We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central to our interests” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peerless Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Peerless Inn
Ranked #33 of 216 Hotels in Kolkata
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Central to our interests”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Travel to the City of Joy is always a welcome break in our lives, particularly if there is time to shop. We had made prior booking which they upgraded - was impressed by the gesture & the room.This hotel is as good as it can ever get - good location, pleasant ambiance, great food, courteous staff and what not. The breakfast spread was elaborate - with exceptional peanut chutney. There is this wonderfully placed gym, gave a good view of the city. Over all a good place to stay especially during business & shopping visits to Kolkata.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Vithupar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality.

We really appreciate your kind feedback on the room, breakfast buffet and other services.

We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    284
    127
    50
    43
See reviews for
100
75
65
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Level Contributor
150 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Had 4 1night-stays there and 2 times we were upgraded. Outstanding downtown location close to busy Nehru Road, subway stop just around the corner. Great views over the city from the rooms in upper floors.Helpful staff, but some receptionists could improve their skills in english.. As we had checked out in the morning and our flight back to Europe was departing at about midnight- after a dusty day in town it was no problem to get a room opened for taking a shower.
Stunning Restaurant Aaheli with Bengali dishes- don´t miss it.
Second restaurant Oceanic overpriced.
Very good hotel at a reasonable price, recommended

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have taken a note of your comments regarding improving the communication at the Front Desk.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I was in Peerlees for 2 days in June 2012. Good heotel with all mdern facilities.. Bets part is its location..in the heart of the city.. and one can get taxis even at midnight.. The retaurent Aheli is just fabulous for authentic Bengali cuisine..Staff is good.. Some of the rooms are not so new which is evident from the bathroom fittings....

Room Tip: Few rooms are pretty old and bathrooms need some work..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guy072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
At the onset we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Adviser. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of the service provided by the team. Your words will go a long way to motivate them to deliver a higher level of service to our esteemed guests.

We take this opportunity to inform you that Aaheli has been conferred as the "Best Bengali" restaurant by Times Food Award and also listed in Miele Guide.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Warm Regards,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje, Macedonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

This hotel is very good for max 5 nights stay. Great location - next door to the City hall. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are average but very clean, they bring fruit on a daily bases.
The food is good if you like the Indian herbs. NOT EXCELLENT BUT VERY GOOD.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liljana66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
At the onset we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Adviser. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of the service provided by the team. Your words will go a long way to motivate them to deliver a higher level of service to our esteemed guests.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Warm Regards,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Had a great wedding reception here. The food was excellent. The staff looked after us so well. Good value, plenty of choice and very tasty food. Had a great and memorable time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VLqvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
At the onset we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Adviser. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of the service provided by the team. Your words will go a long way to motivate them to deliver a higher level of service to our esteemed guests.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Warm Regards,

Subhomoy De
General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata hotels
0.7 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
0.3 km away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#43 of 216 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 km away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#46 of 216 in Kolkata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#17 of 216 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
0.8 km away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#30 of 216 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.5 km away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#56 of 216 in Kolkata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Property: The Peerless Inn
Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata 700013, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,236 - ₹ 9,687
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn Kolkata, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing