We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There must be better than this.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle House
Ranked #3 of 201 Calangute B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“There must be better than this.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed at this Hotel for a week in January and although it presents itself rather well in the website, it is NOT an Ikea ideal like it's pictures. The whole place if scruffy from the reception where the boys sleep at night, to the back lane where it is situated. We never had a good nights sleep due to the hotel dog being locked out and barking all night. Coupled with hard pillows, hard beds and noise from outside in the lane Great eh?
No one used the pool all week as it just doesn't look right at all and as we had booked what we thought was a two star Hotel through a travel agent I will be complaining to them too, they obviousley don't inspect it. Now , before people say "well it is India" I expect to get what I ask for, pay for and also what I am promised,so looking around the other local hotels where the qualtiy is superior in everyway to the Castle House this Hotel is a con for Package Holiday travellers,and, as the Hotel manager remarks in replies to other reviewers " you get what you pay for" that tells you everything you need to know about this place, so shop around. Sorry my first review is negative but when you have a good time you don;'t really feel the need to put yourself through this. WillI come back.......not on my LIFE !

Room Tip: I saw no good rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Philgretsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    174
    32
    11
    18
See reviews for
76
180
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We had booked this hotel online after reading several good reviews about it. The hotel is quite near Calangute beach (7-10minutes walking) but is located inside an alley so first timers may find it difficult to locate it. We were a group of 4 girls visiting Goa so our first need was a safe hotel with clean rooms. We got a big 4-bedded room on the first floor with a medium sized bathroom. Rooms were clean enough and had spacious closets. This hotel mainly catered to budget travelers mostly student groups. The swimming pool was small but nicely decorated with fairy lights and looked quite nice at night. The restaurant was located right beside the pool. The worst part of the stay at this hotel was the food and the staff. Very little variety of food was available for the free breakfast. The waiters were rude and took a long time to bring our food which was cold and unpalatable by the time they were brought to the table. Another thing is the hotel gates close by 11PM. So if you are planning for enjoying the night life in Goa be prepared to come back and bang the hotel doors in hope of waking the staff who would open the gates for you ! All in all, for the price not a bad place to stay in although the staff should learn a thing or two about how to behave with customers !

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamalika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Rooms very basic, beds extremely hard, rooms quite dark, swimming pool doesn't look too inviting and in the one week we were there, nobody used it......but other than the above, not a bad small complex.
The food reasonable and excellent, and Dev and all the boys very helpful and can't do enough for you.....
Would I go back again, I don't think so, much nicer resorts and beaches than Calangute, but we are in our 60s and this is a personal opinion only.
If you have any questions, please email: DaisyDaydreem@aol.com I am happy to answer them for you.

Room Tip: 2* is 2* in Calangute, I would definitely go for a higher * if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyDaydreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Castle House has not moved with the times, ten years ago the Hotel would have been the Norm but now, when you look around the competition it is Tatty, Grubby dirty and just plain old worn out. The staff are great but the facilities are less that the minimum expected for a Holiday even in India. While all around are tidying up the receptions, bar areas and pools the Castle House has remained in a time warp and as a consequence is turning into a back packers flop house. Harsh words but true. The pool is not inviting and in the two weeks we were there not one soul dared to test the waters, mind you, that may be if you did venture near you could cut your feet badly on the broken tiles at the edges.
As for hygiene and cleanliness, the towels and sheets are changed every day bit are so threadbare and stained it makes no real difference and if you got in from the beach a bit too late forget about the water for a hot shower, it's solar powered do when it's gone it's gone until the sun comes up again.
I'm sorry to say it's just tatty and tired and if it wasn't for the fact an Indian holiday was in full swing we would have been out of it and into another place but they were all full. We would never use this place again although the staff did help us endure it.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms., and they all overlook the pool/bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndianJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devmails, Owner at Castle House, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
we have electricity powered heaters 24 hrs hot water ,
even when power goes , we have high powered genset (even all the aircons run on it )
every room has tv ,fridge , ac hotwater , fresh towels every day,good breakfast
yes our hotel is small , and budgeted , and rustic
i love backpackers, too
i think u expect tooo much , for what u pay ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

we have just arrived back from a 2 week package.
this is the 8th time we have been to goa and we would definitely stay here again. in fact ive just booked 2 flights for next year and have enquired direct about availability and price.
for a 2 star, you can't go wrong. if you leave your key at reception, the towels are changed every day and sheets every other day.
the room we had was spacious with a double bed, wardrobe, shelf unit, bedside cabinets, small table and a couple of chairs.
the bathroom is the usual wetroom type and the water was always hot.
what i did find unusual, but in a good way, was that the air-con, sat tv and fridge were all inc.
breakfast is served to you, you choose from a selection on a menu...not buffet.
to say it is just off the main road in calangute, it is really quiet. while we were there. there was a mixture of people from different countries and an english couple who stayed there for 3mths every yr.
although the pool was only small, it was cleaned every morning and had cleaner put into it every evening. the only downside was that there wasn't much room for sunbeds, so people went out through the day.
we only had a couple of meals, which were really nice and reasonably priced...but only because we don't go away to eat in the hotel every night, we like to go out.
the staff were all friendly, although you did sometimes have to go looking for them during the day, because it was so quiet.
the bar/dining area was clean and tidy and there is also a pool table and a laptop on which you can access the internet for 30rps for 30 mins (was a bit slow and temperamental) but again, i dont go away to go on the internet all week.
it's in a good location if you know calangute...tucked away behind the plantain leaf restaurant. if you know where the red lion is, then its down that side street past the colonia braganza and turn left.
we sometimes had a drink when we came in late as well, so they weren't too eager to close the bar, but you couldn't hear any noise from it either.
will definitely stay again

Room Tip: there are only 3 floors inc the ground floor and an easy staircase leading up, that was quite wide a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freshers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.0 km away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#33 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.7 km away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#11 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.4 km away
Santiago Beach Resort
Santiago Beach Resort
#22 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#13 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.8 km away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#18 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
4.6 km away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#37 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House

Property: Castle House
Address: Lavina Street Opp. Calangute Panchayat | Naikka Vado, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,092 - ₹ 3,399
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 24 room hotel is small and cozy Budget place 10 minutes walking to the Calangute beach (Calangute - Baga - Candolim is one long beach). Our hotel has a SWIMMING POOL, a BAR and a restaurant that serves Indian, Chinese, continental and Goan seafood. Other places: Anjuna 15 min, Vagator 25 min, Arambol 40 min, clubs discos 10 min, Panjim 20 min, old Goa 30 min, Donapaula 30 min, Saturday night bazaar 15 min, flea market 15 min, Aguada Fort, lighthouse 10 min, Chapora fort 20 min (in taxi/bike). Rooms: we have simple clean rooms with TV, AC, wardrobe fridge, bathroom hot/cold water, sit out/balcony. We also have safe deposit lockers (free use - you need to bring your own lock). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing