We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“nice rooms, but still no wifi a yr later...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Terre Haute
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice rooms, but still no wifi a yr later...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

i stayed here in february 2011 for 2 weeks. i got a great deal on expedia, about $29 per night. good luck finding that price again. anyway, i was quite happy with the room and the
staff was very nice. the only way i could get internet, was to sit in the lobby with my laptop.
they felt bad about it and gave me a certificate for a free night. so in february 2012, i decided to come back and check it out again. this time i only stayed here for 2 nights. they have a new owner. the rooms are still just as nice and the staff seems friendly enough. but, i did notice that the same internet situation exists. i mentioned to them that there was no signal, so they reset it. i still had none in my room. i walked down the hall with a droid phone using an app that sees if there is a wifi signal available. i had to get almost all the way to the lobby before it found it. i don't know if it is a coincidence, or if they just won't come out and say that the wifi only covers a small area. so if internet is important to you, be prepared to bring your own wireless hotspot or sit in the lobby. my room was in the same building as the front office, just down the hall. maybe the other buildings have better internet?
it's almost next door to a strip mall with a grocery and aji sai japanese restaurant. across the street there is another strip mall with an italian restaurant and a mexican one, as well.
it's about 5 miles north of the ocean. cotton creek golf club is very near by with two eighteen hole courses. the state park golfcourse is within 10 miles.
gulf shores is a nice little town, a little pricey. the traffic isn't too bad, nothing like orlando and other cities farther south. in the winter, it is about 10-15 degrees cooler than orlando.
i would stay here again.

Room Tip: not sure about pets, one of the other reviews mentioned barking dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hitthepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    276
    263
    116
    89
See reviews for
461
255
51
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed her for a night and the room was okay for they price I paid. There was a long black hair on the clean towels, ewww.... Also, that night me and my husband could hear people stomping and arguing down the hall and dogs barking. Breakfast wasnt too bad, just the regular packaged breakfast foods. I would stay here again if I couldn't find anything elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Fairly new, very clean property. Staff is very helpful and attentive to special requests. Rooms are very quiet and comfortable, a bit small but not cramped; you wouldn't spend all day in the room anyway, being near the beach and all. Very convenient to several well-known restaurants such as the Oyster House, LuLu's, Lambert's and Hazel's; just north of the Intracoastal 5 minutes from the beach. Most listings show no breakfast, but they do include a small continental style breakfast. Off-season rates are lower than most other nearby properties and a very good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdennys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

My family (myself, my husband, and 4 year old daughter) had a really nice stay at the hotel. We stayed 3 nights / 4 days. The hotel was clean, the employees were courteous and eager to assist us. No complaints. We plan on coming back to Gulf Shores next year and this will definitely be where we are staying.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrero, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I must admit, after reading some of the reviews about this place, I was rather worried. I figured I'd bite the bullet and stay, considering it was just for one night. After staying here, I actually felt that I had to write a review to discredit some of the other reviews on this website. If you're expecting a Hilton or the Palms, well then spend some more money and go elsewhere. However, if you're looking for a decent place for a good night's sleep while on a budget, then by all means, stay here. As I walked into my room, the phone rang and it was the front desk checking to see if I was doing alright. I've never experienced that, even at five star hotels. The front desk girls (I think it was Kara and Maggie? or maybe it was Molly...) were phenomenal. The towels were folded in nifty little designs, which was rather unexpected for a two-star budget hotel. The room was clean and well stocked, and breakfast was basic, but not bad. Breakfast was certainly better than some other places I've stayed in. WiFi was reliable, and the TV channel selection was alright. If there was anything to complain about.... well, the TV's were the old CRTs, but really, for sixty dollars a night, that's just getting nit-picky. Great Job, Microtel, you certainly didn't disappoint.

Room Tip: Ask for the second building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pilotman151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
2.8 km away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
5.1 km away
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
1.8 km away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
5.3 km away
Lewiston Hall
Lewiston Hall
#14 of 24 in Gulf Shores
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
Address: 3600 Gulf Shores Parkway, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,234 - ₹ 12,837
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Microtel Inn & Suites Gulf Shores, Alabama. With our beautiful 'sugar white' beaches and emerald green waters just 3 miles to the sugar white sand beaches of Gulf Shores. We are conveniently located on Highway 59. This allows us easy access to both Interstate's I-10 and I-65 and major metropolitan cities, Mobile and Pensacola. Situated in the heart of uptown Gulf Shores, you will find us adjacent to Colonial Pinnacle's shopping & dining development and Craft Farms award-winning Arnold Palmer signature golf courses & spa. World famous Lucy Buffett's Lulu's is just down the road, where live music, good food and panoramic marina views allow you to sample some of our unpretentious deep-south culture. All of our guest rooms are non smoking. We offer quality budget accommodations in Gulf Shores. Add that to our fitness room, renovated outdoor pool, free continental breakfast, free WiFi, free parking (plenty of room for busses)great location to Gulf Shores, Foley and Orange Beach Sports Complexes you will know why we are a popular spot! Sorry no pets allowed. Service animals are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Gulf Shores
Microtel Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Microtel Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing