We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green Relief”
Review of Maidan

Maidan
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 100.00*
and up
Private Tour: Places of Worship in Kolkata including Mother House
Ranked #25 of 213 things to do in Kolkata
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Green Relief”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Viewed from Office terrace every day for last 12 yrs... breath of fresh air

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sudipto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    110
    46
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Long past its prime”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

There is a scene in Monty Python and the Holy Grail, in which members of an autonomous collective are kneeling ion the ground, taking hand fulls of mud, and for no particular purpose, creating piles of it. That to me is the senseless mess of the Maidan. Yes, Kolkata is impoverished. And the Maidan does serve as green lungs to the congested city. But that is all it does. Piles of rubble and garbage are piled literally everywhere. The city would seem to be one large construction zone if anything seemed to be in the process of actually being built (except for the new city by the airport--an admittance that the wealth has cravenly and completely given up on the central city). Meanwhile, politicians have spent millions of dollars on poorly constructed, and rather ugly, ubiquitous street lamps--as if that is what this city needed. The maidan is a symbol for the obscene mismanagement of a once glorious city. A filthy mess, in a failed state...with a dusty trees and overgrown...shrubbery.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
china
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“HUGE FIELD”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I went for a walk in the morning as suggested by the hotel reception staff. Many at time I passed by it but never went inside this before. I was so surprised seeing its size that was simply unbelievable. I walk for over an hour to go from the end of Park Steet to the line of Victoria Park.

Never anywhere in the world I have ever seen such vast field right in the middle of the city. Later when I told this to my friend, she told me that this is the famous “Gorer Matth”. In Bengali, the word Gorer Matth is used to indicate the vastness but I did not think of such a vastness that I saw.

Simply amazing

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank zuhur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
294 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
“Best at winter”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Maidan is at its best in winter. The foggy and mystic environment enhances the mood of Kolkata. One can witness various kind of activities in the morning specially with the backdrop of Kolkata skyscrapers. Tram service around Maidan gives the best tourist experience. No wonder why so many movies has been shot here at this location.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Souvik25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
280 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT PLACE FOR OUTING”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This vast open place is almost in the heart of Kolkata and adjacent to Victoria Memorial and off the Chowringhee Road.
Dotted with trees on its fringes, it is a good place for morning walkers and in fact, a nice place to unwind.During Summer, the Kolkata public throng this place for fresh breeze. Sometimes Exhibitions and trade fairs take place in some portion of the Maidan.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank SAMAREN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maidan also viewed

Kolkata, Kolkata District
Kolkata, Kolkata District
 
Kolkata, Kolkata District
Kolkata, Kolkata District
 

Been to Maidan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing