We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indian and Chinese”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar-B-Q

Bar-B-Q
Ranked #6 of 4,164 Restaurants in Kolkata
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kolkata
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Indian and Chinese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Sounds odd, but Park street has a lot of different and interesting restaurant fronts, from Moulin Rouge to Oasis Tapas... But none of them are what they say. They are all pretty much Indian and Chinese. Go figure.

The food was simple, and fine.

I had Wonton Soup (condensed) and some spicy chicken balls. I had the runs the next day, but hey, in Kolkata its hard to assume it was the food exactly. In short, I'd try it again without fear of getting sick. But this was not what I'd call special. Just typical.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoanInBengal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    414
    101
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Should get a michlien star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Its the best place i have ever eaten.i go there twice a month inspite of so many other good restaurent in town.as if i am addicted to it.never mind the quese.i miss it when i go out of kolkata. So good it is.the chinese salad,red pepper babycorn,chilly garlic noodle are best in the world.its an institution.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh69agarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You will like this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Lovely food, beautiful laid out space, contemporary decor, excellent staff. I love the Chinese section, Flavours of China, more, that's a personal choice though. The quality and quantity of food is excellent.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank himadrimondal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Oh yeah!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Great food, great service, decent prices - this is a great restaurant in the Park Street area.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank mimi1125427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“BAR b QUEUE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This was our second visit (both for Dinner on weekdays) and the number of people waiting for a table was huge and then the aptness of the name hit me - you do indeed need to queue up if you want to eat at this joint !! (Unless of course you are a regular and the Maitre'd recognizes you)

We had rung up earlier in the day and had asked for a table from 9 PM onwards. However, we were informed that the Restaurant does not accept such a late booking time and that we needed to come in latest by 8:30 PM, which we did.

Mr Stevens, ensured that the ladies were seated while our table was set up and our entire party of 10 was seated soon enough.

Maanav was helpful and advised us on the Menu and took our orders efficiently.

Pros / Cons - North Indian and Chinese (albeit "Punjabi Chinese") cuisine offered, seating capacity ~ 250, Chinese dishes portions are huge, conveniently located on Park Street, reasonably priced.
Hugely popular (= huge crowds / wait-list), tends to be very very noisy (= people having a good time?)

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wont2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar-B-Q also viewed

Kolkata, West Bengal
Kolkata, West Bengal
 
Kolkata, West Bengal
Kolkata, West Bengal
 

Been to Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing