages nestled amidst a hundred palm trees that lead you to the beach without taking away the privacy you want. The shack that hides you just as much as it reveals the beach. They give you sun beds if you want to lie in the stark sun, or you can sip on Goan spirits in the thatched roof shack.

The rooms are basic, but who wants to spend much time watching TV in the room (Apart from the fact that they don't have a TV) when you have the beautiful resort to explore! I suggest take the room with the access to the swimming pool. The evening sit down next tot he pool is just awesome.

The food is fine, they just about get you anything you want. The staff never says No (except when you want a dip in the pool at midnight!) That's another thing we loved about this hotel- the staff. Extremely courteous. If you are young girls traveling, they will take care that you aren't inconvenienced.

The rooms are fairly priced. If you are lucky, you can haggle out some discount as we did!

All in all, a great place to stay in!

Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustPTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.2 km away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#2 of 112 in Calangute
681 reviews
1.2 km away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#45 of 112 in Calangute
111 reviews
0.2 km away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Baga Beach Resort
1.9 km away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#7 of 112 in Calangute
539 reviews
0.2 km away
Little India Beach Cottages
Little India Beach Cottages
#3 of 230 in Calangute
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raman Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raman Cottages

Property: Raman Cottages
Address: Khobrawaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,000 - ₹ 10,000
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Raman Cottages Hotel Calangute
Raman Cottages Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing