We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Costly but very good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peerless Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Peerless Inn
Ranked #33 of 217 Hotels in Kolkata
Mumbai
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Costly but very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

I had been to Kolkatta for an official visit and stayed in this hotel for 2 days. The rooms are good and the breakfast was aweome. But the hotel management is very charge oriented. I had requested for a mobile charger for 1/2 hour for which they sent me a bill of 100 INR. Given an option I would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFunUnLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    283
    126
    50
    43
See reviews for
100
75
65
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamshedpur, Jharkhand, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Whenever I visit Kolkata on my business trips, Peerless Inn is the first choice because of its Value for Money preposition. Secondly since its located in the heart of Kolkata, the famous Park Street is just couple of minutes away. Its convinient to visit places around. Wonderful hospitality and quality service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solicitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

I was planning to stay in the heart of Kolkata and so my travel agent suggested to reserve the room in this hotel. Although It is very old hotel but once you are inside, the ambience is at par to any first class five star hotel. Me and my wife were traveling together and we reached late at hotel. As their check-in time was 1200 noon. Front desk person welcomed us well and promptly made us check-in. They also explained about dinner option available in the late night. We choose room service and were not ready to go down in the restaurant. decor of room was contemporary. This hotel also has got in house gym and all basic workout equipments were available. They have good masseur too as I had opportunity to have one full body massage. Next day we were sleeping for late and in the evening realised that my laundry has nit been done. So called up the housekeeping no. provided in the directory in the room. But the person at other end expressed inability to accept my request. I took my laundry bag and went down to lobby and one gentleman there seemed to be from hotel asked me for any assistance. upon listening to me he called upsomeone and my laundry bag was taken from me and to my surprise It was all done and delivered into my room in the same evening. Leter I came to know that he was general manager of the hotel. It was one of the best experience of hospitality services , I have ever came across the Globe.

Room Tip: request receptionist for front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisistravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Well, it was completion of our East India Tour and this hotel overall services complimented the journey. Excellent locations with warmest hospitality by their staffs are in our memory. we were upgraded to suite as the receptionist was hospitable enough to upgrade us as we were family of 3 travelling. Food was excellent and bed linen was very fresh. Perfect for any leaisue as well as business traveller. And donot forget to taste their Hilsa preparation at Aaheli restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chandraramu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

I've travelled to India on two other occasions and so was well aware of the less than stellar hotel accommodation options. So, on this trip, I decided that there'd be no slumming it. the single criteria being a hotel that falls into the TripAdvisor Top 10. So, I decided to book into the Peerless Inn.

The Peerless Inn makes an excellent first impression; the reception area, the coffee shop and the overall layout of the reception area is without fault. The issues comes when you get to the room and look beyond the surface of things. While the rooms are reasonably furnished and could do with a revamp they are adequate, a little overpriced in comparison to other better accommodation in Delhi and Mumbai.

Where the Peerless Inn leaves much to be desired is in the area of cleanliness.

1. The bathroom basin is caked in filth (in the two rooms I was in), there is a green-black lining of something in the basin. (see photo)
2. The toilet is disgusting (see photo)
3. The carpets smell of mould
4. The wooden base set of the bed has obviously never been dusted. (see photo)
5. The pillowcases are dodgy at best.
6. I was served a coffee with lipstick on it, and when I asked for another cup received yet another filthy cup - wiped down with the waitrons fingers.
7. To add insult to injury, I was provided with a spoon that had hardened chocolate on it.
8. At breakfast, I was told to have a opened bottle of water that another guest had left behind.
8. Did I mention THE RAT - While all these items are tolerable; coming into ones room (room 515) and finding a rat traipsing over the vanity was really the final straw. I asked to be immediately have my room changed and was moved to room 1007. I was told that I would get to speak to the general manager on the following day at 11:30. No apology or any assurances were offered.

I'm currently writing this review, when what I should be doing is working, however it is impossible to work with the constant banging taking place in the next room by maintenance staff. I've called reception 3 times to report this, and the duty manager has the audacity to say "what noise", when the banging is audible throughout the passages on the 10th floor.

I can only hope that my remaining hours at the Peerless Inn, go without incident. It was been a dreadful experience staying here. I rely heavily on these tripadvisor reviews for my travels, and hope this review provides readers, the insight required to make an informed decision.

It goes without saying, that I cannot recommend the Peerless Inn. It is overpriced with very little value and customer centricity, let alone cleanliness.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank marlinwebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata hotels
0.7 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
0.3 km away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#45 of 217 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 km away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#46 of 217 in Kolkata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#17 of 217 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
0.8 km away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#31 of 217 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.5 km away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#57 of 217 in Kolkata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Property: The Peerless Inn
Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata 700013, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,163 - ₹ 9,673
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn Kolkata, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing