We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional houseboat operation - a great way to experience the Sunderbans”

Sundarban Houseboat - Day Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Now EXPLORE THE MAGIC OF SUNDARBANS with it’s first luxury Air conditioned houseboat providing the World’s first wildlife safari in a houseboat. Each and every day tour in the houseboat is personalized and unique as it is tailor made to the desires and expectation of the guests. The Houseboat is equipped with all modern amenities which we believe, will be beyond your expectations.
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We were only able to squeeze in a short trip (24 hours) in the Sunderbans, but this proved a great way to enjoy this fascinating area. The houseboat has been designed to take a small group in some comfort - but is not a luxury cruise ship. The benefits of rolling accommodation and transport into one are pretty obvious given that boats are the preferred method of getting about the reserve, and certainly the best (and safest) way of viewing the wildlife. No tiger sightings but we saw a phenomenal range of birds, with the help of our tour guide Monty. The itinerary was well thought out and at exactly the right pace to be relaxed but gain a good insight into this extraordinary environment. The boat's staff were charming and highly attentive, and the cook magically produced an astonishing range of dishes from the small galley. Only disappointments were with the driver on the return to Kolkata, who was reckless and surly, and the patchy cabin a/c. But overall we recommend Sunderban Houseboats, without hesitation.

3  Thank Toaster803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNDARBAN_HOUSEBOAT, Owner at Sundarban Houseboat - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Thank you for your five star rated review. Compliments like this motivate us to work harder and raising our bar. Regarding the vehicle we would like to assure you that we have an excellent vehicle of our own, but, since it was requisitioned due to Government elections we had to outsource the services. Your review will definitely help us in rethinking our relationship with the agency. Please accept our heartfelt apologies about the vehicle’s AC and its driver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"crew members"
in 7 reviews
"house boat"
in 5 reviews
"the upper deck"
in 5 reviews
"mr roy"
in 3 reviews
"tour manager"
in 3 reviews
"tiger paw"
in 2 reviews
"entire crew"
in 2 reviews
"evening snacks"
in 2 reviews
"life jackets"
in 2 reviews
"fascinating area"
in 2 reviews
"utmost care"
in 2 reviews
"who loves nature"
in 2 reviews
"par excellence"
in 2 reviews
"aloo"
in 2 reviews
"memorable tour"
in 2 reviews
"monitor lizards"
in 3 reviews
"star hotel"
in 2 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

After reading fabulous reviews about this houseboat we decided to book it for a memorable holiday.Our pick up from Kolkata was great.We reached Gadkhali and waited for the much awaited houseboat.
We got in the houseboat at 130 pm and we realised that the generator was not functioning.They assured us it was a minor glitch and would be set in a jiffy.We had a sumptuous lunch.The crew,captain and boat manager were extremely hospitable.At 1030 pm we were told that the generator could not be repaired and we were given a choice if we wanted to stay on board or check into a hotel.Majority of us wanted to sleep as we were so tired and we opted for the hotel.We reached the hotel at abt 11 pm and we were told to be ready by 6am.
The boat arrived at 630am and we went for a cruise to the mangrove forest for the next few hours.They charged us a huge sum for a premium package.I paid only 50% of the amount before the cruise and wanted to pay the remaining 50% on board.But after this experience I refused to pay the remaining 50% as this was not a premium package at all.The tour operator,Swaroop tried telling us that we are premium customers..How ridiculous !!Except for the crew there s nothing special abt the boat and it's not as safe as the claim it is..
They claim it was the first time such a thing has happened but I refuse to believe it..They should have been truthful and told us abt the faulty generator when we embarked.
But kudos to the crew,captain Monty and Manoranjan the tourist guide.They tried to keep us comfortable throughout.

5  Thank simran711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNDARBAN_HOUSEBOAT, Owner at Sundarban Houseboat - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2016

Dear madam,
We take pride in the five star rated reviews that we get from our guests. Like you, most of our guests come here on the recommendations of our previous guests. This speaks about the credibility and excellence that we try to maintain in our services.

The poor review (The first one ever…..) that we have received from you has caused us tremendous pain. But your review will certainly help us improve. Being an adventure tour, there are certain contingencies which we cannot foresee. Though we duly inform all these in our mailers, but you are our guest and you deserve the best.

But believe us, we are very sensitive towards safety issues and the hotels that we select for such contingencies, have to undergo a very strict security compliance.

All said and done, we sure owe you an apology and an explanation.

We have two generators. One is always kept on standby. Incidentally, one generator went bad the previous day. Before we could get that repaired the other one broke down too. It was only a sheer co-incidence and we had no control over it. Sundarban is a remote and difficult place and we are into adventure tourism. There is very little infrastructure available here. We have to get our mechanics from Kolkata and spares from Delhi. However, we have taken a learning from this and have already purchased a third generator, so that we can have two generators on standby.

We tender our heartfelt apology and would like to make it up to you during your next trip to Sundarban. Monty and his crew will look forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Great Houseboat, with all the facilities you can think of, especially the variety of board games available on board. They also have a Big screen TV with lots of pre-loaded content and a good music system.
Talking about the service, service was top notch exceeding the expectations. All the staff were always on their toes to fulfill any of your need or demand at any time you ask for. Specially, Monty Sharma the manager on board, who has been a great companion throughout the trip.

PS: Sundarban Houseboat is the only private operator which has the permission to allow guests stay throughout the night on there houseboat itself.

3  Thank Raman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

IT was a great experience the house boat is equipped with all good facilities as promised and the on board staff is very very good always ready for your service. The boat manager Monty Sharma is excellent person always ready to help guests and take care of their every need and ensure to make it remember able.

2  Thank Pravinsnp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

One of the memorable holidays ! We really were well looked after by the staff on board the houseboat....the cabins were neat and clean with attached toilets.Our stay was very comfortable and the food served was very tasty. I will certainly recommend Sunderban houseboat to everyone and hope to go on a longer trip next time!

3  Thank Wg Cdr P N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sundarban Houseboat - Day Tour also viewed

Kolkata, Kolkata District
Kolkata, Kolkata District
 

Been to Sundarban Houseboat - Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing