We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Family trip to Sunderban with aged parents grown up children and kin.

Visited Sunderbans aboard house boat for a 3 nights trip.Savored the cruise the sights and... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Trek41590491300
,
Lucknow, India
Sundarban Houseboat has fulfilled our expectation at Sundarban

Awesome experience, very good food, rooms & hospitality. Sundarban it self is a mysterious place... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
suamantra
Read all 65 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kolkata (Calcutta)
from US$ 150.00
More Info
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
56
7
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
7
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crew members house boat the upper deck mr roy night cruise tour manager tiger paw life jackets evening snacks who loves nature days trip aloo monitor lizards star hotel memorable tour the royal bengal tiger bucket list
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We had visited sunderban for 2 days and 1 night in this houseboat and I must tell everyone that experience was awesome. All the staff is so polite and caring. Rinku at reception and the cook ..... both were so nice....food is awsum especially the mango chutney and the aloo namkeen.. the chef even told us the recipes. :).
Rooms are very nicely done.... deck area is also very good..
Overall a different experience....will surely come again....

2  Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Was advised not to go in monsoon season but glad i did. They are the only operator that provides all year tours. They have done it for 3 years now so know the conditions well.

Best thing about the off season was i had the sundarbans to myself. No crowds of tourists made it even more relaxing and meditational.

Didnt see a tiger but didnt get my hopes up before leaving. But amazing wildlife was seen anyway.

Great food was served on board. I even asked the chef to teach me some of the food. 5 star food mostly with local ingredients from the sunderban area.

I would rate the accommodation on board is one or two star. Bedding is clean and comfortable. Bathroom is basic and clean. It was much better than i expected and i felt very comfortable.

I will definately try and come back again.

3  Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

They start from central Calcutta and travel for 2 hrs in a bus to get to where the boats start. Then you spend a day (24 hrs) on the boat...which has cabins and cafeteria ..you will almost never see the Royal Bengal Tiger..but if lucky can see crocs, monitors and other smaller animals. So the expectation should be to enjoy the sea river delta and the mangroves....and lots of birds..unique experience.

2  Thank Ammitabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We were only able to squeeze in a short trip (24 hours) in the Sunderbans, but this proved a great way to enjoy this fascinating area. The houseboat has been designed to take a small group in some comfort - but is not a luxury cruise ship. The benefits of rolling accommodation and transport into one are pretty obvious given that boats are the preferred method of getting about the reserve, and certainly the best (and safest) way of viewing the wildlife. No tiger sightings but we saw a phenomenal range of birds, with the help of our tour guide Monty. The itinerary was well thought out and at exactly the right pace to be relaxed but gain a good insight into this extraordinary environment. The boat's staff were charming and highly attentive, and the cook magically produced an astonishing range of dishes from the small galley. Only disappointments were with the driver on the return to Kolkata, who was reckless and surly, and the patchy cabin a/c. But overall we recommend Sunderban Houseboats, without hesitation.

3  Thank Toaster803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNDARBAN_HOUSEBOAT, Owner at Sundarban Houseboat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Thank you for your five star rated review. Compliments like this motivate us to work harder and raising our bar. Regarding the vehicle we would like to assure you that we have an excellent vehicle of our own, but, since it was requisitioned due to Government elections we had to outsource the services. Your review will definitely help us in rethinking our relationship with the agency. Please accept our heartfelt apologies about the vehicle’s AC and its driver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

After reading fabulous reviews about this houseboat we decided to book it for a memorable holiday.Our pick up from Kolkata was great.We reached Gadkhali and waited for the much awaited houseboat.
We got in the houseboat at 130 pm and we realised that the generator was not functioning.They assured us it was a minor glitch and would be set in a jiffy.We had a sumptuous lunch.The crew,captain and boat manager were extremely hospitable.At 1030 pm we were told that the generator could not be repaired and we were given a choice if we wanted to stay on board or check into a hotel.Majority of us wanted to sleep as we were so tired and we opted for the hotel.We reached the hotel at abt 11 pm and we were told to be ready by 6am.
The boat arrived at 630am and we went for a cruise to the mangrove forest for the next few hours.They charged us a huge sum for a premium package.I paid only 50% of the amount before the cruise and wanted to pay the remaining 50% on board.But after this experience I refused to pay the remaining 50% as this was not a premium package at all.The tour operator,Swaroop tried telling us that we are premium customers..How ridiculous !!Except for the crew there s nothing special abt the boat and it's not as safe as the claim it is..
They claim it was the first time such a thing has happened but I refuse to believe it..They should have been truthful and told us abt the faulty generator when we embarked.
But kudos to the crew,captain Monty and Manoranjan the tourist guide.They tried to keep us comfortable throughout.

5  Thank simran711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNDARBAN_HOUSEBOAT, Owner at Sundarban Houseboat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2016

Dear madam,
We take pride in the five star rated reviews that we get from our guests. Like you, most of our guests come here on the recommendations of our previous guests. This speaks about the credibility and excellence that we try to maintain in our services.

The poor review (The first one ever…..) that we have received from you has caused us tremendous pain. But your review will certainly help us improve. Being an adventure tour, there are certain contingencies which we cannot foresee. Though we duly inform all these in our mailers, but you are our guest and you deserve the best.

But believe us, we are very sensitive towards safety issues and the hotels that we select for such contingencies, have to undergo a very strict security compliance.

All said and done, we sure owe you an apology and an explanation.

We have two generators. One is always kept on standby. Incidentally, one generator went bad the previous day. Before we could get that repaired the other one broke down too. It was only a sheer co-incidence and we had no control over it. Sundarban is a remote and difficult place and we are into adventure tourism. There is very little infrastructure available here. We have to get our mechanics from Kolkata and spares from Delhi. However, we have taken a learning from this and have already purchased a third generator, so that we can have two generators on standby.

We tender our heartfelt apology and would like to make it up to you during your next trip to Sundarban. Monty and his crew will look forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews