We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food at a price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zaranj

Zaranj
Ranked #89 of 4,150 Restaurants in Kolkata
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food at a price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Every dish we tried was great, however if you like a little spice, try the Chicken Baroodi. Worth a return visit for this dish!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CZaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    45
    19
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“great ideas, less great production”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

chicken kabab was undercooked (pink in the middle) -- not acceptable; biriyani was very good; rest of the meal good but nothing out of the ordinary

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank diasporic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Terrific food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

This was our most expensive restaurant in Calcutta and it was easily the best: superb Indian food, chaming service, a stunning room. We really enjoyed it. And only a few moments walk from the Fairlawn, where we stayed.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank MrBridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
150 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Good ambience and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

This is yet another very good Kolkata restaurant that has been around for a while. The service and ambience are great as always. The only thing I noticed this time was that menu does not offer much by way of low calorie options - and when asked about this, the steward's puzzled smile suggested they don't get that question very often!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arigho57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Excellent Ambience and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We were recommended by some local people to eat at Zaranj. The dining hall is kind of posh. Spacious with very high ceilings. soothing waterfalls and plants, the ambience is conducive for a pleasant evening dinner or entertaining.

The service was excellent and the food delicious. What more can I ask? I shall certainly dine here again when I next visit Kolkata.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank shanti288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zaranj also viewed

Kolkata, West Bengal
Kolkata, West Bengal
 
Kolkata, West Bengal
 

Been to Zaranj? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing