We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hotel!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Resort Park Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resort Park Avenue
Ranked #88 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Wakefield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Horrible hotel!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

We have been to Goa a number of times, always staying in basic hotels, even staying at the Park Avenue 7 years ago and never had any complaints.
On arrival at the hotel we were kept waiting nearly 2 hours for our room to be cleaned. The room itself was absolutely disgusting, it was infested with ants, cockroaches and something that resembled bed-bugs crawling in our beds. The bedding was dirty and matresses were stained. We were left with no towels on occasions and a couple of times we had no running water. This was along with the hotels infestation of rats. All this was reported to the hotel numerous times with no improvement.
The breakfast consisted of toast, it was so hard I couldn't eat it for the fear of losing my teeth, and coffee or tea which you helped yourself to.
We liked the location of the Park Avenue as its in the middle of all the hustle and bustle, with many shops and restaurants nearby. The beach is a 10 to 15 walk away.
After staying at Park Avenue for 10 days we could take no more as I dare not go into any drawers or wardrobes for the fear of a cockroach greeting me and I coudln't sleep in the bed because of the bugs and therefore checked into the CSM hotel in Baga for the remainder of the holiday which was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracyj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    23
    24
    17
    24
See reviews for
25
25
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
widnes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

We have travelled all over and stayed in some basic hostels,but never anywhere like ths. This was our second time in Goa, so we were not expecting the Hilton ,but even after waiting 30 minutes for the rooms to be cleaned, the smell of the room was awful.Our childrens room was even worse, although in fairness they did change their room eventually. The pillows and matreses were mouldy, sheets and towels were nearly always grubby and smelled greasy, the water from the shower was sometimes brown, and the so called breakfast ( rock hard toast and margerine that smells cheesy) .
On one occasion there was a large dead rat outside the apartment for two days, despite reporting it.
Several items went missing from the rooms ,including some small pieces of jewellery and a ten pound note and to top it all off,on our last day the house boy tried to grope and kiss my 17 year old daughter.
i would not reccomend this hotel to my worst enemy

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bmljmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

i always try to give my honest opinion when i stay in a hotel, so here goes...
because we've been to Goa 7 times now, we know the sort of standards to expect.

on 1st impressions from the front, not very good! but, inside away from the road i was pleasantly surprised.
remember this is 2star Goa, so the facilities are basic.
saying that, there is a bar/restaurant which is reasonably priced and has karaoke on monday and a duo on friday, dont know about any other night.
there are 2 blocks of 3 storeys and 1 block of 2 storey. we had a1st floor poolview in the front block. my son had a room next 2 us, but facing the road. we was ok, but my sons room was very noisey and been baga rd, this went on very late. But he plugged his ipod in and drown the noise out...
our rooms were basic but clean and had wardrobes with plenty of hangers, bedside cabinets and a dresser with mirror and drawers.
when you hand your key in, you are asked if you want it cleaning. you can have it cleaned every day if you want and you only have to ask for clean sheets and towels or extra toilet rolls, no probs. my son had a few ants in his room and been a 1st time teenager in goa, panicked a bit, but i saw reception and a boy was sent up straight away to spray the area and swept it up.
the towels and sheets were not perfect, but they were always clean and i didnt notice any stained mattresses when i made the bed myself.
the bathroom was your usual wetroom type. again, not perfect but it was clean and didnt have mouldy walls or anything. the shower was always hot, but there was only 1 tap in the sink which was always cold.

the pool area only has about 10 sunbeds which have seen better days, but not many stayed around the pool anyway, so you could always get one. the area was kept clean and tidy and the boys cleaned the pool in the morning.

there was a mix of nationalities staying there, russian, danish, indian, english.

the staff were all pleasant and helpful especially Rohan who is constantly smiling!

one thing i wont advise doing is using the laundry service. i have never had a problem in other hotels, but this one i did. it took 3 days and came back in 2 lots and then there was still 4 items missing that we never got back. luckily these were only cheap vests, but they could have been something else. but the manager didn't charge me for any of it and did try to get them back.

t.v. can be hired at 100rps per day and fridges the same, but we was on a package and the fridge was included. but i would always ask at the beginning of the holiday rather than have an unexpected bill at the end.

there is a taxi rank outside and we had a regular driver called Guru, he has a red van is very good.

if this hotel was in candolim, i would stay here again, but unfortunately calangute and especially baga road is getting too busy and noisey for us now.

like i said, you get what you pay for and if it's your 1st time in Goa, you may expect more. but to me its only somewhere to sleep and shower, so as long as its clean, that's the main thing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freshers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

Great deal through Olympic Holiday for this hotel for 3 weeks in April, got there and it was a disaster, the rooms were dirty, mouldy, bed sheets and towels were dirty, matresses stained, filing cabinet for a wardrobe. The only good thing about it were the staff were friendly. I moved rooms three times in total and the rooms were just getting worse, after two days stay at this hotel, I packed my bags and left at 10pm because couldn't take it any longer. Please see a few of the pictures I took.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sharran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

We were shown this hotel by a broker whilst we were standing and figuring out what to do on the Calangute beach road. Since it was off season, the rates were decent and we booked 2 rooms for 3-4 days. The rooms we stayed on the ground floor were decent with a hall and a large bedroom, nothing luxurious, but well kept beds and washrooms, AC and TV in working order. They had a fridge in the room, but was empty and we never bothered to use it. The plus point of the hotel is the swimming pool, which really relaxes you after a long day out. The location of the hotel is great, right next to the Calangute Beach, a few minutes away from the Calangute market, few minutes away from the Baga Beach. For breakfast and food in general try out the Infantaria Restaurant near the hotel...it has amazing Beef Steak Sandwiches and Croquettes. The area has a number of good and cheap hotels as well.

The resort was undergoing some renovation for the peak season which resulted in some mud at places and with rains lashing down, it was a little bad. We did not have any problems with the staff with whatever little chance we had. Only dislike was the morning tea which was horrible.

You will get bikes and cars on hire nearby. Bargaining is the key if you want good rates. Overall a good place and a good stay even though it was during the rainy season, we enjoyed our trip since the rain was kind enough to stay away whenever we decided to go out.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoBhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
1.5 km away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#38 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.9 km away
Resorte de Tio Carmino
Resorte de Tio Carmino
#75 of 110 in Calangute
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.7 km away
Lua Nova Hotel
Lua Nova Hotel
#63 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#86 of 110 in Calangute
3.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.4 km away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#13 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 km away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#34 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Park Avenue? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Park Avenue

Property: Resort Park Avenue
Address: Baga Road, Near Infantaria Bakery | Umtta Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,361 - ₹ 3,501
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Resort Park Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, ClearTrip, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Resort Park Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resorte Park Avenue Hotel Calangute
Resort Park Avenue Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing