We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money”
Review of Calangute Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calangute Grande
Ranked #4 of 205 Calangute B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tiruchirappalli, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed there couple of days back. We booked this hotel online. its certainly not worth the money which you pay. The pics shown in the website is misleading. The rooms are as normal as you get anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SubbuMangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this review, 14 January 2015
Dear Madam/Sir,

We thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your experience on this forum. We are disappointed to learn about your less than perfect experience at Hotel Calangute Grande. Guest reviews always keep us on our toes and we consider them fundamental for our improvement. We hope you would give us another opportunity to welcome you at our hotel and redeem ourselves in your eyes.


Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    166
    53
    10
    8
See reviews for
115
196
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The first impression was bad as the girl at the reception was unfriendly and a bit rude. The second impression was bad too, when we entered the room and realized that it's not as good as was shown in photos on the hotel's website.

Location of Hotel is good. It's near the Calangute beach.Room service and Restaurant were okay. Swimming pool is really small.

Don't rent bike from the guy (Chotu Mechanic) opposite to hotel. He demands extra money when you return bike!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MusafirHunYaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this review, 14 January 2015
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thanks for taking the time, to share your holiday experience at Hotel Calangute Grande on trip advisor & same conveyed to our associates.

We will definitely improve the areas which you have mentioned, next time when you visit calangute grande, you will see the difference.

Sincerely look forward to be at your service once again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Had booked this so called the best suite of the Hotel for my 1st Anniversary for 3 nights, 3 months in advance.Points to take note off when you book this hotel for your stay:
1) The rooms don't have basic facilities like tea/coffee maker.
2) The hotel supplies poor quality toiletries, so kindly carry your soap and shampoo with you.
3) Please don't try the Goan cuisine in the hotel, its below average.I was given an explanation that the cook was on leave so the quality was not good.
4) There is no early check in, so please reach on time only, else you will have to wait.

Had a terrible time sleeping in the bedroom after the entire day at the beach shacks.All the three nights I was just seeing the water dripping from the AC and hearing funny noises from the unit, and no cooling at all.Had to get up in the midnight to wipe the floor besides the bed, as there was a mini pool.Complaining at the reception was of no use, as I got the answer" the technicians have serviced the AC and now all seems ok". This happened twice in my stay, but the AC was never working.Practically all the 3 nights I had a terrible time.Finally on the day of check-out I had to ask the person of the management to come and see the room condition, as the hotel staff was not taking a note of the mess created by the dripping AC. Got inadequate relief in my bills due to this inconvenience caused to me from the management, who earlier were forcing me to pay my entire dues.

Apart from the AC issue and the absence of the basic facilities in the room, this hotel is an "OK" mainly due to close proximity to the beach.

Room Tip: Depends on your luck....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Baindur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this review, 13 January 2015
Dear Sir / Madam,

We thank you for checking in at our hotel and sharing your review on this forum. Though we strive to provide a completely satisfying experience to our guests, we regret the glitches that marred your stop over. We assure you that the experience you had is not typical of what a guest can expect at our resort; testimony of which are the numerous feedbacks shared on this forum. However, we have looked into the incidents mentioned in your review and took corrective measures.

Once again, many thanks for choosing to stay with us. We regret to learn about your less than perfect experience; however, assure you to swap it with fond memories during your next visit.



Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

A decent place with Clean rooms.
Good place for a family vacation.
Very close to the calangute beach.There is a pool which no one uses,but looks clean.
bathrooms are clean, the whole package good value for money!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinayVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this review, 13 January 2015
Dear Sir,

Many thanks, for choosing Hotel Calangute Grande for your stay in GOA, India. Pleased to know that you all enjoyed the stay.

Thanks for taking the time to share your holiday experience at Hotel Calangute Grande on trip advisor;

Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Great hotel, very good services, cordial staff, very hospitable.. felt at home. food in da restraunt is amazing... a pool to drown all ur stress. well maintained rooms. very cosy.. they wl provide u evrything u need like cofee makers,etc.. jst in front is a garage where u can rent bikes to explore goa.. the hotel is strategically located near calungute beach.. Calungute is the hub of activity in goa. nearby are other beaches like baga, candoli,&anjuna.. also there r discos nearby like Mambos & Titos. Overall it was an amazing experience.. look forward at staying here again at my visit next year... Hats off to C.G.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manan184942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalanguteOwner, General Manager at Calangute Grande, responded to this review, 13 January 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for staying with us; have conveyed your holiday experience - uploaded on the trip advisor to all our Associates, who are delighted to be of service to you and thanks for appreciating all other things served you from our end.

We all at Hotel Calangute Grande- Goa, look forward for an opportunity to serve you once again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Savio Mascarenhas
General Manager
Calangute Grande
Calangute- Goa - India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.3 km away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
1.0 km away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#9 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.2 km away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Santiago Beach Resort
Santiago Beach Resort
#21 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.0 km away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
#2 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calangute Grande? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calangute Grande

Property: Calangute Grande
Address: Maddo Vaddo | near poriat football ground, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,873 - ₹ 3,553
Hotel Class:3 star — Calangute Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Calangute Grande. Enjoy Calangute Grande luxury with access to the pristine beaches of Calangute. During your stay you could indulge in water sports, play at the world famous casinos, go fishing or hike in unspoiled natural wilderness. Breathe in the fresh air. Marvel at a sky full of stars. And savor exquisite dining wrapped in panoramic beach views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Yatra, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Calangute Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calangute Grande Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing