We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience of a lifetime!!!”

Sundarban Houseboat
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore the Mystical Sundarbans cruising through its dense forest networks and backwaters. Sundarban Houseboat is an Exclusive Cruise Tour Houseboat, designed and built with Premium and Modern amenities and facilities - catering to guests who wish to experience the best of the mangrove forest on an All-Inclusive Sundarban Tour. Book from the best price Sundarban Tour Package, including Pick-up from and Drop to Kolkata.
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We started the New Year, 2017. by a 3night/4 day trip to the Sundarbans by the Sundarban Houseboat. We were a group of 6 friends so we had booked the entire houseboat which has 3 cabins ( of double beds each, but which can accommodate a total of 12- 14 if necessary, with bunk beds and foldable cots).
A very comfortable Tata Winger, driven by Mr Sarkar, picked us up in Kolkata, at 9 a.m., and, after saying Hello to Mr Roy, the owner, we drove through rustic but good roads through rural Bengal, and reached us at 12 noon to Jodkhali, where we were to embark on the houseboat.
The houseboat has the most wonderful covered upper deck with comfortable sofas and chairs, and a lovely view of the surrounding landscape. This is where we sat most of the time, and had our meals at the dining table. There are a couple of sun chairs too if you want to sit in the open. A TV for those interested in seeing movies, either on wildlife of the Sundarbans, or others ( they have an eclectic range), a bar with soft ( and hard) drinks and snacks, soft music in the background all add up to a most refreshing and wonderful experience.
And the food is out of this world. One of our group was a vegetarian, and the food was superlative. Tasty, well cooked, different at each meal. And a wide range. The cook Polash Mondal and his team were absolutely fabulous the way they cooked up delights each time.
Indeed , the whole team was par excellence. The Manager, Monty Sharma, ( owner Mr Roy’s nephew) is a great photographer and he keeps his team happy at all times. The captain , Pranab Jana , was absolutely perfect at his job. The houseboat glided slowly through the many channels, some wide, some narrow, in a noiseless tranquil and serene manner, lulling us, and enchanting us with the exotic mangrove landscape. One is at peace with nature. Though , of course, this is only on the surface, violence lies within, tigers and crocodiles, and other wild animals are aplenty.
The service team led by Suvankar Mondal was always at hand, to help us in and out of the boat ( we were all elderly), to look after us 24/7 and serve the meals with great care .
The guide Mr Mrinal Mondal was efficient and knowledgeable, as was the captain. We were shown a variety of birds and mangrove trees.
The cabins are clean and serviceable, the beds comfortable and the bathrooms though naturally small, were enough.

All in all, this was a wonderful experience and we highly recommend this Sundarban Houseboat.
If we had to make a complaint, it was only that the overlap of leaving groups and alighting groups leads to a little confusion. Naturally, since the vehicle brings in a group from Kolkata and departs with the leaving group, the time in between is limited.
We had to wait at the crowded noisy Jodhkhali embarkation point, on arrival from Kolkata, till the houseboat anchored and the earlier group of guests left. While we got on and sat in the upper deck, the cabins were cleaned and refreshed. All done very quickly and well.
We were told that the company is planning to buy some land in Jodhkali or nearby and build a comfortable resting place for arriving and departing guests. Once this is in place, all will be much better.
But even so, we cannot stress enough, the wonderful time we had. A lovely experience. All kudos to Mr Roy, Monty and his team.
Thank you very much indeed.
Mrs. Girija Viraraghavan
Kodaikanal
Tamil Nadu
Tripadvisor Username: Virugiri

Date of experience: January 2017
3  Thank viru g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"crew members"
in 7 reviews
"house boat"
in 7 reviews
"the upper deck"
in 5 reviews
"mr roy"
in 3 reviews
"night cruise"
in 3 reviews
"tour manager"
in 3 reviews
"tiger paw"
in 2 reviews
"life jackets"
in 2 reviews
"evening snacks"
in 2 reviews
"who loves nature"
in 2 reviews
"days trip"
in 3 reviews
"aloo"
in 2 reviews
"monitor lizards"
in 3 reviews
"star hotel"
in 2 reviews
"memorable tour"
in 2 reviews
"the royal bengal tiger"
in 3 reviews
"bucket list"
in 2 reviews
Filter

25 - 29 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

The booking was very well managed with all my questions answered. I travelled with my parents, my spouse and our 5 year old. They did take some time to confirm the booking but we were told that we needn't worry. They picked us up from our Kolkata home and drove us to Godkhali. The driver was late by 45 mins but the vehicle was well maintained and the AC worked well. At Godkhali we waited barely for 15 minutes before the boat arrived. The boat is undoubtedly the best boat in the Sunderbans. The deck is very well maintained with comfortable sofas, nice dining space and a couple of bean bags. They also have good quality binoculars and telescope. The journey on the boat started around 1 pm and we were served lunch soon after. Food was extremely tasty and was served with utmost care towards cleanliness while we slowly meandered along towards Sajnekhali. We saw a few crocs at Sajnekhali and watched a phenomenal sunset near Pakhiralaya. We watched a couple of movies from the large collection of movies they have. They also have a large number of board games which kept our kid happy. The only issue was the room. While I understand that the boat cannot provide luxurious rooms, the cabins are very small for more than 3 occupants and we were 5 of us. Also it is impossible to stay in the room without the AC which wasn't working too well before the boys fixed it as there is just a tiny wall fan in the cabin. However, we slept well anchored in the middle of the river. We went to Sudhanyakhali but we weren't lucky to see the swamp tiger. We however saw 2 green vipers over there. Our journey back was lovely with melodious music played on board.
Overall the trip was very nice and is made memorable by the brilliant crew on board including the chef who is really adept at his job. I hope the management retains the boys on board as they are the heart of the proposition.

The only sore point was the driver who made us wait in the sun on the way back while he was playing a game of carrom. We found it quite unbelievable that he continued to play the game even after he saw us waiting in the heat. That was the epitome of unprofessionalism and he was a far cry from the staff on board.

Date of experience: October 2016
5  Thank udy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We booked a 3-day / 2-night trip on the houseboat. We were sure this will be a great experience but we were surprised and delighted how beautiful this trip turned out. The crew was fantastic, everyone on the boat was extremely friendly. The rooms and amenities on the boat were exceeding our expectations for such a boat trip. The food was excellent (in fact the best India food I had so far). And finally of course the nature, the wildlife and simply the whole experience on the boat. You will see loads of beautiful animals (many birds, monitor lizzards, crocodiles, ...I was lucky and even spotted a black cobra). There is a very good balance between getting off the boat and visit some wildlife centres and staying on board to relax and enjoy the beauty. And last but not least: simply cruising around on a boat with this wonderful scenary is just an experience you will remember forever.
Once again, thanks to the crew and the team for these wonderful days!

Date of experience: October 2016
3  Thank Henrik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We had visited sunderban for 2 days and 1 night in this houseboat and I must tell everyone that experience was awesome. All the staff is so polite and caring. Rinku at reception and the cook ..... both were so nice....food is awsum especially the mango chutney and the aloo namkeen.. the chef even told us the recipes. :).
Rooms are very nicely done.... deck area is also very good..
Overall a different experience....will surely come again....

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Was advised not to go in monsoon season but glad i did. They are the only operator that provides all year tours. They have done it for 3 years now so know the conditions well.

Best thing about the off season was i had the sundarbans to myself. No crowds of tourists made it even more relaxing and meditational.

Didnt see a tiger but didnt get my hopes up before leaving. But amazing wildlife was seen anyway.

Great food was served on board. I even asked the chef to teach me some of the food. 5 star food mostly with local ingredients from the sunderban area.

I would rate the accommodation on board is one or two star. Bedding is clean and comfortable. Bathroom is basic and clean. It was much better than i expected and i felt very comfortable.

I will definately try and come back again.

Date of experience: July 2016
3  Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sundarban Houseboat also viewed

 
Kolkata, Kolkata District
Kolkata, Kolkata District
 

Been to Sundarban Houseboat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing