We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent and Pure Holiday

We visited Sundarban with friends and family. Stayed at Houseboat. We were 10 in number and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Companion765554
Family trip to Sunderban with aged parents grown up children and kin.

Visited Sunderbans aboard house boat for a 3 nights trip.Savored the cruise the sights and... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 17 November 2018
Trek41590491300
,
Lucknow, India
Read all 67 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kolkata (Calcutta)
from US$ 84.00
More Info
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
57
8
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
8
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crew members house boat the upper deck mr roy night cruise tiger paw tour manager life jackets who loves nature days trip evening snacks aloo memorable tour monitor lizards star hotel the royal bengal tiger bucket list
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018

I have no words to describe this one day experience. simply amazing . memorable .the staff was extremely polite and helpful and courteous. its a must stay. the cook is awsum. and takes care of your food requirements exactly the way you want. the rooms and toilets are extremely clean and comfortable. the captain tried his best to make us see the tiger but in vain. will definetly go back.highly recommend the houseboat stay.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank rockyold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

This is one of those rare occasions when you get what you are promised - excellent crew, excellent guide, excellent food and unbelievable accommodation considering it is a small vessel that we were staying in. Although we were two too many, they arranged extra mattresses and put us up on the deck making us as comfortable as possible. All of our whims were honoured with smiles and they offered a few pleasant surprises as well. It seems too expensive, but when you look at the level of service and cleanliness - the other boats generally are at best satisfactory, particularly the toilets - the amount makes sense. The only thing is that they do not take you into the extreme interiors - and they do not promise to do so - but they have a great record of animal sightings. We did not see much, but we were still quite happy because we were looking for relaxation, fun and quality time, and the crew made all that possible. Highly recommended if you are looking for a good time on a boat.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Siddharthabiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

We had a great time at the houseboat. The overall hospitality, cleanliness and experience of the whole tour was excellent.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank ParthC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

We booked the whole boat for 13 friends. We were picked up dot on time from Kolkatta and in about 3 hours were at the boat. The boat was neat, tidy and the employees were very friendly. Monty the manager of the boat, was extremely helpful, sporting and made the trip a wonderful experience. Food was very well prepared and the tastiest food we had in our whole 4 days trip. The boat also had board games and fishing rods available.

We saw birds, crocodiles, deers and a tiger. (Pic attached).

Overall the trip was amazing and is highly recommended.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank BalashishD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Sundarban Tour
It took 3 1/2 hours to reach Gosava (Godkhali) from Kolkata Airport. It is 3 night 4 day tour on a Sundarban Houseboat. This boat is having 3 AC Cabins which can House 14 people.
All food inclusive from Kolkata Airport pickup is 1.55 lacs for adult team of 9 members.
Cabin no :1 is small for 2 people with difficulty 3 can be accommodated. Balance 2 cabins can accommodate a maximum of 6 adults each.
The upper deck is dining with luxurious searing to watch surroundings while boating.
The bar Music system with disco dance floor is apt for partying.
Mr Palash Mondal the Chef is excellent. The food is homely. Just leave the menu to him. Enjoyed Aloo & Lacha Parathas, Poha, different dals.
The food is excellent and is like a 4 star floating hotel.
Everyday start the journey from 0600 Hrs and go through various islands of Sundarban forest islands. No one can get enter any island as it is forbidden.
These islands are protected by forest department.
We spotted 7 varieties of kingfishers, Jungle Cat, Smooth Coated Otter ( both are rare to spot). Palm oCevit is also a rare spot.
The following are also spotted
Osprey
Cormorant
White bellied Sea Eagle
Pied Kingfisher
Oriental Magpie
Bronze Drongo
Sandpiper
Whimbrel
Monitor Lizard
Dolphin
Crocodile
Spotted Deer

World largest Mangrove Forest is Sundarban spreading 30% in India and 70% in Bangladesh.
The Royal Bengal Tiger 3 M long 300 Kg weighing is a magnificent animal can be spotted here only. It drinks sea water also and a man eater. No revenge killing by Civilians as here they treat this tiger as God

Improvements needed for this tour
Pickup by Winger for 9 is horrible. AC is not working. You could have arranged two vehicles instead.
We paid 1.6 lacs and could have paid another 10000 more for transport.
Power supply is erratic in the boat ‍♂️. Inverter trips.
Fan fell in one room and luckily no one injured.
Rest all is perfect

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Venkateswar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews