We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your reservation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Manibu Recife
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Recife
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Although this seems a nice hotel, in a back street but near lots of restaurants, we did see only the lobby as our secured reservation - made bij TUI, one of the biggest touroperators in Europe with its own airline - got inadvertently and totally lost. The hotel was full and we had to wait two hours to get a transfer to Atlante Plaza, in fact a better hotel.
So: check and recheck!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanderva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recifehostess, General Manager at Hotel Manibu Recife, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

We thank you for the kind comments about our hotel. In fact the hotel is very well located, only one block far from the seafront of the Boa Viagem beach. Besides our location is plenty of many restaurants. Unfortunately you arrived at the hotel without reservation and so we could not accommodate you because we were fully booked on that date. We look forward to having you as our guest in a near future, so we will be able to offer our structure and services fully. The circumstances (waiting for a transfer to another hotel) did not allow a better judgment about our hotel.
Sincerely,
Milda Matos Kruger
General Manager
Best Western Manibu Recife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2010

The company I work for just recently started its operation in this part of Brazil so we were sending people over constantly for the past two months. We have tried more then a dozen hotels in Recife and I can say that they all follow the city standards: dirty and not well maintained. The Best Western is a good choice in comparison to the rest of the business hotels in Recife but I do have to warn you: the rooms are really small, the water smells really bad (bleach or something) and there is just too much noise in the streets, so you may want to ask for a room facing the back of the hotel. Apart from that, since the hotel is new, is one of the best we could find. As you may know, Recife is not a safe place to walk around and I must say that around this hotel is specially unsafe. You will be at the end of Boa Viagem beach, which is the beginning of the slum neighborhood. Be careful not to wonder around at night on your feet. Good place to eat: "Espetus" BBQ. Excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Antonio-ASJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recifehostess, Gerente geral at Hotel Manibu Recife, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2010

With reference to the hotel size rooms, we would like to inform you that there are standard and luxury rooms. The last ones are very large with two double beds with a little amount added in its price. The standard rooms are about 15 m2 which is a very common size for the hotels like this, a Best Western international hotel chain with top quality assessment every year since the opening, 1994 . All room pictures can be seen at our web page as they realy are. It means that no surprise should be expected if the guests look at our home page. The hotel surrounding is a quite good area for living and shopping. Besides it is plenty of restaurants at walking distance. Nevertheless we like to advise our clients that some aditional care is adviseable for their personal belongings, as they should have take if they were in any big city, anywere in the world.
Indeed, there is no guest complaint about safe on going walking nearby for quite long time.
A very good water quality is provided to the guests. For your information, some guests may feel the chloride smell which is due to the quantity of chloride added to the water, request by the state regulation.

I am glad to understand that the remaining aspects of the guest stay were all right.


Sincerely,

Milda Matos Kruger
General Manager
Best Western Manibu Recife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

There are very few hotels in Recife but we stayed at the Best Western close to Boa Viagem beach and it was a good choice, clean, well managed, good breakfast, roof top swimming pool and just a 5 minute walk from the beach and several good restaurants. Very little English is spoken so make sure you bring your Portugese phrase book. The beach is beautiful but it is not advisable to swim as there have been many shark incidents. The city centre is rough, noisy and poorly maintained but the Casa Cultura is worth a visit. The old city of Olinda is also worth a visit with interesting churches, architecture and shops selling local arts and crafts. I wouldn't advise hiring a car as the traffic is a bit chaotic and they drive very fast. Taxis are good but always ask what the fare will be before setting out on your journey. Buses are also reliable and worth getting to konw the system.The poor conditions some people live in are distressing and we saw several people sleeping rough and scavenging through bins and skips and you are never far from a slum 'favela'.

2  Thank ellenf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recifehostess, Manager at Hotel Manibu Recife, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2010

Dear Guest,

Let me start by thanking you for the TripAdvisor comment regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at +55 81 30842811.

Again, thanks for taking the time and I hope to receive you soon again.

Sincerely,

Milda Kruger
General Manager
Best Western Manibu Recife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

The room was clean and no frills---very, very basic. The staff were friendly. The food was okay--there's a buffet that also serves off the menu. They have room service, but there were some communication issues since I didn't speak Portuguese.

There were signs posted all over the hotel about watching your valuables, I had no problems. This is not a happening area at night, but it's just blocks from the beach and a nice walk during the day.

The hallways were dark, there aren't very light or airy spaces. The pool was rooftop, it was okay and there was a bar up there.

I was surprised at the cost, compared to other Brazilian hotels especially with how basic the room was. I would recommend this hotel if you are not looking for luxury, just someplace to sleep, especially if you want to be near the beach.

This is not near the Dutch colonial area, but there is a tour that the front desk can arrange. The tour was excellent, I wish I remembered the name of the company. I paid a little extra for English, but it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShutterbugTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mildakruger, General Manager at Hotel Manibu Recife, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Good Morning,

We really appreciate to receive reviews from our guests and help other travellers.

We hope to have again the opportunity to serve the Chicago guest.

Regards,

Milda Matos Kruger
BEST WESTERN Manibu Recife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 10 October 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
recifehostess, Gerente geral at Hotel Manibu Recife, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Recife hotels
Recife Praia Hotel
#17 of 56 in Recife
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pina
Nobile Suites Executive
Boa Viagem
Mar Hotel Conventions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manibu Recife? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manibu Recife

Address: Avenida Conselheiro Aguiar 919, Recife, State of Pernambuco 51011-031, Brazil (Formerly Best Western Manibu Recife)
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Recife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Recife
#3 Green Hotel in Recife
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Recife
#6 Romantic Hotel in Recife
#8 Business Hotel in Recife
Price Range: ₹ 3,683 - ₹ 5,807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manibu Recife 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and bright rooms have tiled floors, box spring beds, air conditioning, cable TV, minibar, safe, pillow menu: goose feather or polyester fiber with silicone touch and some apartments have a partial view of the sea. The bathrooms are equipped with showers with temperature control of water, magnifying mirror, hair dryer, fluffy towels, shampoo, soap and shower cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Manibu Recife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Recife
Recife Best Western
Hotel Manibu Recife Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing