We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing Collection

The museum was a bit renovated. Collections are antique and awesome. Must see for a city tour in... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Deepan B
good

the indian museum has a lot of old and rare artifacts and sculptures. it is a good places to visit... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Anand A
Read all 841 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Kolkata (Calcutta)
from US$ 84.00
More Info
from US$ 71.25
More Info
Reviews (841)
Filter reviews
841 results
Traveller rating
327
275
159
50
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
275
159
50
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews egyptian mummy natural history stuffed animals great collection various sections park street metro station large collection on display entry fee couple of hours must visit place the heart of the city nice place fossils coins exhibits skeleton
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 841 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It is one of the ideal place to visit on a winter afternoon. Kids will surely enjoy this place. It has a very good collection and some very rare items. It is very interesting and a must visit. The ticket price is 20 INR.

Thank Proshakha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Antique items of different era - with lot of sections & old items. Definitely worth visiting & spending more than an hour in it.

Thank kk8322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

i found it boring, it is not maintained properly the govt. could have done more but its not as attractive as it seems

Thank namesak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Not every antique attracts me but here the armoury and the mommy of Tutankhamen does attract me a lot. Wonderful place, almoist 200 years ago it gort built and still carrying the history along with it.

Thank SounakP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

I visited the museum to get out of the heavy rain. Sadly, it is very dated,and it has not changed much in the last 70 years.
The exibits are old and I was charged 500 rupees,(about £5), whilst locals can get in for 20 rupees (20p); - which is nearer the mark.
For this p[rice, I would expect a map and guide book, but these were not available.
I understand that this is supposed to be one of the best in India? The Pitt Rivers Museum is Oxford is far superior, and free.
I wont be going again

1  Thank blackpoolsteve2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews