We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of repeat visitors and it's easy too see why”
Review of Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle House
Ranked #3 of 210 Calangute B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of repeat visitors and it's easy too see why”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Quiet location for calangute.
Nice people who own and run the place.
Budget rooms but you definitely get what you pay for.
Lots of repeat visitors that stay in excess of a month with creates a really nice vibe in the bar/breakfast area.
Would recommend to anybody who understands value for money - if you want the savoy but the taj at £200 a night.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dale66yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    177
    32
    11
    18
See reviews for
76
183
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I usually stay in some very high end hotels, but decided to join a group of friends on their annual vacation to Goa....so I decided to experience Goa as a local. The Castle House is a little gem and the 'jewel in the crown' is a young man called Suren. Suren will greet you with his 24/7 smile and bobbing head (he even had us doing the Indian 'yes - head wobble' by the end of our stay. The hotel is small, but the rooms are a good size - we had a good sized double bed, with crisp clean sheets every day (some have the odd stain as they are hand washed without bio powders etc, but were always clean and fresh), if you are not happy with a particular sheet/towel just ask and you will be given another. The mattress was very comfortable and the pillows great. There was a large bathroom/wet room which was kept clean every day. A balcony with two plastic chairs and a washing line. AC, Satellite TV with HBO, VH1, Sports and BBC News included, plus a ceiling fan, Electric Mosquito Repellent, Small Fridge and a ceiling fan. The pool at the hotel is small, but kept very clean and never crowded. There is a small bar which is well stocked, but when they didn't have the soft drink I wanted, Suren ran to the local shop and came back not only with my drink, but a Fanta for my daughter. Safety Deposit boxes are free, but you need your own lock and are located in reception and covered by CCTV. The hotel is excellently located within 3 minutes walk to the main road and 10 minutes to the beach. The owner Dev, Manager David and all the staff are wonderful and will arrange taxis ad give advice on eateries and trips etc. The cook is brilliant and the included breakfast is quite extensive including any kind of eggs on toast, Indian Purees, Parathas, Cereal, orange juice, tea or coffee. Tandoori Fridays and Bingo are always a hit and the Chicken Mali was mild and delicious. After a day out, we would order cold drinks and a plate of Onion Pakoras (ask for no chillis or they will be spicy) and take them to our room to enjoy while we showered and got ready for our night out. If you are homesick for a full English head to Corine's Corner (walk up to the Red Lion, turn right at the main road, walk along to the end of the road, turn right towards Neelams The Grand and Corine's is tucked away on the left hand side of the road) Corine does the best black pudding, proper sausages and proper bacon. A real treat.

Go to the Castle House, most guests we met were repeat customers. Dev and his team are excellent and Suren in particular is a star. Nothing is too much for him and he will keep the customers coming back. Well done Castle House and thank you for a great time!!

Room Tip: Take a room on the 1st floor, rather than the ground and get a balcony over looking the quiet lane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PkinDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

what a place this is just close to everything, its located in nice clean quite lane, place has a very nice well equiped bar , an the tandoori on the fridays are uncomparable , we use come come from the beach , take a dip in the pool
go to the room have a nice hot shower ,come back and have a nice chilled beer in the bar , and chat with co travellers perfect place to relax
we would be regulars hear , keep up the good work

Room Tip: all rooms are quite clean a comfortabe
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mady450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My wife & I have just returned from a 2 week stay in goa at Castle House. We both agreed that we were lucky to have found this little jewel compared to some of the other establishments we saw.
The manager Dev & his assistant 'Dave' are very friendly, accomodating & helpful, as were all the staff. From the management down, everyone is always polite & readily available for advice (& a laugh), but never 'in your face'. The rooms were more than adequate for the price, & included air-con, ceiling fan, sattelite tv (reception a bit fuzzy to be fair) & fridge, they are also very quiet. Safe deposit boxes are freely available & situated behind reception, but you'll need to buy (or take) a padlock.
The breakfast is good also, & the cook certainly knows his way around an egg!
As already mentioned by others, the pool is small but very clean, & although it's true there aren't many sun beds, there are 3 or 4 more on the roof of the hotel, albeit you're then away from the pool & bar area then.
We cannot personally comment on the quality of the meals, as we prefer to eat out whilst we're on holiday, however, many of the other guests said that the food was lovely, especially Friday's Tandoori night (with bingo thrown in for good measure!).
The location is another plus point, 5 minutes walk up the lane to the main road where the Red Lion pub is situated on the corner, & 10-15 mins walk to the beach.
Although this was our 1st visit to this hotel, many of the other friendly bunch of guests seemed to know each other from previous repeated visits, which says a lot about how friendly this place is.
All in all we'd give this pleasant little hotel a definate thumbs up. Well done to you all Dev, & thank you for a delightful stay, you are indeed a credit to the hotel trade.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank telecomtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I'd booked 18 nights at Castle House after reading the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and other sites. We arrived and were offered a room on the second floor that was grubby, tired and worn. The sheets and linen were clean as was the bathroom but the room was in desperate need of a lick of paint. We were offered a further room that was no better, and we couldn't see ourselves staying 18 nights at Castle House so found ourselves a guest house for a cheaper price than Castle House but so, so much cleaner and comfortable. On checking out of Castle House the manager did offer us a further room on the top floor, and to be fair this room was in far better condition, but by that point it was too little too late.

I've stayed in 2 star properties in Goa but this is at the bottom end of the scale.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hebburnmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.2 km away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#95 of 113 in Calangute
190 reviews
0.2 km away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 113 in Calangute
972 reviews
1.1 km away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#2 of 113 in Calangute
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#14 of 113 in Calangute
346 reviews
0.3 km away
Horizon
Horizon
#29 of 113 in Calangute
238 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
#3 of 113 in Calangute
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House

Property: Castle House
Address: Lavina Street Opp. Calangute Panchayat | Naikka Vado, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price range (per night): ₹ 900 - ₹ 4,820
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 24 room hotel is small and cozy Budget place 10 minutes walking to the Calangute beach (Calangute - Baga - Candolim is one long beach). Our hotel has a SWIMMING POOL, a BAR and a restaurant that serves Indian, Chinese, continental and Goan seafood. Other places: Anjuna 15 min, Vagator 25 min, Arambol 40 min, clubs discos 10 min, Panjim 20 min, old Goa 30 min, Donapaula 30 min, Saturday night bazaar 15 min, flea market 15 min, Aguada Fort, lighthouse 10 min, Chapora fort 20 min (in taxi/bike). Rooms: we have simple clean rooms with TV, AC, wardrobe fridge, bathroom hot/cold water, sit out/balcony. We also have safe deposit lockers (free use - you need to bring your own lock). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and MakeMyTrip so you can book your Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing