We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$74
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$78
View deal
Trip.com
$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/22
Agoda.com$74
eDreams$74
FindHotel$74
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
180
158
51
14
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
180
158
51
14
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kebab heritage property the heart of the city lounge bar camac street suite room modern amenities the hotel staff his team front office aston ambience mr feedback arrangements behaviour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2021 via mobile

I travelled to Kolkata with my wife and mother in law and the stay at Astor was the worst part of the trip. Lessons learned as follows:

1. Do not travel during Christmas weekends because the staff don't care about in house guests but only the party crowd coming there. They gave us a room above their lounge bar - phoenix which played excruciatingly loud music during the Christmas weekend till 3 am. The photo frames in the wall were shaking! We had an early morning flight on the 26th and we could not sleep.

2. There is an art to being 'politely condescending'. The reception staff excel at it. They looked down upon us when we asked for a la carte dining at the in house restaurant as they were only interested in the special christmas buffet. As house guests we did not even get preference for a table. We had to stand in a queue and then give up and order room service...which of course is a limited menu. Since we were checking out early, we asked for the bills to be cleared the previous night. That took multiple follow ups. We also asked for a packed breakfast if possible and that was just ignored completely.

3. There are no elevators and we had a senior citizen with us. They accomodated by giving us a room on the first floor. But the room had no windows and was basically a spacious pill box. Of course it became worse with the problem pointed out in point number one. At 2 am their solution was to shift us to a higher floor so that we can sleep for 2 hours before our checkout. Let that sink in.

4. The overall vibe of the place was uncomfortable. During our visit there were multiple guests who lost their cool and we're shouting their lungs out at the reception staff. The reception staff just apologized and shrugged on within hours as if they were used to it.

The housekeeping staff were good. It's just the snobbish front desk and the overall management which seemed to only care about the Christmas crowd coming in for events rather than the in house guests. I am never coming here again. I would not recommend the same to anyone who i know as well. We were reasonable and polite in our behaviour and what we got was snobbishness and inconsiderate treatment.

Wish I could give 0 stars..

Room tip: Avoid travel with family. Avoid travel during festive seasons
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ksk2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINTU MONDAL, Guest Services / Front Office at The Astor Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2022

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal !

It is disheartening to read about your experience. Your concern has already been raised with my team. We do deeply regret the inconvenience caused. We truly understand your views and have taken cognizance of the same.

At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being a discerning traveller. We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor, and we promise to make your stay meaningful and memorable every time.

We look forward to serving you again,

Warm Regards,
Pintu Mondal
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2021

Had the pleasure to host our wedding ceremony at The Astor Hotel.It was an amazing experience altogether with very cooperative and courteous stuffs, delicious food,awesome room stay with great room service and beautiful in-house decorator.The banquet area is well decorated and also comes with an adequate open space to arrange for mandap,selfie corner to enhance the grandeur and ambience of the wedding.Special thanks to Mr.Subhayu Sengupta for taking care of every minute detail and customizing things according to our preferences.He never failed to cooperate with us and provided us every assistance needed to host a big fat Indian wedding.Very satiated with their service and I recommend the place to everyone.Keep up the good work!

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anindita21_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINTU MONDAL, Guest Services / Front Office at The Astor Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2022

Dear Ms.Anindita,
Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal !

It is most kind of you to share your experience and Thank you for taking out time to write this review. It was also nice to know that you had a very pleasant experience and I am indeed happy that my team lived up to your expectations and that you had enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by my team.

At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being our guest. personalized and dedicated care for our guest is one of our "Exceptional Service Brand Credo" for Archer Hospitality and we are real fortunate to have lovely ladies and gentlemen who always tries to exceed guest expectations at all times.Thanks again for a special mention about Mr Subhayu.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor,and we promise to make your future events and stay more meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards,

Akshay Chawla
General Manager
gm@astorkolkata.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2021 via mobile

Very nice hotel to stay for business or for family visit! Clean, very good customer service and delicious food. Close to the center and all historical sightseeing. Will recommend to my friends and family members.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NataliaL1685
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINTU MONDAL, Guest Services / Front Office at The Astor Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2022

Dear Guest,
Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal !

It is most kind of you to share your experience and Thank you for taking out time to write this review. It was also nice to know that you had a very pleasant experience and I am indeed happy that my team lived up to your expectations and that you had enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by my team.

At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being our guest. Personalized and dedicated care for our guest is one of our "Exceptional Service Brand Credo" for Archer Hospitality and we are real fortunate to have lovely ladies and gentlemen who always tries to exceed guest expectations at all times.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor, and we promise to make your future events and stay more meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards,

Akshay Chawla
General Manager
gm@astorkolkata.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2021

The best place to have your dream authentic bengali wedding with an open space and banquet hall Served with delicacies. Great hospitality and management.
Satisfied alot with the wedding venue , will come back again for sure

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sdgshreyadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINTU MONDAL, Guest Services / Front Office at The Astor Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2021

Dear Ms Shreya,
Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal !

It is most kind of you to share your experience and Thank you for taking out time to write this review. It was also nice to know that you had a very pleasant experience and I am indeed happy that my team lived up to your expectations and that you had enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by my team.

At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being our guest. Personalized and dedicated care for our guest is one of our "Exceptional Service Brand Credo" for Archer Hospitality and we are real fortunate to have lovely ladies and gentlemen who always tries to exceed guest expectations at all times.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor, and we promise to make your future events and stay more meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards,

Akshay Chawla
General Manager
gm@astorkolkata.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2021 via mobile

Astor is a wonderful place to stay at and the service is really good. People are very friendly and the standard is exceptionally good. The restaurant that the hotel has “ Kebab E Que “ also offers wide range of food selection and the food is exceptional. Ranadeep was the server for us and was curious to get the feedback from us and assisted us during our dining to fulfill any needs we had.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 117gauthams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINTU MONDAL, Guest Services / Front Office at The Astor Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2021

Dear Mr.Gautham,
Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal !

It is most kind of you to share your experience and Thank you for taking out time to write this review. It was also nice to know that you had a very pleasant experience and I am indeed happy that my team lived up to your expectations and that you had enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by my team.

At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being our guest. personalized and dedicated care for our guest is one of our "Exceptional Service Brand Credo" for Archer Hospitality and we are real fortunate to have lovely ladies and gentlemen who always tries to exceed guest expectations at all times.Thanks again for a special mention about Mr Ranadeep.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor,and we promise to make your future events and stay more meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again.


Warm Regards,

Akshay Chawla
General Manager
gm@astorkolkata.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews