We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalston Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalston Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We were staying for 2 nights in Charleston. Actually I was feeling good even before we started to trip to Goa. I received message from Maria in hotel just after I booked our room through its website and I contacted her anytime I had questions or requests.

She arranged a car and driver as I had requested, we had no problem with the transportation from airport. The driver does speak clear English and he guided some local things along side the way to hotel. The cost for car and driver was Rs3000 for round trip.

We stayed on second floor near the swimming pool. We could see Arabian ocean from our balcony. The room was enough size for two people who spent almost all the time was at beach and bars. Bath room was small and Indian style but we were used to it so there was basically no problem.

The best reason I chose this hotel was its location. You can just go out and lay down on the beach without being bothered by local seller. And you can order any kind of drink from the seaside bar.

We had second dinner and second branch at hotel. Not only the location but also the taste was good. Wine was cheaper than restaurants near center of Calangute.

We strongly recommend you to stay here if you don't mind the Indian style bathroom.
We enjoy a lot! Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayakok2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    263
    66
    12
    15
See reviews for
222
180
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Hello Everyone., I had been to Goa last June for my 1st wedding anniversary and I had stayed at Chalston Beach Resort, Calangute. It was a fantastic experience, Clean rooms with good view. And with very good food. The breakfast offered was excellent with typical Goan food. The people here are warm, and very helpful. . To top it, the owners had a secret pact with my family, and surprised me and my wife with a beautiful cake and bouquet on my anniversary day.. . Thanks for the wonderful time spent here !! Looking forward to come back soon !! Regards
Rohan Prabhu

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan_Prabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Well we did our home work last year and visited the Chalston to see if it was worth booking.
It was right on the beach and had great gardens which encouraged wild bird's butterflies etc so yes that was right up our alley.
Reception staff were keen to show us rooms,we were shown two, both were large with nice bedding WC shower room so we thought yes this was for us.The price included breakfast and so we booked a few months after we got back to the UK.
When we arrived 2nd march in the early hour's we were shown to a small box room we named the broom cupboard,we were both gob smacked,the wife said it ' because I booked it it was my fault ' we would deal with it in the morning.
We were told it would cost another 2500 Rups a day to upgrade,I gave a list of things wrong with our room to help negotiate a better price..no would not budge on the price,and the sink was still hanging of the wall,the toilet still leaked,the shower was still a dribble,the fridge was still dirty,the two blown light bulbs were still the same after we left 13 days later.
Breakfast was an all egg a fair Omelet,scrabbled and then boiled a bread roll butter and jam rotated over three days,coffee was good.
Woken up most nights by inconsiderate clients drinking, shouting and sometimes fighting on balconies,security fearful to say anything.
So our experience of the Chalston means that we will NOT recommend ever.

Room Tip: Spend your money elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cloudedleopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

fantastic place to be quiet and be away from crowd, best service, nice atmosphere and staff also very helpful. clean and neatness. superb ambiance. one and only thing i would like to suggest abt the breakfast provided. if hotel people manage to give some variety in breakfast that will be too good. because eating bread everyday makes your breakfast boring. rest of the things are "the best"

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsj07032012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed here with my wife for 2 nights. It's a great property right on the beach with beautiful grounds and a nice pool.

We booked the sea facing room. Since we had booked the groundfloor (based on recommendations on Trip Advisor), we were unable to actually see the ocean, it didn't have a balcony, and the fact that it was ground floor made it felt less private. In hindsight, I would have either saved my money and gone for a regular room or request a 2nd floor room with a balcony. Room G9 is real nice however; it's on the ground floor right around the corner from the more expensive sea facing rooms and it has a nice little patio.

Onto the room itself, it really is very nice. It has a nice comfy bed, air condition, fan, TV (with Star Network and a few other English language channels), safe, and is nicely decorated. The room is very nice. However, after seeing such nice grounds and the room, we were extremely dissapointed by the bathroom. We found the bathroom to be quite grubby. It had an Indian style shower and in fact, the whole bathroom was wet when we checked in. Even the waste bin had a few inches of water in it. And the toilet never flushed all the way. While the room is what you would expect from a 4 star hotel, the bathroom looked like something you'd find in a cheap budget hotel (except for the fact that there was hot water). Note that there is handsoap but no shampoo.

Breakfast is included and served in the restaurant. It was just okay.

Room Tip: if you don't mind the ground floor, take room G9. It's right around the corner from the more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philly57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
1.5 km away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#11 of 106 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.8 km away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#4 of 106 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
1.9 km away
Acron Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
4.5 km away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
4.1 km away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#4 of 62 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalston Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalston Beach Resort

Property: Chalston Beach Resort
Address: Beach Street , Khobra Vaddo , Calangute | North Goa, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
#7 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,570 - ₹ 6,616
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalston Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalston Beach resort is a family run beach property in Calangute. There are 5 different room categories including standard ac rooms , large ac rooms , deluxe ac rooms , garden cottages as well as beach cottages. All rooms have ac , tv , fridge and a safe deposit box. Rates and tariffs are inclusive of breakfast and taxes. The property also has a beach restaurant , sunbeams by the pool and the sea , a swimming pool all surrounded by lush and extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Chalston Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalston Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing