We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$74
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$78
View deal
Agoda.com
$59
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/05/22
eDreams$74
FindHotel$61
StayForLong
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
180
158
51
14
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
180
158
51
14
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kebab heritage property the heart of the city lounge bar camac street suite room modern amenities the hotel staff his team front office aston ambience mr feedback arrangements behaviour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2021 via mobile

The hotel is located in the heart of the city and you can walk to Camac street and Park street in a Jiffy. This hotel is a heritage building and it really looks awesome both during night and day.

The entrance can be a bit tricky though and if there is hardly any place for more than 2-3 vehicles. I recollect coming here earlier for it had a nice nightclub. But this time I couldn’t locate it probably closed due to the pandemic.

If you are biking here take a suite as the normal rooms are quite small and crampy. There are no elevators and thus you have mobility challenges please avoid it.

The hotel has taken all the necessary precautions of hygiene and the staff is very courteous and helpful. Infact the room service do not enter the room and you are suppose to carry your food inside.

Even our flight was delayed and on request they allowed us to extend our check out time. I think the staff are the ones who are single handedly responsible to get repeat customers by their amazing service standard. Kudos to them !

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank IndradeepR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINTU MONDAL, Guest Services / Front Office at The Astor Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

Dear Guest,
Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal !

It is most kind of you to share your experience and Thank you for taking out time to write this review. It was also nice to know that you had a very pleasant experience and I am indeed happy that my team lived up to your expectations and that you had enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by my team.

At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being our guest. personalized and dedicated care for our guest is one of our "Exceptional Service Brand Credo" for Archer Hospitality and we are real fortunate to have lovely ladies and gentlemen who always tries to exceed guest expectations at all times.
Moreover Your concern about base category rooms has already been raised with my team. We truly understand your views and have taken cognizance of the same.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor,and we promise to make your future events and stay more meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards,

Kaushik Sengupta
General Manager
gm@astorkolkata.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2021 via mobile

Winters are incomplete without feasting on delicious #sarsondasaag & #makaikiroti - my top pick certainly from the never-ending Punjabi spread of #BhangdaPalleDaaruShaaruAurParty - Season 2 #UnderTheSky at The Astor Hotel ❤️

Beautiful fairy lightings with an open air ambience to die for - a wide array of mouthwatering Punjabi delicacies available as a buffet spread alongwith loads of Daaru Shaaru as well - this is one meal you can't afford to miss out on at any cost - book your table in advance & drop in any day within #13thJan or else you might just miss out on an heavenly gastronomical experience undoubtedly

Thank you executive chef - Aditya Das da for cooking up a storm as always

Thanks a ton dear Kaushik Sengupta da for your invite and the gracious hospitality that followed - lovely catching up with you after a long hiatus

My humble two cents: #MUSTTRY (if you haven't already)

#SupportHospitalityIndustry

#LifeofaFoodnTravelVlogger

Have you #subscribed to our #YoutubeChannel of #KolkataFoodTrotters yet?

Journey of an Epicurean Cine Trotter continues..

Thank you all for being a part of our Facebook family - Kolkata Food Trotters ❤️

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KolkataFoodTrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINTU MONDAL, Guest Services / Front Office at The Astor Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

Dear Guest,
Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal !

It is most kind of you to share your experience and Thank you for taking out time to write this review. It was also nice to know that you had a very pleasant experience and I am indeed happy that my team lived up to your expectations and that you had enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by my team.

At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being our guest. personalized and dedicated care for our guest is one of our "Exceptional Service Brand Credo" for Archer Hospitality and we are real fortunate to have lovely ladies and gentlemen who always tries to exceed guest expectations at all times.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor,and we promise to make your future events and stay more meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards,

Kaushik Sengupta
General Manager
gm@astorkolkata.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2020 via mobile

The hotel is so disappointing especially if you’ve been in the past. The valet messed up the car and the managers response in barely there English was ‘we said parking at your own risk’. The food was okay - nothing compared to what it used to be. The restaurant manager was also vague about offers etc. Overall the experience was quite sad!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINTU MONDAL, Guest Services / Front Office at The Astor Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

Dear Ms Natalie,

Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal !

It is disheartening to read about your experience. Your concern has already been raised with my team. We do deeply regret the inconvenience caused. We truly understand your views and have taken cognizance of the same.

At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being a discerning traveller. We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor, and we promise to make your stay meaningful and memorable every time.

We look forward to serving you again, do write to me at gm@astorkolkata.com

Warm Regards,
Kaushik Sengupta
General Manager
gm@astorkolkata.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2020

This beautiful hotel was originally a horse stable built in 1915, renovated into a classic hotel. It is a fabulous reminder of the history of the city.
The rooms are lovely, comfortable and well laid out. The staff are helpful, professional and caring. The restaurant is comfortable. The included breakfast is exceptional. The terrace lounge reminds you of a European experience.
The price is reasonable. The location is perfect.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jovan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINTU MONDAL, General Manager at The Astor Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2020

Dear Guest,
Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal !

It is most kind of you to share your experience and Thank you for taking out time to write this review. It was also nice to know that you had a very pleasant experience and I am indeed happy that my team lived up to your expectations and that you had enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by my team.

At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being our guest. personalized and dedicated care for our guest is one of our "Exceptional Service Brand Credo" for Archer Hospitality and we are real fortunate to have lovely ladies and gentlemen who always tries to exceed guest expectations at all times.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor,and we promise to make your future events and stay more meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards,

Kaushik Sengupta
General Manager
gm@astorkolkata.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2020

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during the Covid-19 crisis on our way home to Canada. It was a bit weird because we were pretty much the only customers during our time there. But the staff were great, our room was comfortable and the food and drinks delicious. In fact we had one lunch at the hotel restaurant which was one of the best we had while in India for two and a half months. Its a great place to stay in a lovely part of town We hope they can weather the Covid storm and get back to more normal operations.

Room tip: Our room (115) was above the outdoor bar/restaurant, but it was pretty quiet while we were there.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robg132
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINTU MONDAL, General Manager at The Astor Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2020

Dear Guest,
Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal !

It is most kind of you to share your experience and Thank you for taking out time to write this review. It was also nice to know that you had a very pleasant experience and I am indeed happy that my team lived up to your expectations and that you had enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by my team.

At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being our guest. personalized and dedicated care for our guest is one of our "Exceptional Service Brand Credo" for Archer Hospitality and we are real fortunate to have lovely ladies and gentlemen who always tries to exceed guest expectations at all times.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor,and we promise to make your future events and stay more meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards,

Kaushik Sengupta
General Manager
gm@astorkolkata.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews