We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“As Expected”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Microtel in Gulf Shores on 59 this past weekend for our annual Easter beach trip, a three-night stay. For what we paid, we got exactly what we expected: a queen bed, a bathroom, and a window seat. It's smaller than most hotel rooms, yes, but that's where the "Micro" comes into play. The beds weren't overly comfortable, but we slept well enough.

The staff was pleasant and helpful, and everyone was friendly and chatty anytime we came back to the hotel. We didn't try the continental breakfast (we go to Hazel's Nook for breakfast every morning), but it seemed to consist of cereal, milk, and pre-packaged muffins. The rooms were't exactly spotless, but again, for a budget hotel, they were as expected.

A few warnings: We did have one morning when we were getting ready to leave for breakfast at around 7:30 in the morning, and housekeeping knocked on our door incessantly for about a minute - to clean the room, I assume, since we couldn't think of any other reason they'd be there. If you're not an early riser, I'd suggest putting the "Do Not Disturb" tag on the door the night before. I'd never had hotel staff try to enter the room at such an early hour.

Also, even though we booked a non-smoking room, the hallways (and sometimes our room) smelled pretty strongly of smoke at times, especially when you're coming in from the open air of the beach. If you're sensitive to smoke, I would think twice - there's really no escape from it here. We didn't venture far from our little hallway, but I assume that the smoking rooms are at the other side of the building, allowing it to sort of drift over all the time.

All in all, the hotel was good enough for our purposes. Close enough to both the beach and the Outlets in Foley, and the price was right. The 1-800 number for Microtel was really helpful, too, when I wanted to add another night to my already-booked trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front building, in the main hallway right near the front desk. Smelled like smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRNBDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    299
    280
    123
    98
See reviews for
507
269
54
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waupaca
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We arrived here on March 4th, 2012 and stayed for one week. The reason we chose this motel was because it was centrally located from our friends in the area. This was a real disappointment, as we have stayed at two other Microtel Inns in the last several years and were always happy with them. Our room looked like they had started to redecorate and stopped in the middle of things. There was white paint on the woodwork, all the baseboard had been torn off and it was dirty on that part of the wall board. The carpeting was old and thin and torn thread bare where they had seamed it. The bed was ok and the linens were sometimes white and soft and sometimes grey and stiff. They kept giving us bath matts for hand towels. They didn't clean the toilet bowls and we finally had to leave a note and ask to have the toilet bowl cleaned. The breakfast was very disappointing, according to what we had experienced at the other Microtels where we had stayed. They were constantly out of coffee and someone had to ask them for more before it was refilled. The breakfast selection was not very good and a lot of people walked out and said that they would eat breakfast elsewhere. They never left us fresh drinking cups, nor did they replace the plastic ice bucket liner while we were there. If we needed a drinking cup we had to go down to the breakfast room and get our own. We will not go here again and we won't recommend it to friends. The ladies at the front desk were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Look at a room before you accept it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gulf Shores hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This hotel was gross. Stairwells smell like homeless people. Room was not clean. Hair in the bathroom, toothpaste in the sink. Room smelled bad. Carpet was torn. A/C did not work well at all.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dammom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Horrible Experience. Checked in and went to room to be hit with the smell of vomit before reaching the room. "It was still being cleaned" Front desk sent us to another room. Wireless internet does not work. Rooms have not been taken care of in a very long time. Room was not cleaned 1 night only was offered towels. Grass was not cut and was grown up. Trash and towels in the hall every time I walked out of room. The breakfast was just cereal and toast that was not stocked well. I asked for a refund and was only given $33 off my $300 bill. Will never wast my time with this place again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MStravel2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

i stayed here in february 2011 for 2 weeks. i got a great deal on expedia, about $29 per night. good luck finding that price again. anyway, i was quite happy with the room and the
staff was very nice. the only way i could get internet, was to sit in the lobby with my laptop.
they felt bad about it and gave me a certificate for a free night. so in february 2012, i decided to come back and check it out again. this time i only stayed here for 2 nights. they have a new owner. the rooms are still just as nice and the staff seems friendly enough. but, i did notice that the same internet situation exists. i mentioned to them that there was no signal, so they reset it. i still had none in my room. i walked down the hall with a droid phone using an app that sees if there is a wifi signal available. i had to get almost all the way to the lobby before it found it. i don't know if it is a coincidence, or if they just won't come out and say that the wifi only covers a small area. so if internet is important to you, be prepared to bring your own wireless hotspot or sit in the lobby. my room was in the same building as the front office, just down the hall. maybe the other buildings have better internet?
it's almost next door to a strip mall with a grocery and aji sai japanese restaurant. across the street there is another strip mall with an italian restaurant and a mexican one, as well.
it's about 5 miles north of the ocean. cotton creek golf club is very near by with two eighteen hole courses. the state park golfcourse is within 10 miles.
gulf shores is a nice little town, a little pricey. the traffic isn't too bad, nothing like orlando and other cities farther south. in the winter, it is about 10-15 degrees cooler than orlando.
i would stay here again.

Room Tip: not sure about pets, one of the other reviews mentioned barking dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hitthepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
5.1 km away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
2.8 km away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
1.7 km away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
5.3 km away
Lewiston Hall
Lewiston Hall
#14 of 24 in Gulf Shores
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
Address: 3600 Gulf Shores Pkwy, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-2720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,184 - ₹ 15,682
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Microtel Inn & Suites Gulf Shores, Alabama. With our beautiful 'sugar white' beaches and emerald green waters just 3 miles to the sugar white sand beaches of Gulf Shores. We are conveniently located on Highway 59. This allows us easy access to both Interstate's I-10 and I-65 and major metropolitan cities, Mobile and Pensacola. Situated in the heart of uptown Gulf Shores, you will find us adjacent to Colonial Pinnacle's shopping & dining development and Craft Farms award-winning Arnold Palmer signature golf courses & spa. World famous Lucy Buffett's Lulu's is just down the road, where live music, good food and panoramic marina views allow you to sample some of our unpretentious deep-south culture. All of our guest rooms are non smoking. We offer quality budget accommodations in Gulf Shores. Add that to our fitness room, renovated outdoor pool, free continental breakfast, free WiFi, free parking (plenty of room for busses)great location to Gulf Shores, Foley and Orange Beach Sports Complexes you will know why we are a popular spot! Sorry no pets allowed. Service animals are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Gulf Shores
Microtel Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Microtel Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing