We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Ambience/Food/Rooms !!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citrus Goa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Citrus Goa
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Ambience/Food/Rooms !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We (3 guys) stayed here in October '11 for 3 nights in a triple room n got a walk-in rate of Rs 6000 / night including breakfast which was just perfect given dat d rooms were really clean.
We drove down t Goa n hadn't booked a hotel. Checked out a couple of options near Baga beach, Titos lane n den came to Calangute. Dis was d 1st hotel we checked in dis area n loved it.
The room was really spacious. Had a double bed and a single bed n d beds were really clean. The room itself ws nice. Large LCD TV, mini bar, kettle, tea, coffee, electronic safe n d bathroom was also very clean with in house shower, shampoo, etc.
The hotel has a pool table which wasn't upto d standard. Cue sticks were terrible.but we didnt mind coz we didn't use it. D gym looked pretty decent. There is a spa which looked really great but we didn't get time to use it but would have if had the time.
The pool is not very big but good enough for a dip and the pool side bar is really tempting.
The best part was the breakfast. There were ample Indian and western dishes each morning and some of them were lovely. I wouldn't go in detail as the review before mine has done full justice to it.
Didn't try the restaurant for any other meals though.
The hotel doesn't have any parking space in it's premises but has a plot of land just across the road which it uses to park the guest's cars. The watchman at the hotel's gate keeps an eye on them so no worries. He also cleans them after his shift for Rs 100.
Our rooms didnt offer any view but we never cared we weren't looking for one. But there were rooms facing the small lawn in the middle of the hotel.
The room service was great though. Very friendly and prompt.
The only thing we didn't like about the hotel was that they charged us upfront for all 3 nights on the first day. They said it was bcoz they offered us a special price.
The beach, many restaurants n shops are just a few steps away.
To sum it up it was a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anshull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShyamSharma, General Manager at Citrus Goa, responded to this review, 29 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Namaste !!!

Thank you for the sharing this lovely review about your recent stay at Citrus Goa.

I am happy to learn we turned your stay into a memorable experience and that you enjoyed the quality of service and dedication of our team members.

It is our endeavor to provide our guests the very best and we are glad you recognized our efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Shyam Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    373
    89
    24
    28
See reviews for
330
315
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmednagar, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. The location is certainly good, being close to Calangute beach which is crowded but a heaven for water sports. The exterior facade of the hotel doesn't give away the fact that such a pleasant property is hidden behind. The swimming pool is nice enough, the indoor games were a hit with us, especially snooker. The rooms are proper sized, clean and in general awesome. The housekeeping definitely ranks up there with the best. However, the highlight for me was the complimentary breakfast each morning(if included in your package). The spread consisted at least half dozen Indian snacks and similar number of continental ones, including but not limited to lots of cereals, muesli, a number of freshly squeezed juices, smoothies, fresh fruit, croissants, doughnuts, danish pastries, muffins, 3 Indian breakfast items which change everyday, 2 types of sandwiches, baked beans, cold cuts and made-to-order eggs. There weren't less than, say 15 items every morning. The service is also awesome and breakfast poolside just starts your day.
The in-house restaurant is also dandy if you wanna dine there some lazy night. They offer an extensive buffet on most days and a-la-carte menu on the others.
A small niggle (no fault of hotel per-se) was the airport transfers driver who was impossibly rude and threatened for a tip. The hotel said that they hire them through an external agency and that they'd lodge a complaint. But beware if you get a mid-20s driver, tall and always wearing shades, in the name of Mr.Chetan. Your mood could definitely go down.
Two thumbs up for the hotel though !! Would love to go back !!

Room Tip: Try haggling for pool view rooms. Avoid ground floor ones if you can as they don't have any view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deovratk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShyamSharma, General Manager at Citrus Goa, responded to this review, 29 January 2017
Dear Guest,
Namaste !!!
Thank you for an amazing review on TripAdvisor, after your stay at Citrus Goa!

My team and I are enthralled to learn that your stay was wonderful, and you loved the service and appreciated our hospitality. Your compliments for my team have been shared with them, and they are very happy to learn that they were successful in making your stay memorable.

We look forward to setting greater benchmarks on your next stay.

Best regards,
Shyam Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We reached Citrus on 6th February for a 3 nights 4 days stay with family. Strategically speaking, the location of the hotel is fantastic as its very near to the Calangute beach and is in the middle of a big market.We had opted for 3 superior rooms. However, on our arrival we were informed by the staff that our rooms were upgraded to Deluxe (no, we dint ask why:)). We had lunch twice on a a la carte basis and it was pretty decent (except for fish curry - as it had a pungent smell of coconut). The spread for the complimentary buffet breakfast on all the three days was great ( many varieties), loved everything except the sambar ( though just a minor issue:)). Coming to the rooms they were large and tidy accompanied with clean bathrooms. These were cleaned daily on request. Room service was promt 90% of the time (exception -night time after 10.00 PM).View from the balcony was not a matter of concern, as we were out shopping or sihtseeing most of the day. Cab service provided on arrival and departure was good, however, we did experience a small glitch during a city tour arrangement (which was cancelled at the last moment). But, I would suggest you hire taxis from outside, you will get plenty of options near the beach. The swimming pool is good, but yes not very huge.The atmosphere as soon as you enter the hotel is refreshing and they have stuck to their name with that. Overall a very good hotel and we would definately be visiting here again.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the second floor not facing the pool and probably therefore had a very sound sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rm1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShyamSharma, General Manager at Citrus Goa, responded to this review, 29 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Namaste !!!

Thank you for the sharing this lovely review about your recent stay at Citrus Goa.

I am happy to learn we turned your stay into a memorable experience and that you enjoyed the quality of service and dedication of our team members.

It is our endeavor to provide our guests the very best and we are glad you recognized our efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Shyam Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Average rooms, bad smell in the balcony due to most rooms being located near a STP plant. No open space for kids.... no kids pool. I found empty pack of pan masala in my room AFTER room service cleaned it (none of us consume it), and even after pointing it out to staff, it stayed in my room through the duration of my stay. Food is ok.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monprat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShyamSharma, General Manager at Citrus Goa, responded to this review, 29 January 2017
Dear Guest,
Namaste !!!

I appreciate the feedback you have shared about your experience with us. Such feedback helps us to learn better and improvise on our areas of improvement.

I am absolutely disheartened to learn that you were disappointed with your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and mishaps. Thank you once again for highlighting the shortcomings, rest assured our team has been briefed and we are in the process of adopting serious measures to ensure that no guest is inconvenienced.

My team and I take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

We hope you give us a chance to serve you better.

Best regards,
Shyam Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

First look you might be disappointed by what supposedly is a 4 star hotel, because there is no entry space for a car even...but once you enter the hotel and experience the rooms, the friendly staff and the pretty decent a la carte food, it grows on you and we ended having a satisfactory stay.

The positives:

1. The rooms - Pretty spacious, good bathrooms, every room has a balcony, comfortable beds, no complaints about the room as such.

2. Service and staff - Although it took me a while to get checked in, it was because I wanted a specific room. The staff was helpful, smiling and quite prompt with most requests. Our pickups and drops were arranged efficiently too.

3. Facilities and Entertainment - This was probably the let down, considering it being a 4 star hotel. The pool was enjoyable, but it is quite small and if the hotel is full, it could get pretty crowded. There was just one pool table (2 missing balls, very bad cue sticks, no chalk, etc.) and a gym (decently equipped), no carrom, TT etc. The entire hotel campus is pretty small for a 4 star hotel, although its clean and pleasant, it does leave you wanting more.

4. Food - The complimentary breakfast is a decent spread, some items may not taste the best, but the variety on offer makes up for it, and we ended getting quite stuffed every morning. However, the a la carte menu is where the food was really good and tasty. Recommended for sure.

5. Location - If you want to be right in the midst of the happening areas in North Goa, cannot get any better than this. Calangute beach is a 5 minute walk, the main Baga road, party places like Titos (5-10 min drive), eateries like Infantaria (2 min walk) are very close. Easily accessible to Anjuna and Panjim too

Only complaint would be that unlike most hotels i've seen, the cancellation policy seems to be a bit harsh, especially in a busy weekend where the rooms will get enough takers. No point paying 100% cancellation might as well keep the rooms.

All in all, good place for families and groups to stay, especially if you want to be in the thick of the action.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem the same, there are 2 wings, one wing faces the pool and has a slightly bigger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SidShanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShyamSharma, General Manager at Citrus Goa, responded to this review, 29 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Namaste !!!

Thank you so much for such a lovely review.

We're glad to know that our services were delighted. Thank you for sharing your experience at our resort on this forum. We hope to welcome you again it was a pleasure serving you.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Shyam Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.8 km away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#11 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.8 km away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
1.4 km away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#5 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel ibis Styles Goa Calangute
3.8 km away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
2.0 km away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#11 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Goa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Goa

Property: Citrus Goa
Address: Umtavaddo, Calangute 412107, India
Region: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
#6 Family Hotel in Calangute
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,641 - ₹ 30,523
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Goa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your Citrus Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Goa Hotel Calangute
Citrus Goa Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing