We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean on the inside”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Decatur
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This budget hotel is located about four miles west of I-65 off Exit 334 on the south side of the highway.

The Good: The room was clean and comfortable which was all I really cared about and it was fine for the price, for one night. The front desk staff was pleasant though a couple of times I had to ring the bell to get in because the door was locked. The floor, bed, and bathroom had been refurbished and the hot shower spray was strong..There are plenty of places to eat nearby. It was reasonably quiet.

The Bad: The furnishings need an upgrade. The nightstand, television cabinet/w drawers and desk/w chair were old. The room needed to be repainted. The outside looks like you could film Walking Dead stock footage around it. It has an air not so much of neglect as desertion. Vending machines were empty but ice machine worked. Pool was covered over. There's a nice gazebo on the back. No coffee in the room or in the reception area.

Bottom line: you won't find a mint on your pillow but you won't find bugs, either. Inside was much cleaner than the outside. If you just want a place to sleep for the night and a shower in the morning at a decent rate this will be fine. This could actually be an attractive property with a little effort. I had the sense that the folks running it --- who were certainly nice and competent --- were more caretakers than managers.

Room Tip: Ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoeVH1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2016

Stayed for a night while doing summer road trip. I only stayed at this location because I was doing a ChoiceHotel promotion. The room rate was good and my expectations were not high. Room was half renovated. Flooring had been changed, bathroom re-tiled, flat screen TV, and mattresses replaced. It appeared that they were still fixing the walls and they needed to be repainted.

The Good:
Rate was low, $60. Beds were comfortable, and room was fairly clean.

The Bad:
Room renovation wasn't complete. Breakfast was almost non-existent. When we went to the "breakfast room" - small room next to the office with no air conditioning, there was one wrapped pastry, a loaf of bread, two types of cereal, and some oranges and apples. Again my expectations were low and at first sight this is fairly normal for a continental breakfast at a budget hotel. However, the fruit was really old. I am talking apples that are wrinkled and soft. The oranges were hard and dried up. Given that it was about 90 degrees in there, the old fruit, there was no way were eating anything!

They also messed up my Choice Privileges account. I booked the room using the Choice app, just as I have done for my other Choice hotel stays. For some unknown reason, they decided to edit my reservation and change my email address. This caused the stay to not be credited to my account and thus jeopardize the promotion I was working towards. It took me several phone calls and a couple of hours of my time over a course of a week to get it fixed.

Bottom Line:
If you need a cheap nights sleep, then it is okay for that.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MTLotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

I was traveling thru the area for work and stayed for one night. The sign says the rooms have been remodeled which I would say they have been half remodeled. They took out the carpet and put in laminate and they retiled the bathroom. The microwave, fridge and tv look newer and they have a nice alarm clock with usb outputs and two plug ins on it which is nice so your not moving furniture to get to an outlet. The sheets are clean and the bed was comfortable. Furniture is older and the only other thing is check out is at 10am.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank Derrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Everything worked, rooms were clean, staff was friendly, the place was a little run down, just old. Don't expect anything from the breakfast. Cerial, juice, and coffee. It is centrally located to get to things in Decatur.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank msmick57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Read reviews on trip advisor and decided to stop and look at room before paying. Room had been updated and laminate flooring instead of carpet. We ask for non-smoking room and it smelled nice and clean. It was a decent room at a decent price. We would stay again

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Retiredgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Decatur hotels
3 km away
La Quinta Inn Decatur
La Quinta Inn Decatur
#10 of 19 in Decatur
307 reviews
4.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
5.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 19 in Decatur
95 reviews
6.1 km away
Best Western River City Hotel
5.2 km away
Hampton Inn Decatur
Hampton Inn Decatur
#1 of 19 in Decatur
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1317 Point Mallard Pkwy SE, Decatur, AL 35601-6542 (Formerly Parkway Inn and Suites)
Region: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range: ₹ 3,663 - ₹ 4,627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing