We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No tip, no service”
Review of Tollygunge Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolkata
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tollygunge Club
Ranked #44 of 251 Hotels in Kolkata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Having stayed at the Tollygunge Club many times over the last 5 years ( I stay there because it is conveniently located for my business meetings at that end of town) I have grown accustomed to the bad service. The waiters are rude, indifferent, lazy and have no interest in serving you. You really have to serve yourself. The food is not good ( the Chinese restaurant is appalling) and the menu hasn't changed for years. HOWEVER once you tip the waiters - a policy that is specifically prohibited by management - they are immediately transformed into accommodating, helpful, even friendly, souls who go out of their way to look after you. The transformation is almost absurdly comical. I believe management tried to sack the entire staff a few years ago but it seems they are well unionised and can't be got rid of. It's a great pity because with an upgrade ( many rooms are being renovated), better food and a better attitude this could be a fabulous place.Instead it languishes in the 1950's..... good golf course though!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chantman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

It was a professional trip to Kolkata from Chennai. I am musician and had a gig in the club theater. The huge ethnic style double room was very royal. Clean, quiet and since surrounded by trees and golf ground it was pollution free. The room service is very good. The staff give you special tips on drinks and food. Food is cheap compared to many star hotels. I am a vegetarian and yet enjoyed a variety of dishes. the Vodka Lemonade was a special treat. Good relaxing one after the high voltage concert we had that evening. Check in and Check out are hassle free. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with windows facing the Golf ground. Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaidyanathanSuresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

It is a club so u need some one to sign u in as a guest. Rooms r xtra large with 4* comfort arnd 80$. Property is vast wid abt 9 restaurants n bars. Lots of greenery n birds, n any sport u can imagine. From golf 2 a heated swimming pool(3 in all) to horse riding. Food is grt value 4 money,all cuisines. Loved each moment, 2kids n wife n i.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharat_sks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Wonderful place to stay. Value for money. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The cottages overlooking the gold course are huge with separate living and bedroom. Staff was efficient. Food decent for its rates. Beautiful setting, once in the club you do not feel as if you're in the city. Also spotted some the famed domesticated jackals at very close range within a few feet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKS0817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

When ever i check into the Tollygunge Club its like i am back home.
they have well decorated Room, well done bathroom with 24 hrs Cold and Hot water
Independent coffee Maker.
Thought the room service menu is limited but you have a choice of eating at any of the 4 restaurant of the club

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefsiddmehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata hotels
2.9 km away
East Palace Hotel
East Palace Hotel
#199 of 251 in Kolkata
25 reviews
5.7 km away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#18 of 251 in Kolkata
616 reviews
5.2 km away
Park Prime Kolkata
Park Prime Kolkata
#78 of 251 in Kolkata
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#17 of 251 in Kolkata
2,065 reviews
3.1 km away
Treebo Globe International
Treebo Globe International
#37 of 251 in Kolkata
95 reviews
13 km away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#11 of 251 in Kolkata
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tollygunge Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tollygunge Club

Address: 120 Deshapran Sasmal Road, Kolkata 700 033, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 251 Hotels in Kolkata
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Tollygunge Club Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Tollygunge Club Kolkata, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing