We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I will never stay in this hotel again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Palace Hotel
Ranked #94 of 214 Hotels in Kolkata
mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I will never stay in this hotel again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

we have book this hotel for five days. the have booked the hotel through the travell agent. the staff at reception were very arrogent. very dirty. ac does not cool the room. i will advice you all to keep away your self from this hotel. i have seen some of the my friends holel ad that time were better than this and charging approximately half of this. the lacation of the hotel is also not good. it is far from airport and howrah railway station.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dubeyMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
5
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2008

We found the staff to be very friendly and pleasant to deal with, from the guys at the reception to the hotel boys. The location is pretty good and for the price paid (2500/night, we asked for a discount) we were happy.

Having read the previous reviews on Tripadvisor, we were expecting the room to be quite dirty. And it was, somewhat. So we simply asked the staff to change the sheets and clean the floors and the toilet. They were happy to do this and it was no issue at all.
Of course, it is a budget hotel in India, so the place is definately a bit run down. But for 2500 in a major city, you cannot expect pristine conditions.

The breakfast included is okay, and the staff got up to punctually serve us fresh omelette at 5.25 am when we were catching an early flight out, which we really appreciated.

Next time in Calcutta, we may try to find a place that is located on Park Street, since that's nearer to the best restaurants, bars etc. But if we can't find anything cheap-ish there, we'll return to Park Palace Hotel. We enjoyed our stay there.

And, the restaurant next doors is really great. It is not related to the hotel but try it out!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, good price
  • Disliked — The tv was small and the picture unclear
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2008

I had originally booked myself to stay in this hotel for a longer period but made up my mind to move out after just one night as soon as I entered my room for the very first time. The hotel is definitely not a two star, right from the shady entrance to the quality of the room and its amenities, everything is in a really bad condition. The light switches are old maybe belonging to the 60s, the air conditioner is a 70s model too, the tv's an old 14 inch from the early 90s and so is the rest of the furniture in the room. The bathroom's the worst i have ever seen in every respect. The staff is rude and the night was a disaster with the hotel staff deciding to clean the place in the middle of the night. The walls of the room are really thin and as a result there was terrible noise coming of their shouting and slamming room doors the whole night. All in all a terrible experience right from check in to check out. I wouldn't recommend this hotel at its current price to anyone.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — the room and in its interiors
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
4 Thank traveldigger89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata hotels

Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2007

I stayed at the Park Palace Hotel for a month in November 2007 while in Kolkata for business.

Park Palace is right on the shopping street of Gariahat Road - literally one minute from the upscale apartment store 'Pantools' and close to a wide range of restaurants. Two very good restaurants with no connection to the hotel are in the same complex . The hotel’s own room service restaurant was also relatively cheap and had some nice food.

My room was in good condition with three hotel employees cleaning my room every day.The room was very spacious containing a bedroom, a bathroom and a separate section with chairs and a table. All in tasteful designs. Located at the fifth floor (the hotel only has rooms on 4th and 5th floor) the room was quiet.

The staff was very friendly and service minded - right from the cleaners to the receptionists. I would definitely stay there again. Of course it is not the Hyatt. But it is fairly close. And that’s for one-tenth of the price. Recommended very highly indeed.

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere - spacious rooms
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OlivierTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2007

This hotel was a hovel. It is dirty beyond belief. The pictures I have do not do the dirt justice, only in the light can you see how bad it is.

The bottom sheet was a single sheet on a queen sized bed and didn't cover the mattress. The walls, sheets, pillows, eiderdown, floors everything were filthy. If it were cleaned it wouldn't be too bad, but clearly they do not consider it necessary to clean the hotel at all.

Check out the bathroom. You can't see the dirt on the shower curtain, but I made sure I didn't touch it.

We had booked and paid for three night, but left the next day. The only reason we didn't leave immediately was that we were very tired after a long day of traveling and it was late. Sleep in the street, it's cleaner.

Helpful?
9 Thank Melbjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata hotels
2.5 km away
Hotel Royal Garden
Hotel Royal Garden
#93 of 214 in Kolkata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Swagath
Hotel Swagath
#39 of 214 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
3.2 km away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#9 of 214 in Kolkata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Roland Hotel
Roland Hotel
#44 of 214 in Kolkata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Trimoorti
Hotel Trimoorti
#69 of 214 in Kolkata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.7 km away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#137 of 214 in Kolkata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Palace Hotel

Property: Park Palace Hotel
Address: 49/2 Gariahat Road | Singhi Villa, Kolkata 700019, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 214 Hotels in Kolkata
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,955 - ₹ 3,168
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, TravelGuru, Stayzilla, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Park Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Palace
Park Palace Hotel Kolkata, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing