We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Coco Shambhala

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bardez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coco Shambhala
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Bardez
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

After spending 3 weeks in Delhi & Rajhastan, arriving at Coco Shambhala was like walking into paradise. Coco Shambhala is so peaceful & serene after the hustle & bustle of India. We stayed here for one week at the beginning of January. Our villa was very tastefully decorated with a fabulous outdoor lounge area & outdoor bathrooms. Giles, Lindsay & his team went to enormous lengths to make our stay as relaxing & enjoyable as possible. Nothing was too much trouble. Our driver Samir was fantastic & contributed greatly to making the week such an enjoyable one.
Rushad is the best kept secret in Goa! His seafood platters are the best we have tasted. A dinner cooked by Rushad is a definite must for anyone staying at Coco Shambhala.

Room Tip: The outdoor spa & outdoor bathrooms were excellent & I thought added to charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed at Coco Shambhala over the New Year period 2011/2012, it is a gem. Photographs nor the website does Coco Shambhala the justice it deserves, it really needs to be visited to appreciate it's true beauty, tranquillity and ambience. Giles and his team were just phenomenal, nothing was ever too much trouble and they always went more than the extra mile to ensure that our stay was simply incredible. The experience of having stayed at Coco Shambhala beats that of any 5 Star accommodation we have stayed in.
We honestly cannot speak highly enough of the personal services of Giles and ALL of his team. Thinking back of our experience will always make us smile...a lot.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amrit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Four of us stayed at Coco Shambhala at the end of November 2011, and were blown away by how good it was.

The only reason I've taken this long to review it was because I'm selfish and I don't really want too many other people finding out about it!

We stayed in the Rohini villa for a week. It's huge and brilliantly designed - massive, comfortable beds, outdoor bathrooms, its own spa pool.

The quality of service here is incredible. Every member of the team bent over backwards to help - from booking the best tables at local restaurants to preparing a special medicinal tea when my wife had a cold. Each villa has its own driver who is on hand whenever and wherever you need him.

It's an unbelievably relaxing place and fantastic value for money.

Basically, if you're coming to Goa and you choose to stay anywhere other than Coco Shambhala, there's something wrong with you. It's a no-brainer.

Congratulations to Giles and the team. We'll definitely be back.

Neil

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quinlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The only way I felt I could rightfully thank Giles and his team for the amazing vacation they made sure we had , was by sharing this with the rest of my fellow travelers. No 5 star hotel I've stayed in yet has ever had this personalized of a service. Each villa got a local phone, chef, driver, cleaning service at our own leisure and the staff was attentive down to the last detail.
The property was incredibly landscaped in a way that both felt spacious and private, but not completely cut off. Gardening was meticulous and the service even better.

The chef listens to your every need and cooks fresh, personalized meals outside the villa as not to disturb. The driver is one of the best we had in India, and was there till the wee hours of the morning with us. Giles was beyond helpful and really took time and passion out of his day to make sure we were ok, never invasive but rather genuinely helpful and passionate about what he does.

We had also been around Goa enough to see other accommodations, and fellow guests who have traveled to Goa many times declared it the best place they have ever stayed in.

Advice is honest, local and non-opportunistic, prices fair, and it truly feels like home. I would stay nowhere else upon return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAljundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We decided to go to Goa for a few days in December. We came across Coco Shambhala's amazing website online, and decided to book the Rohini villa for a week. The website includes beautiful pictures of the property and still didn't do this place justice! It was absolutely breathtaking! The villa was great - with an outdoor living room big enough for a party! Everything was just perfect, from the breakfast each morning, to the bedrooms, outdoor shower, amazing relaxing swimming pool, to the entire staff at Coco Shambhala. Nothing was too much for them! They gave tips on places to visit, dine at, which beaches to see...this list honestly goes on and on. I've honestly never before stayed at a place with such great hospitality. We ended up staying for ten days because we couldn't get ourselves to leave this paradise! I honestly recommend Goa to anyone looking for a funnnn, beautiful, relaxing retreat all in one! And don't even hesitate for a second in booking a villa at Coco shambhala - the best decision we made. We will definitelyyyy be back very soon!! xx

PS - a special thank you to Giles, Lindsay, and the entire team at Coco Shambhala!

Room Tip: All the villas looked perfect - but our favourite was the Rohini! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardez
7.6 km away
Acron Waterfront Resort
32.7 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,900 reviews
2.3 km away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 64 in Candolim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
4.1 km away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 2 in Saligao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.8 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Shambhala? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Shambhala

Property: Coco Shambhala
Address: Patrimonio | Nerul, Bardez 403 114, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bardez
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,000 - ₹ 33,000
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise - escape to one of the world’s top 25 beach villas* and experience your own exclusive slice of paradise. Coco Shambhala is a collection of four private, luxury villas in Goa, where striking architecture meets the romance of the tropics to give you an unforgettable holiday in breathtaking surroundings. *Conde Nast Traveller - Feb 2010 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coco Shambhala Hotel Bardez
Coco Shambhala Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing