We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Views and Great Hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Secret Bed and Breakfast Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Secret Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Leesburg B&B and Inns
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Views and Great Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We spent this past weekend at the Secret with another couple. This was our first trip, but thier second. The first thing you notice when you arrive is the wonderful views, but what you remember when you leave are the wonderful host and hostess. This is not an "upscale city" hotel it is a country home with all the Southern Hospitality you could ever want. Carl and Dianne treat you like family, and breakfast is just like you remember from grandmother's house - eggs, sausage, homemade biscuts and gravy. We laughed so much over breakfast at the wonderful stories from the other guests and from Carl and Dianne. Little River Canyon, was a lovely day trip and we enjoyed just seeing the beauty of this part of Alabama. We left feeling relaxed and refreshed for a return to a more hectic life.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainhomegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    12
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
BirminghamAL
Level Contributor
268 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

This review is older than some but I couldn't help it after reading some of the other negative reviews. My wife and I started our marriage in the Nauticle Cottage five years ago. We could not have asked for a better honeymoon cottage. Yes, the "tree house" is right next door but situated where both we and they felt as if we were totally isolated. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and the jacuzzi wonderful after a long day. We drove there after our wedding and arrived late in the evening and everything was waiting just as they promised. We loved answering the question "where are you going on your honeymoon?" with "the secret!"

We went back last summer for my birthday and stayed in one of the four rooms upstairs in the lodge. By today's standards they are small but very comfortable. The antique bed was comfortable and had a lovely view from the balcony. It was just a short walk to the rooftop pool. Being on top of the mountain gives a view of the stars that is unequaled anywhere around there. In the day time the views are breathtaking for all 360 degrees.

Don't go there if you're looking for all sorts of things to do. I don't know about the lakefront cabin, but the lodge and four cabins are on top of a mountain away from everything. If you're looking for a romantic, comfortable place to "get away from it all," this is it. They have a listing of the resturants that are down the mountain and/or by the river or lake just a short drive away. But remember, you're in the country and not next to a huge city. There is a nice market at the bottom of the mountain and several nice resturants.

The lodge is charming and romantic. The story of how they got the huge lazy suzan into the breakfast area is facinating. Breakfast was wonderful both times and the top of the lazy suzan was stocked with the usual southern fare. It was interesting to see the other couples around the table. Most were happy to be there and enjoying the scenery and hospitality. On both occassions we met people that we doubted would be happy with anything. They give you the combination to the back door so you can get inside to the video library (yes, they have a lot of old tapes).

Diann and Carl are wonderful folks (I posted a picture of her), and they treated us like we were old friends. Some might find this "nosey," but I've always known this as good 'ole Southern hospitality. And, yes, they say a blessing before breakfast -- but I"ve never seen them push their faith on anyone. The picture of the lazy susan was taken from the top of the stairs leading to the four guest rooms.

I saw their advertisement about the "Kissing tree" and love the picture of my wife and I in front of it. They have cute signs they can put out for the appropriate memorable picture. Most people wind up having their picture taken in the huge arm chair in the great room area.

Modern, no -- but they have everything you need be comfortable. Quaint, romantic, quiet, and a step into the past, yes!!!! We both look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveTravelingOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

My boyfriend and live very hectic lives as single working parents!! I am in Marketing/Banking and he is an Engineer.... Both are pretty demanding careers and when you add that I have 2 children and he has 3 ; well the STRESS meter can sometimes can get a little "overbearing".. LOL:)

Anyway.. He surprised me and planned a weekend getaway at "The Secet" this past weekend. All I can say is IT WAS MORE THAN I EVER EXPECTED!!! Diann and Carl are the owners and they went above and beyond what was expected.. We honestly felt like family , but WITH THE PRIVACY.. hahaha*** The scenery was absolutely breathtaking , food was GREAT and the cottages and/or rooms were spotless!!! I fully recommend "The Secret" to anyone looking for that "small piece of heaven on earth" at a reasonable rate!!!!! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kekkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

My husband and I have been staying at the "Secret" Bed and Breakfast for 10 years now. We first visited after viewing the web site and looking for something not too far away for the Fourth of July weekend. The thought of being able to see fire works from the comfort of the lodge seemed appealing. From the bluff you can see fireworks from several cities at once.

We plan to return to the "Secret" this Fourth of July. The innkeepers are wonderful people that we enjoy seeing year after year.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

We felt compelled to write a review after reading some of the bad write-ups people have posted about The Secret Bed and Breakfast!! This is a great place to stay if you are looking for a relaxing place to kick back and enjoy a wonderful view. You will not get this view at the Best Western or Holiday Inn!!! We stayed in The Tree House, which was really cute and fun. It is a bit rustic, but it was clean and exactly the romantic getaway we had in mind. The owners and staff are great people, the breakfast is fantastic and yes you will hear "grace" before the meal. This is the south and most people here would be offended if you did "not" give Thanks!!! We enjoyed a day at the pool, which has a great view of Lake Weiss. The Lodge area is beautiful and filled with antiques and interesting items of interest. We are planning a return visit and will recommend it to our friends.
The architecture of the main house is fantastic. Built in the mid 60s, with a flavor of Frank Loyd Wright. Tongue and groove ceilings, stone fire place and large open areas with lots of glass. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRAFT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
38.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Gadsden
25.4 km away
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
#2 of 7 in Fort Payne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
7.6 km away
Days Inn Of Centre
Days Inn Of Centre
#1 of 2 in Centre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gadsden Hotel & Suites
32.3 km away
Hampton Inn Gadsden
Hampton Inn Gadsden
#3 of 13 in Gadsden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
38.2 km away
Hampton Inn Gadsden / Attalla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Property: The Secret Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Address: 2356 Highway 68 W, Leesburg, AL 35983
Region: United States > Alabama > Leesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Leesburg
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Secret Hotel Leesburg
The Secret b&b Lodge
Secret Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing